We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This is a truly beautiful hotel . The staff are wonderful the amenaties are first class . The rooms are large and everything is with in walking distance . Breakfast is first class and we were not dissappointed with any aspect of this hotel or its service .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughesy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thutieu, Sales Representative at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Hughesy,

We are so glad to hear that you are happy with EVERYTHING of our hotel, we thank you so much for taking time to write this review, this is an immeasurable help, it not only helps us to maintain the best service but also puts readers and other clients in mind that we did a fine job.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back

Thank you again and cheers,
Anh Thu - Sales Representative
Hoi An Hotel - Quang Nam - Viet Nam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,678)
There are newer reviews for Hoi An Historic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

The Hoi An hotel was a nice hotel that was in a great location, only a couple of minutes walk from the old part of town. They also have a free shuttle bus down to the beach. The hotel did enough to be nice but it was not great. The main things that annoyed us about this hotel was the lack of room in the restaurant in peak times (breakfast), the noisy vietnamese families staying in the rooms close to us (which were yelling until the late hours of the night), the uncontrolled kids (i know not there fault but it is important to note as alot of people we talked to were annoyed with the kids running around all hours of the night and early morning) the final annoyance was the pets. It is fine that hotels allow pets but a couple of people brought their little dogs into the restaurant and they were quite close to the food and the hotel staff did nothing. I know it sounds like im just whining but it was really annoying and defiantly ruined our experience.

I would recommend this hotel to people, but just be aware of the pets and kids that are very annoying.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thutieu, Sales Representative at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Cheers and good day Wollongong!

Your review was so enthusiastic and informative that we have to listen to and learn from that. We thank you so much for your kind help and also thank you for taking time to write it.

I am happily to spread your kind words others of the hotel and take note of it to improve Hoi An hotel from a good hotel to a GREAT hotel

Thank you again for your contribution and hope to see you soon!

Anh Thu - Sales Representative
Hoi An Hotel - Hoi an city - Viet Nam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

From the moment we we're picked up from the airport til the moment we left everything was perfect. We never had a single problem with the hotel or any of its staff. Upon arrival we were greeted and offered an upgrade on one of our rooms to the best suite which was perfect so that the whole family (six of us) could very comfortably be in one room during the day. Location is amazing, less than 5 minute walk to everything in town. All the staff are amazingly helpful, even having a technician to help me get my internet working on my laptop. We decided to do a cooking class through the hotel (one of the better things to do in Hoi An) rather than through one of the restaurants because it was cheaper (19 AUD) and did NOT regret it! You do a lovely cooking course in the garden, even being dressed up in a full on chef's outfit! Slightly embarrassing when numerous people walking to and from the hotel to the street take photos of you! But it was a lovely lesson, you are taken to the local market to see what you will be cooking with first then cooking in the garden before your table is set so you can feast on your meal in your very own private garden resturant. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

The breakfast was more than adequate, one of the best we had in Vietnam with a variety of western and local foods. The banana pancakes are to die for!

We also hired bikes for a day (30,000VND for the day) and took a short ride out to the beach. Very nice to do, BUT don't get scammed by the men who try to tell you, you have to park your bike before you get to the beach. They lie! You are allowed to take bikes down to the beach area, you just can't park them on the beach side of the road. If you take your room key with you, you can leave your bike at the Hoi An's sister hotel down by the beach.

Pool is lovely and cool, bar and western food shop by the pool is a tad expensive but there are plenty of lovely places within 5 minutes walk to eat and drink so its not a problem!

We did have a group of young guys staying there on our last night who were up and yelling all night as well as early in the morning the next morning (happily telling the gardener that he hasnt been home yet, loud enough to be heard from the hotel rooms itself) but other than the hotel staff maybe handling this situation better no companies at all!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joceey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thutieu, Sales Representative at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Joceey,

I am really excited that you was happy and did enjoy your stay at our hotel as well as our peaceful Hoi An, I'm so proud of them.

Your words are a greatest reward to us that nothing can be compared. We truly appreciate it and honored that we have created an environment and service that you found it perfect

Thank you for taking time to share your happy experience and write about us

Cheers,

Anh Thu- Sales Representative
Hoi An Hotel - Hoi An - Viet Nam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Hoi An and the Hoi An Hotel. The rooms were lovely and very spacious. It was a little noisy with renovations and we woke one morning - early - to the sound of a teacher on a microphone leading the school in their exercise routine. That was interesting.
The staff were helpful, the pool and spa were great and we enjoyed having a snack and drink in the cafe. Very nice breakfast. Great location too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

our room over looked the large pool and was sapcious and very clean, the staff were so helpful. i would recommend staying here and would go back again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I picked the Hoi An Hotel for its location -- very close to the old city and tailor shops. I didn't want to be several kilometers away at the beach. Also, it turns out that "high season" in January is cool and rainy, so it would not have been good beach weather.

The hotel is about a block away from the old section that is chock-a-block with tailor shops. Hoi An has a reputation as the place to have tailoring done in Vietnam. On the way in to town, in response to our request, we stopped at 19 Le Loi. We had just two nights and I wanted to get some hiking pants with enormous pockets made for my Buddha-bellied spouse. The guide took us to #19, which in less than 24 hours did a perfect job in duplicating (with the requested modifications) my husband's bedraggled old pants. The Hoi An's location made it a snap to go by and pick up the pants and to visit the historic town center and local markets.

Most of the "historic" hotel is being renovated. We were in the "new wing," which I think was still pre-Vietnam War. Our room was large and simple with mosquito nets hanging over the beds. There were no mosquitoes, so we didn't need them. The safe in the room worked and breakfast was good. The bathroom was old with adequate hot water, but low water pressure. There was only one pillow for each bed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Hoi An Hotel is nice, and the rooms are lovely. Having said that the windows do not seal properly so the every sound comes into your room. Not ideal when they are renovating. We asked to move rooms and the hotel was very accommodating. Nevertheless the gaps in the windows ensured we slept with earplugs every night we were there. I cannot emphasise enough how frustrating the noise was at this hotel.

We booked a tour to the MySon ruins through the hotel and I have to say that this was probably the worst experience we had in our 3 weeks in Vietnam. The tour was over an hour late picking us up. While we were waiting we met an American gent and his daughter who were booked on the same tour. When the bus arrived the operators had no record of the Americans and refused to take them (even though they had already paid).

The bus to the ruins was overloaded, then on arriving there we were handed over to another tour guide and merged with other groups. There would have been at least 80 people in the group. To get up to the ruins we were ferried up in jeeps and vans. It took over half an hour to get everyone up there. There was a lot of standing around. The entire tour from start to finish was around 5 hours, with only 40mins of that at the actual ruins (and an hour drive each way).

For the return trip we were shuffled onto a different bus. On the return to Hoi An the driver just pulled up and told everyone to get off. He refused to take anyone back to their hotel. This was a little distressing as we had no idea where we were and did not have a map. The whole tour was extremely unprofessional and dodgy.

I am very disappointed that Hoi An Hotel would book guests on such a tour. While they are not the tour operator themselves they have a responsibility to their guests to recommend professional operators.

On New Years Eve the hotel laid on a fantastic gala dinner which was stacks of fun. The staff sang karaoke and really got into it. It was wonderful to experience a big celebration like that in Vietnam.

The food at the hotel was great, although when compared with some of the fantastic restaurants in Hoi An there is no reason to eat at the hotel (except for breakfast which was fine).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromBrisAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thutieu, Sales Representative at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Good day!

Oops, we're so regret to hear your bad experience with tour booked by our hotel. We acknowledge your feedback and investigate this case with our staff and tour operator, meanwhile, thank you so much for your kind review to let us know and do apologize for this unwanted experience.

Yes, I do totally agree with you that of course we not only try to provide best in-house service, but also should be responsible for other outside services, after this, I assume that it's time to double check and inspect all these services

Anyway, I am glad to find out that finally you was happy and enjoyed the New Year Gala dinner, it was fun and very Vietnamese, wasn't it?

Again, I am truly thankful for your review

Best regards,
Anh Thu - Sales Representative
Hoi An Hotel - Quang Nam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel Villa & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing