We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoi An Historic Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$155
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,807)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
765
769
192
62
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
769
192
62
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townjunior suitesister hotellarge hotelroom overlooking the poolbeach resortlovely hotelreception staffbreakfast buffetwithin easy walking distancelarge poolshort strollgreat poolegg stationfree shuttlefew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Extremily rude staff. When we arrived, they tried to keep our passports with them. When we left, we had to beg for leaving the room just one hour after check-out. The room was noisy. And they charge for renting bikes, meanwhile lots of hotels rent for free. They offer transfer for beach, but there are few schedule. And, finally, internet doesn't work in the room. The price doesn't worth at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Mr.BhLeo ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to say thank you very much for your staying with us .

By your response , we would like to explain you that our procedure is to borrow guests' passports for making photocopy and registering as well as getting register by veryfying guests' credit card but you had not agreed to do that .We understand that you have worried it due to security of your credit card and you have to settle room payment when you checked in for any this case .But it is unfortunately , our staff have not explain to you clearly in order to get your understanding .We will train our team to be more fluently to solve any similar case .

We also have been flexible to let you check out one hour later while we were fullybooked at that time and check out time of all hotels are at noon .Our Shuttle bus schedule is considerable compare to other hotels .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your feedback and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Best regards ,

Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is set on a large property which is very close to the old town but not right in it. It is back from the street so not too much trouble with traffic noise although as someone else said the school at the back is noisy during the day. The hotel is designed in a Japanese style with dark wood, white walls and tiled floors, and has very attractive landscaping. There is a big restaurant and a separate bar near the pool which also serves food. The positives: room pleasant and spacious, bathroom worked fine, good shower, bed ok although could have been a bit softer, staff very helpful and pleasant with generally good English, good range of breakfast, food pretty good in restaurant and bar, aircon works well.

The negatives: our room was quite noisy. There is not a lot of soundproofing between the floors, and every time someone moved the heavy wooden desk chair on the tiles upstairs, it made a huge noise - as we no doubt did to the people below when we moved ours. Also the doors are designed so you have to slam them to shut them, and our room was near the lift, stairs and service room so all day there was a racket with doors slamming, doorbells ringing, people talking and laughing on the stairs, and staff shouting at each other and banging cleaning implements. Some of this is unavoidable in a hotel but the acoustics exacerbate it. Also the wifi is patchy and doesn't always work well.

A word of warning, we took the bus trip to My Sun organised by the hotel, which was run by the local open tour bus company, and the bus was very old and uncomfortable. In a hideous Groundhog Day moment, it was the same bus that we had travelled on from Hue to Hoi An (four hours, count them four, to travel 138 km). The bus had no air conditioning, virtually no suspension, dirty old seats and curtains and many of the air vents, seat backs and arm rests were broken. However the tour leader was good and spoke clear English.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Ms.CLT725 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your staying with us .

Your comment is valued feedback for our team to improve the service be better especially controlling noises caused by our staffs in working communication .

We also learn more experience in recommendation My Son tour is not high quality and work again with tourist office to improve the service more and more better to meet guests' expectation .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your precious feedback and look forwards to welcoming you back in Hoi An Hotel next time .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights. We had tried to book interconnecting rooms (we didn't know there were family rooms) but without luck. Unfortunately we were given rooms at the back of the hotel right on top of the noisy school (with a very rude maid who barged in on me undressed after I asked her to wait a moment before she clean my room). Seeing as we were here for 5 nights we had booked & paid for deluxe rooms but we were put into superior rooms (which cost less). I asked for a change in rooms but they said they were fully booked and they would try to sort somthing out the next day. I insisted they find us interconnecting rooms facing away from the school, this proved to be a challenge for the staff but on our return they had relocated us to what we had requested, however they were not deluxe rooms. Once we were settled our stay was pleasant with great b'fasts and leisurely morning and afternoon swims, close to the old town and the hotel was clean and our maids were much nicer and considerate. I don't think this hotel is consistent in its services but I don't want to seem negative as it did serve its purpose on our holiday and I guess all the above is part of traveling. You also need to make sure you speak up if you are not happy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Ms.Bec S ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

By your response , we would like to confirm you that the room you had stayed was deleuxe one but Deluxe with front view and deluxe with back view .We are very sorry for assigning the room for you for first night with back view and the noise caused by children in school affecting to your sleeping .

We do also apologize for indelicate behavior of our room maid when sh wants to come to clean your room .We will learn more lesson from this trouble and train them again well about the procedure of cleaning guests' room although this has been trained for all room maids .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your precious feedback and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Beautiful
Place, easy walking distance
To the centre of the ancient
town of Hoi An.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.
Large rooms with dark wooden floors and shutters. Choice
of air conditioning or ceiling fan. Large bathroom
Very pleasant could have stayed longer





Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tracey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Ms.Tracey c ,

The hotel Management and team would like to send you warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

Your high appreciation to us will be valued motivation for our team continue improving the service more and more better to meet guests' expectation .

It is our privilege to have other chance to serve you again in Hoi An Hotel next time in near future

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is situated perfectly within easy distance from the Hokan historic village for easy walking access with kids. The grounds are expansive and the kids enjoyed their freedom at the pool and surrounds. The bar menu suffices for snacks , the breakfast buffet is superb. We booked a family room but we're upgraded to the presidential suite which was for us palatial. The service was excellent , the staff caring and helpful. The rooms were minimalist tranquil, the beds devine . The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus service to their beach 15 mins away and bikes for hire . The guided tours (one to the pottery village and one day tour cycling with heaven and earth tours)we booked and took from the tourist info office near the front gate were great. The boat trip one of the best ways to get the feel of the local mileau and people and the pottery village with the opportunity to throw a pot on the wheel assisted by an experienced potter great fun especially for the kids .We had a wonderful informative guide just with our family group which added exponentially to the experience. We spent 6 days there which was great as we needed a rest . Food in the historic village was abundant and delicious with plenty of western alternatives even for the fussiest 7 year old! Fiona

Room Tip: Presidential suite had 2 large bedrooms and a lounge/dining room with a TV in each
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Ms.Fiona L ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your staying with us as well as your highly aprreciation to our service .

It is our privilege to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and impressived the service of the hotel and all your trip in Hoi An city .

By your response , our team will have more motivation to improve the service be more and more better to meet guests' expectation when they choose Hoi An Hotel on their vacation .

Kindly respect for your sentiment and appreciation and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi an Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews