We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay, will be back for a 3rd!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

How wonderful it is to come back to this little piece of paradise.

We spent two nights here in January 2014 and have now returned for 10 nights just 6 months later. Our welcome on arrival was like old friends coming over.

At our first breakfast the F&B Manager presented us with a voucher for a complimentary dinner in the hotel as a thank you for coming back which we both thought was a lovely gesture.

This time due to the length of our stay took the largest suite in the hotel, which has the most stunning view over the local rice paddies. The room is exactly as represented, stunning! Furthermore it is exceptionally good value and outdoes many of the better known brands on a dollar for dollar basis.

This hotel exceeds expectations in every way, the staff go out of there way to ensure guest enjoyment and comfort.

As you will see from some of the reviews I have written I can be quite critical, but the Essence fully deserves 10/10 in all aspects do it's operation.

I know we will be coming here again in years to come and already look forward to coming back to my home in Vietnam.

Thank you to the whole team at the Essence.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,938)
There are newer reviews for Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 2,938 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in May and I have to say this was our favourite hotel in Vietnam. I had booked direct with the hotel for a return airport transfer and upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted a cold drink and warm smiles.
Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the road but we didn't experience any noise. Our balcony room was lovely and spacious.
We made the most of the hotel's free bikes and we cycled to the beach which took about 30 mins and the town which was only 5mins away.
We did a day trip to Hue booked through the hotel and yes it is a long drive and fairly expensive but worth it.
The staff are very pleasant. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javdac6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful staff; from warm informative welcome to friendly and efficient staff in all areas of this well presented hotel. The pool -divine after walking about Hoi An. Buffet breakfast has local quisine plus all you would expect from a top class hotel.
Spa; friendly and experienced therapists.
A good 10 minute walk in to town though very cheap to catch a cab on those too hot days.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank yogiHilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having never been to Vietnam before I was rather apprehensive but as a family we stayed at the Essence Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. It was clean, the breakfast menu catered for every taste, there was lots of choice. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the back of the hotel as there tends to be a lot of traffic from early in the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights and enjoyed this hotel. Our room was on the top floor which entailed taking the lift and then walking up a flight of stairs. The hotel is relatively new and everything was in good condition. We had a lovely view of the rice fields from our bathroom window. All staff were very friendly and efficient and the breakfast was ok. We walked to and from the old town which took around 10-15 minutes. During our stay at the hotel I came down with a very nasty attack of gastro and spent the last day unable to get out of bed. The staff treated my husband and I very well and we would particularly like to thank Miss Snow for her kindness. The hotel arranged our transfer by private car to Hue and this worked seamlessly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joybell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Essence Hoi An just as peak season began! I will agree that there aren't enough sun beds to accommodate all patrons which was annoying at times, but having said that, we did manage each day to score one at one time or other. The staff were lovely and friendly, always willing to help. The only feedback I offered them was to have a more friendly shuttle bus schedule as 3 per day into town at odd hours wasn't sufficient. Having said that, I have been assured, in person and followed up by email, that they are looking into this and will try to rectify it. The walk into town wasn't bad at all, about 15 min walk, which we did everyday at least twice per day. Our family were extremely appreciative when we asked management if they knew of any local soccer matches that my son & husband could watch. Not only did they find out for us, they organised staff to drive them on motorbikes to the match AND allowed my 11 year old to play a portion of the game! He was over the moon! Small touches like these will make a business go far!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank oliscali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Hoi An and for taking the time to submit a review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our service and accommodation. Our staff tries the upmost to deliver a high level of service and to make your stay special. Therefore we are grateful about your acknowledgment of the friendliness and willingness to be helpful in any way to make your stay and holiday the most comfortable. Rest assured that it was as much fun for our staff to take your son and husband to play football as for them and it will certainly be a found memory for both sides.

We concur that our pool area is a bit small and therefore we are more than pleased to inform you that currently we are building a new relaxing area, reading lounge with water fountains stated in a beautiful garden behind our Spa area, which should be opened within one week in hope to satisfy all our clients needs and give our guest the possibility to relax after exploring Hoi An.

As we take all our customers comments to heart and as communicated in our e-mail we discussed the shuttle bus issue with our management board. Herewith we announce that from this Saturday we will provide 2 more shuttles a day, one in the morning and one in the evening.

Once again we thank you for your support and constructive feedback, which has already helped us to improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again with a smile at our Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Best regards,

Management of Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa
Member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Essence Hoi An hotel for 3 nights during late May 2014 but wished we had been able to stay a few days longer. I would return to this hotel should I be in Hoi An again. We pre-requested a room with a view of the pool or rice fields, rather than the roads based on other trip advisor reviews. The room itself was large and very comfortable, with a balcony.

Although the hotel is on the edge of town, this did not impact upon the experience. The hotel shuttle bus is available, although only at certain times and not during the evenings. It is about a 15 minute walk into the main part or a quick and cheap taxi ride. We did not use the laundry facilities at the hotel but at the shop next door which was $1 per kg of washing.

Customer service at the hotel is amazing with the staff always friendly. We ate at the hotel for dinner / lunch a couple of times and the food is of a good quality, although Hoi An does offer plenty of restaurants to choose from. The hotel pool may appear a bit small for the number of guests but we never had a problem with getting sun loungers. It was low season when we travelled but the hotel was pretty full. Although there were a few families, there seemed to be more couples and groups of friends there during our stay.

The hotel had various spa promotions including a 'buy one, get more free'. On our last morning, we decided to take up the spa promotion and we are so glad that we did. The massages were amazing and were definitely a highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angie_m315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#21 of 158 in Hoi An
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £60 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing