We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #67 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in a room overlooking the pool for 6 nights, it was very relaxing after the bustle of HCMC, pool was lovely and the staff very helpful. The alfresco breakfast was good quality with plenty of choice available, and the gardens are mature and very well cared for. The bed was very comfortable. The old town is a five minute walk away from the hotel with shopping, markets, bars and restaurants and a series of historic attractions you can buy a book of tickets for. The hotel has a sister establishment on the ocean and a free minibus can take you to the beach there. Next time we visit Hoi An we will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ms.Millo1954 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation when you came to visit Hoi An city .

Your high appreciation to us will be valued motivation for our team to improve and develop the skill and knowledge continuosly to be better in order to bring the best service to clients during their holiday in Hoi An Hotel .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your being our customer and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    685
    165
    55
    17
See reviews for
267
732
111
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal for the old town, a few minutes walk. They also offer a free shuttle service to the beach. It's a nice hotel and the rooms are modern and clean. However, we had the most useless rain shower in our room, it was luke warm water and hardly any pressure at all! It was quite frustrating! We also found the beds (and pillows!) to be quite hard and not all that comfortable. There is free tea and coffee in the room and free WiFi.
We ate in the restaurant one night and the Vietnamese food was really nice (you had the choice of vietnamese or western) the only thing wrong - we were the only ones there! So not much in the way of atmosphere. We had the same experience in the bar, again it was just us! Bit of a shame, it would have been much nicer if it was a little more bustling.
We walked into town the next night and ate out in a local restaurant called 'Morning Glory' and had a lovely meal there, we would definitely recommend.
Overall, the Hoi An Hotel is a nice place to stay, with a lovely pool and grounds (as long as you don't mind sharing it with frogs!) and in a good location. It's a shame we had a few niggles with our room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ms.Little_Blondie ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our sincere thanks for your staying with us
It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback will be good motivation for our team continue improving the service be more and more better in order to meet guests' expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .


Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Historic Hoi An hotel for two nights. The room had a lot of white so appeared crisp and clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good - well presented - you could sit inside or outside and both areas had good service. Pool area was refreshing. Hotel location was excellent. Short walk to main shopping and historic areas. Plenty of restaurants nearby. ATM down the street had low service charge. Even got a haircut across the street. The bathroom had both a tub and shower but hot water appeared to be hit and miss (my only complaint). Grounds were clean and well maintained

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbyrnes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ms.Wbyrnes2 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our sincere thanks for your staying with us

Your comment will be valued motivation for our team continue improving the service be more and more better in order to meet guests' expectation .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your being our customer and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We absolutely LOVED our stay here We came across the hotel by mistake (we had actually booked and paid for another but it was so bad we refused to stay there – and the hotel and booking.com were fabulous in how they dealt with it) and ended up turning up on spec.

No sure how many people do this at this hotel as it was a bit of a drama to get rooms – internet was showing as available but hotel said didn’t have any, Anyway, we got two rooms for one night and ended up stayig for five.

The hotel says it is four star but in my opinion – if some minor glitches with staff could be sorted – there is no consistency: some are eager but not very competent, others competent but not keen to work and there is a bunch in the middle, I have emailed the manager separately on these as if these staff issues were addressed, this would easily pass for a five star. The pool is fab, the gardens immaculate, the hotel exceptionally clean and in a supe location (quiet road but within walking distance of everything in Hoi An)

IN terms of rooms there seems to be some refurb going on so be careful on which rooms you take. We had a suite from night 1 which was super and had its own garden with direct access to pool and own sunbeds (but strangely no mattresses despite constant asking for them – one of the afore mentioned minor staff glitches) and this was great. Our son started off in a normal room which whilst adequate was worlds apart from our suite – and we got him moved to a suite the next day (the cost difference was about 20 usd pn and well worth it). However we did see some rooms were resembling building sites when the doors were opened (no noise I would hasten to say) indicating there is a refurb programme underway of the normal rooms

Despite the minor staff stuff, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for location, quality and comfort – when we can we do tend to favor 5 star hotels so that is a great compliment to the hotel and we will certainly stay here on our next visit (perhaps in conjunction with their beach property which we visited which also looked very nice)

Room Tip: suites are definitely worth it. otherwise check on whether room has been refurbished as some are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolineess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ms. Carolineess,

Thank you very much for your staying with us and your high appreciaton to our service .

It is our privilege to know that you have an enjoyable holiday in Hoi An Hotel and your valued feedback is good motivation for our team to improve and develop their skill and knowledge continuosly more and more better in order to meet guests' expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Each year we come to Vietnam for two weeks. We now always stay here having checked out other hotels that are walking distance to the Old Town and similarly priced. We love the gardens which creates a peaceful oasis in the bustling town. We love the swimming pool which we use every day. The rooms are generous, comfortable and air conditioned. Everything works well. The staff are well trained, speak English and are unfailingly friendly and helpful. Ms Lan, is still the go to person if you have any concerns at all; she wants you to have a great experience so do not hold back if things are not to you liking; she will do what it takes to please you.

Room Tip: Avoid the back (north side) of the building as it is near to school which starts promptly at 7 am. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Mrs.KATHLEEN & JUDITH ,

Our team can not express enough emotion to say thank you very much for your choosing Hoi An Hotel for returning when you have taken chance to come back to visit Hoi An city .

It is our privilege for your emotion when you regard us as your family and give us many ideas and comments for us to improve and maintain the service is always to meet guests' expectation .

I respect highly your comments directly with me and help me to learn valued lesson to know to we can do something much more better with own point of Hoi An Hotel as well as achieve good service , good product comparing to competitive others .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your being member of our family and look forwards to warmly welcome you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hoi An Hotel is a place we have visited over 5 times. It has the best position for access to Hoi An , the building are stylish and fit in to the area.
Amazing staff and a great breakfast in a garden setting.

Room Tip: Take the ground floor rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ged1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr.Ged1948 ,

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your staying with us as well as your high appreciation to us .

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your valued comment is good motivation for our team continue improving the service be more and more better to meet guests' expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great location, free shuttle to the Hoi An Beach resort which is pretty convenient.
Great rooms (superior).

Only, not much ambiance in the hotel bar.

I would recommend this hotel for groups or family rather than couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clara2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Ms.Clara2215 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Management and team would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

Your response on TripAdvisor will be valued motivation for our team to continue promoting their skills and knowlegde to bring the service to be better in order to meet guests' expectation .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your being our customer and look forwards to welcoming back to Hoi An Hotel when you will have other occasion to return to visit Hoi An city next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.9 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#38 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Property: Hoi An Historic Hotel
Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing