We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern, comfortable hotel with a lovely pool and garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were lucky to be upgraded to the Presidential suite for our one night in this modern and comfortable hotel. It's a great location about 5 minutes walk from the market and the centre of Hoi An. Our room was very large with a separate lounge, separate bath and shower and looked out over a pretty garden. The bed was very comfortable and the room very well equipped as you'd expect. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Staff were friendly and helpful. We weren't able to use the swimming pool but it would be very inviting on a hot day.

Only problem at the moment is the building works next door which start around 7.30am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side from the building site if you want to sleep in in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear SjhHove,

Warmest greeting from Hoian Hotel .

Thank you very much for your stay with us as well as your good comment .Your comment will be good information for anyone who wants to come to stay in Hoian Hotel .We must continue improving our service getting better to meet all guests' pleasant while we have not done it be good at the moment .We also sorry for the noise from outside hotel , we will contact them to limit the noise to avoid effect to inhouse guest .

We are very happy to serve your again in Hoian Hotel next time .


Best regards ,

Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The receptionists knowledge was amazing she helped recommend a tailor. The hotel facilities were amazing the buffet breakfast was delicious the cinnamon donuts were divine. The rooms were comfortable. I will stay here again next time I am in Hoi An and will tell all my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wpbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hoi An. Their welcome was lovely. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The common areas are delightful. The pool and bar area very charming. The rooms were comfortable but the beds were a bit too firm and the lighting was dim. Rooms were serviced daily and were clean. Air-conditioned. No lift to upper floors but bellboys carried luggage. Short walk into the town centre (5 mins). Great!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank placidscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We arrived without a booking, but knowing what the internet price should be. The price we were given on arrival was $40 more than online and they weren't prepared to negotiate. We then used the internet to make an online booking and tried to check in. The receptionist would not accept our online reservation price, in fact, 5 receptionists wouldn't accept our online reservation price. So, I ask to speak to the manager. In fact, I asked to speak to the manager several times before the receptionists even appeared to have heard me, let alone tried to get the manager. After a wait, the manager appeared and explained the problem. There were 3 of us and only 2 beds. Well, that's ok because I'm travelling with my partner and our niece, we expect to share a room and my partner and I expect to share a bed.

The manager shows us the room, which is just about ok and we go back to the lobby to wait while they get it ready, even though it looked pretty ready to us when we went to look at it. While we are waiting, I think, actually, that room wasn't so good, I booked a deluxe room, and it looked pretty standard. So, I get back on the internet and look at the hotel website to check which block the room I booked should be in. Surprise, surprise, the room I had been shown was not the deluxe room I'd booked, but a lower standard room, at a cheaper pricer, that I didn't book.

So, I ask for the manager, much to the receptionists horror, "You want to see the manager again?"

I point out to her that the room she showed me was not the standard I booked and, eventually, she agreed to show me the room I had booked. When we got to the room she did her best to convince me it wasn't suitable, it didn't have a pool view, it would be noisy etc.

At this point, I thought I'd establish exact prices for each room. The lower standard room was $20 cheaper than the booked room, but an extra bed would be $20. Surely that makes it the same price?

Eventually, after 11/2 hours, we got the room we had booked. Had we been shown this room at the beginning of the check in process, we would have taken it and this review would be a lot more positive.

Breakfast was yum!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Hen03,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hoian Hotel as well as your comment .We will record all things that you have commented although some mistakes were belongs to internet system . We had repaired system when we got your comment at check in time and this problem never happens again for any next guest .

Once again we are very sorry for delay time when you check in Hoian Hotel .We hope that we are very happy and honoured to serve you again here with more perfect service .

Best regards ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hoi An hotel for two nights in November.

The hotel has a great location and you can get by on foot around all the local tailors, restaurants and markets.

The hotel itself is nice & clean. The rooms are very large, and well fitted, with wooden floors and asian decor. Most rooms seem to face onto the pool with nice balconies to catch the sun.

The pool area is great, with the bar located just adjacent to it, the sun lounges are a great place to spend an afternoon.

The disappointments were the noise from the bar at night... the walls are paper thin and the bed was like sleeping on a rock!

Don't miss Red Bridge Cooking school if you have the opportunity... tour with the Chef through the markets, before taking a boat ride down the river to the cooking school to pick up some great vietnamese culinary skills!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Hoi An Hotel as part of our honeymoon trip during December 2011.

We had seen the photos online, but still weren't expecting a beautiful hotel that awaited us. We arrived late in the evening and pretty exhausted. The staff were so welcoming and gave us a cold facecloth and a cup of tea. They gave us a map and orientated us very well as to where the main spots were around the town.

They also assisted us very well in arranging tours (we went on a great one to the My Son ruins), as well as our airport transfer.

Our room was a junior suite in the renovated part of the hotel and it was amazing! Flat screen TV, huge bathroom, huge bed, beautiful wooden shutters. Really great value for only about $100!

The minibar was not too badly priced and the housekeeping was great.

Breakfasts were adequate, but definitely above average.

My only criticism is the bathroom, which looked beautiful, but the water pressure was non-existent - it took FOREVER to fill up the bath. In addition to that the shower didn't drain properly and ended up flooding the floor!

The hotel is in a great, very convenient location in the Old town near some great restaurants - try the Cargo Club (amazing!)

All in all a great choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huynh Thi M, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear LilaSA,

Warmest greetings from Hoian Hotel .

Thank you very much for your good comment on Tripadvisor and being our customer .

We are very happy and honoured to serve you again in Hoian Hotel next time .

Best regards,
Huynh Thi Minh
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stay 3 nights at the beautiful hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and the location is great. Great for newly married couples like us. A window overlooking the campus. Staff very good service 24/24 hours. Pool clean and we liked it because at the heated swimming pool. very safe and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariLugect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huynh Thi M, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear MariLugect,

Warmest greetings from Hoian Hotel ,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hoian Hotel and you good comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy and honoured to serve you again in Hoian Hotel next time .

We do hope that we can get any booking from your friend and other by your recommendation .

Best Regards,
Huynh Thi Minh
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £45 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing