We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the shadow of Typhoon Haiyan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #74 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“In the shadow of Typhoon Haiyan”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a Tour group. Ideally located, great gardens and efficiently run. Staff a bit surly but I suspect they were all concerned by the coming of typhoon Haiyan which struck a day after our departure. All were busy securing the property against the storm.

The hotel is very close to the harbour, shop and the cultural center which is very much worth a visit.

I recommend this hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdevconex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Ms.Sjdevconex ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to express our sincere thanhks for your staying with us especially at the Typhoon time .

We do appreciate for your feedback about the service of our staff was a bit surly at the typhoon time
We do record and improve it by training the service of our staff to be maintained in any serious situation such as Typhoon ,flooding ect...

Once more again , kindly thanks for your precious comment and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    714
    172
    58
    17
See reviews for
297
764
118
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Only 5 minutes walk to the harbour. Nice swimming pool, great breakfast. Room was clean and large with a great bed.

Take a ferry to the Coa la cham, hire a bike and take in the nice peaceful countryside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInSpaceMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Mr.LostInSpaceMan,

The hotel Management and team would like to send you warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel and express our deeply thanks for your stay with us .

Your high appreciation is valued tool for our team to imrpove the service continuosly to be always better sothat all guests will have enjoyable holiday when they choose Hoi An Hotel on your vacation as they are going to visit Hoi An city .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your good feedback and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked the heritage tour package online. In addition to an excellent room rate this included a tour of My Son, a walking tour of Hoi An, a dinner in the restaurant and food massage at the spa.

First the hotel: our room was very well appointed, the bed comfortable and the shower and bathroom top quality, though you need to be limber to step up and into the tub. We did have some trouble getting the room temperature right throughout he night. It seems terribly wasteful, but on the last night we left the A/C on and the window open which was just the trick. The breakfast buffet was well done, with a wide variety of both western and Vietnamese selections.

The hotel location was excellent, with beautiful and well kept grounds and within easy walking distance of old town and all the tailor shops.

The tour to My Son was exactly what we expected, though the bus we were on was a bit run down and needed a good cleaning. The return trip on the boat wasn't very comfortable, but the stop at the wood carving village on the island was fascinating.

Our walking tour of old Hoi An with our guide Mr Hong provided a good orientation to the old section of town, though we did cut the tour a bit short, we felt we'd seen enough meeting houses for one day and it was hot.

The foot massage at the spa was just what the doctor ordered after a long day of walking tours and multiple visits to tailor shops.

In all our stay at the Hoi An hotel was excellent. Everyone we had contact with was helpful and accommodating. The lady in the gift shop was very tolerant of our repeated visits even though we ended up only buying a few things on the last day. The front desk staff was very responsive and helpful and the maintenance man was extremely polite when he was called to our room to show the silly westerners how to operate the ceiling fan. If you're looking for full on western amenities within easy reach of old Hoi An, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcdermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Ms. Jmcdermon,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An your vacation when you came to visit Hoi An city .

It is our priviledge to know that the service of our staff have met your expectation and you have had an enjoyable holiday in Hoi An Hotel .We greatly appreciate your comment and it will be good motivation for our team to promote in improving the service more and more better to meet guests' satisfaction .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel in near future .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is very nice, the rooms are spacious, with beautiful furnishings and big shower/bathroom. The staff is wonderful and always ready to help. The swimming pool is new, big and in a lovely setting. Breakfast buffet is very varied and enough options for Westerners.
Also, this hotel is situated in the old town so you can just stroll around the streets and down to the river without any need of transport. When we come back to Hoi An will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Ms.Aries53,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The hotel Management and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your staying with us as well as your high appreciation to our service .

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and this is valued motivation for our team to continue improving the service more and more better in order to all guests'expectation at Hoi An Hotel .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is nice. Maybe 4 star at a stretch. The reception staff are serious to the point of surly. If you are from Europe and over 60 you will feel that you are with your people. It is the kind of place that will not challenge the naive traveller but may disappoint the more adventurous. Breakfast is included and is good. I think you can do more for less if you are prepared to take some risks but it is comfortingly nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cj_Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Ms.Cj_Do,

The hotel Management would like to send you warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel and express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

It is our honour to have your precious feedback about the service of our receptionist was not met your expectation during your staying longterm with us .We are going to train them frequently in skill and knowledge but it is still somtimes lack of carefully pay attention to customer care .

By your response ,it will be good lesson for our team to improve the service continuosly to meet guests'expectation .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your valued comment and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time with more perfectly service .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is one of the earlier hotels built to capitalise on the tourism potential of Hoi An.
I understand that the original building housed government offices prior to conversion into a hotel. It has a lovely atmosphere.
I also understand that the hotel was sold by the government to the private sector maybe two years ago.
The word "historic" has been added to the hotel's name possibly to better define the hotel from similarly named properties in Hoi An.
The new owners have started a refurbishment program. For example the new bathrooms are a huge improvement.
Even though popular with tour groups the property seems to cope well and still enables independent travellers to have an enjoyable stay.
The staff are delightful. Breakfast is very good too.
We did have a problem however with noise generated by patrons seated outside the poolside bar/cafe late at night. Management responded quickly and relocated us to a room away from the noise.
We love Hoi An and the Hoi An Historic Hotel. This was our fifth visit over many years and would always choose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Ms.Melbee,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hisrotic Hotel .

The Hotel Management would like to express sincere thanks for your staying with us .

Your high appreciation to our service is very valued motivation for our team to improve the skill and knowlegde continuosly in order to meet guests'expecation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have stayed twice previously. We stay here as it central to the town. We were delightfully surprised by the renovations that have taken place since our last visit. The pool area has been extended and now has a spa. A little more shade would be good. We booked a deluxe room and were not disappointed. The room had been refurbished. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. Minor problem - the bed sheets were too small for the bed and the bath towels also too small. Luckily we had a housekeeper that went out of her way to find bigger sheets. We acknowledged her assistance with the front desk. A big improvement was in the breakfast. There was a wide variety of food on offer from previously. We took advantage of a cooking class with the hotel and enjoyed that immensely. Pity that for all but one day that we were there, it rained continuously. Didn't stop our sightseeing or shopping.
It is disappointing to see that motor bikes and some cars are now impacting on the town - that destroys the ambience and beauty. We will return though Hoi An is a beautiful and historic town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Ms. Russ53Adelaide,


The Hotel Management and team board would like to send you warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel and express our deeply thanks for your returning to stay with us .

We are very happy and honoured to have you stay with us again this time and your high appreciation to our service is very valued motivation for our team to improve the service continuosly better to meet guests' expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming back to Hoi An Hotel next time .


All the best to you and your family .


Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Property: Hoi An Historic Hotel
Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing