We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise! ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I feel as though no amount of praise for this hotel would be enough. Management appear to do everything possible to make a 4 star stay feel like 5. We had the opportunity as a group to test the spa, f&b, the pool and a variety of rooms and on every occasion the staff helped to ensure that the experiences were overwhelmingly positive.
Although f&b were more expensive than some surrounding restaurants, pricing was more than justified with quality, location and service. Even the most price conscious travellers were happy to pay the bit extra to enjoy more time at the hotel.
Congratulations on a great job! We will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,431
    369
    42
    5
    3
See reviews for
709
1,368
124
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Essence Hoi An is an amazing hotel, with extremely dedicated and friendly staff. We celebrated our wedding in Hoi An, and together with our 37 guests, we stayed at the Essence for a week.
We were greeted by very friendly, competent staff who quickly showed us to our luxurious room. The room and bathroom were beautiful, and we had hot water at all times. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and extensive. The lunch menu was very reasonably priced,and staff were always happy to make me my desired lunch, whether it was on the menu or not. All food served at the Essence was beautiful.

I must say we really enjoyed the pool area, and the bar staff were extremely attentive. They always ensured we had everything we needed/ wanted and quickly knew us all by name. I really enjoyed this personal aspect and I felt part of the "Essence Family".
I could not have asked for a better hotel. Thank you guys, you have been amazing and I look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had stayed at the Essence in Hanoi, which was very nice and so this seemed like a natural choice as we moved further south in Vietnam at our next stop in Hoi An.

This hotel is much roomier than it's sister hotel in the Old Quarter. It is a few minutes outside of downtown Hoi An, but it easy enough to walk, ride the bike or take their shuttle into town. Since it was extremely hot, we chose to use their shuttle or take a taxi whenever we needed to get to/from the hotel. Taxi fare was typically only a couple dollars each way, so very reasonable and convenient.

Breakfast was very good and the outdoor garden seating was an excellent place to have breakfast. They have a very nice pool, which was very popular with the guests. They also have a billiards table outside that we enjoyed. Wifi was good and they also have Macs set up in the lobby for use which was convenient for checking flight information and researching our next destination.

The staff was helpful with our various requests, although I would say that they were less proactive in trying to make arrangements for us compared to the staff in Hanoi. They did surprise us right after checking in by bringing up a birthday cake to our room because they had noticed that it was my partner's birthday from her passport, a very nice gesture!

The only small complaint that I had was that they used a somewhat strong smelling cleaner in our room, and that made things a little unpleasant after the first night. Overall though, I thought this was an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We didn't select the actual room since it was prearranged by the staff in Hanoi, but might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodEmpireIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Beautifully decorated resort. What I loved was that it had all of the 5 star features of a big flashy resort e.g. Poolside cocktails, towels at the ready, everything else you can think of, but in a beautiful, small scale tropical paradise. Staff were super friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast had a great selection and getting into town (on foot, bicycle, motorbike or taxi) was super quick and cheap. Plus, the excellent spa there has a 3 hour Happy Hour (which they extended to me because they couldn't fit me in). I'd stay here again 100%. Couldn't fault it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay at this hotel was short but perfect. The staff went above and beyond what we expected, they looked after us with care and genuine concern for one of our party who was unwell. Would highly recommend this hotel and Hoi An itself to friends and family as a must got to destination. Totally enjoyed our time there and although I rarely return to places I have already been I would most certainly go back .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. Modern hotel with pool area. We stayed on the 5th floor of block A with lovely views over looking the paddy fields.
5-10 minute cycle from the old town. Hotel provides free bikes. Lovely pool area. Can get crowded in late afternoon but staff will go out of their way to find you a lounger/ seat.
Our flight left early so hotel provided packed lunch box with breakfast for us to take to the airport.

Room Tip: Block A high floors overlook the rice paddys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racht41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

this hotel was one of the best hotels we have ever started at. Our son was sick on or last vist and the staff were excellent in ensuring he got better as soon as possible. On his birthday the hotel staff presented him with a birthday cake. The hotel is well situated in a quite area with easy transport links to the town centre which is only minutes away by car or bike. The rooms are spacious and the facilities well kept. The manager, Vanessa, is excellent and most profession yet personal in her approach. I cannot recommend this property highly enough and will defiantly return for another visit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Little Hoi An Central Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#14 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#2 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hoi An Boutique Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Property: Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing