We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific experience!”
Review of Hotel Hai Yen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hai Yen
Ranked #126 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Unfortunately we stayed at hai yen for our first night in Hoi An. The room itself was fine but what we found in there was extremely unpleasant. Filled with cockroaches! We had 3 running around our room within minutes of checking in. After killing them and calling down to reception to tell them of our problem they told us that if we had a problem we could leave! They sent someone up to clean the dead bugs but were exceptionally rude when we told them that we were unhappy with the room. The following morning for breakfast in my fruit platter there was a maggot. Again not impressed and went to speak with reception. They failed to provide any sort of customer service and we quickly left!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

My daughter's face was bitten by Mosquitos and swelled up badly. I couldn't sleep the whole night and killed about 12 Mosquitos in an hour.
This is a horrible place as beside the Mosquitos the condition of the room is bad, I should have pay a bit more and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our room in that hotel was quiet nice. Shops and restaurants are not far away. But we can't recommend to leave any valuable things at the reception. After our stay we missed money which had been before stored at the reception!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mitch2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for around 10 minutes before I decided to check out early. It wasn't until I had got my bags into my room that I realised that this hotel was currently under major renovation. Once I started to look around it was basically a building site. It wasn't the place for me so I checked out and found another hotel. I'm sure it's a lot better now that work has been done though.

Stayed in August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a great hotel, close to everything, the tailors, restaurants, river cruises, markets, the staff are friendly, it has a buffet breakfast with Vietnamese food and western food. Very comfortable beds. And has a swimming pool and internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tab459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a great choice for the budget conscious traveller who likes a little luxury. Very comfortable beds, open and airy restaurant, friendly staff and a swinning pool. Situated within walking distance of the markets, tailors, restaurants, river cruises and night life or just a cheap and quick taxi trip away. 2 girls from our group hired push bikes and cycled the 2 or 3 kms to the beach which they said was fairly flat and easy pedaling. There is an ATM next door and restaurant that sells very cold beer and very hot food (spicy) across the street. Cheap too! If this hotel had a lift instead of many stairs to navigate, it would get the excellent mark.

Room Tip: No rooms better than others from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a great stay in this hotel. The pool was clean and tropical. The breakfast was international and fresh. The rooms were clean and airy. The place was fairly busy with Vietnamese at the weekend which gave it a real local atmosphere. Great location, great option for Hoi An.

Room Tip: Hidden behind every door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.1 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#78 of 170 in Hoi An
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DK's Hotel
DK's Hotel
#116 of 170 in Hoi An
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#136 of 170 in Hoi An
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vy Hoa Hoi An Villas
Vy Hoa Hoi An Villas
#112 of 170 in Hoi An
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hai Yen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hai Yen

Address: 568 Cua Dai St, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £13 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hai Yen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free-form outdoor pool and free private parking, Hai Yen Hotel offers budget accommodations with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. It is centrally located in Hoi An Ancient Town. Hotel Hai Yen is 2.4 km from well-known Cua Dai Beach. Large air conditioned rooms at Hai Yen are equipped with a private balcony and seating areas. They are equipped with a safe, electric teakettle and satellite TV. Private bathrooms have a bathtub, toiletries and a hairdryer. The staff is available at the front desk 24 hours a day and can help with travel arrangements. Guests can purchase gifts at the souvenir shop. Hai Yen Hotel provides shuttle service and currency exchange. Local dishes, snacks and beverages are offered at Hai Yen’s restaurant. Son Phong is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, food and beaches. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Hai Yen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hai Yen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing