We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to be in Hoi An”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huy Hoang River Hotel
Ranked #141 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel was one of the best hotels we have seen in all of Asia. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is fantastic and the staff makes the whole experience really worthwhile.
We stayed for 5 nights, and became good friends with all of the girls working in the hotel, they helped us in every way. Hope to be back there some day, it is truly one of the most beautiful places in the world.

Room Tip: rooms towards the river are bigger and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markokanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed in Huy Hoang River Hotel, Loved it.
We read through the reviews on Trip Advisor after booking it and was pretty shocked at the negative remarks, thus not expecting much out of our stay (made full payment via Agoda on a 'no cancelling' policy). Seeing the hotel and room, I am quite surprised as it is the complete opposite of all the negative reviews.

A few points to take note:

1. It is called "Huy Hoang RIVER Hotel" and not 'Mini'. The address is correct, hotel name is wrong. And knowing Vietnam, there might be more than one 'Huy Hoang' hotel.

2. So, before you read my review, I want to let you know that I stayed at 73, Phan Boi Chau St - which is Huy Hoang RIVER Hotel, and I have a feeling the reviewers who gave this place a "Terrible" or "Poor" rating stayed at a different hotel. [Can Tripadvisor amend the hotel name?] Their website is http://huyhoangriver.blogspot.com

=====

ROOM - We stayed here for two nights, very nice double room. Room was clean and toilet interior is the prettiest one we've had throughout our travels in Vietnam. On our last night, the air condition was leaking. The hotel staff did not fix it, merely put a towel beneath the window. Not a problem for us though as we were mostly out during the day and only back at night.

Room comes with complimentary breakfast. I can't rate it as we never ate in the hotel.

SERVICE - Staff at reception are friendly and helpful. Guests can rent bicycles (highly recommend that) for $1/day. We utilized that fully.

The staff reply to emails pretty quickly too as I emailed them before I left for Vietnam to inquire about transfers from Da Nang airport. Person who replied me was really helpful, and even advised me on cab rates.

LOCATION - PERFECT! Just next to the river and Cua Dam (?) bridge - cycle to the village across the river. Beautiful sights, not 'that' many tourists, quiet, and good exercise ;)
Walk out of the hotel and you will be greeted by ample of food stalls. Wet/dry market is just down the road, after that is a row of bars/cafes (Bia Hai @ 4,000VND - fresh beer). Less than 5 minutes walk from row of cobbler shops, and tailors are relatively close too.

Most importantly, FOOD - best Banh Mi we've had is just a stone's throw away from the hotel. And fresh fruit smoothies at the nearby market! I have had at least one, every meal, or stopped by walking to and from our hotel.
There is also a pharmacy diagonally across the road, if that information is useful to you.

Good distance from Cua Dai Beach too. As mentioned, rent a bicycle for the day and just cycle afar! Start early though.

Room Tip: If you are fussy over a good view, then request for one that faces the river - it's not exactly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royaltylites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Since we stayed only one day in Hoi An we chose a centrally located hotel and it was like this - you go out and you are in the market busrling with locals and foreigners so you are in the middle of plentifull smells, sounds and colors;). The hotel s in tubular house and from all rooms only 4 are with direct sun light. The rooms are spacious though being on the riverfront and not direct air a little dump and smelly;). Bathroom is big, however there is not always enough pressure to take a 'summer rain' shower it featured. Staff is very helpful and assting you. Overall a OK hotel but we have stayed in Asia in much better for the similar price.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms 201/202 - they have a terrace;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilttleBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We received fantastic assistance from the hotel staff upon our arrival to Hoi An, including how to get to particular places of interest, the booking of great tours as well as where NOT to go for food because of previous food poisoning cases.

However, during the course of our stay, we were let down by a number of things: the mattresses were not entirely clean even after room service, the hot water gave out for an extended period of time, the wifi connection was weak or non-existent and breakfast was regularly delayed in it's arrival and/or was not what we ordered.

If you are only interested in affordable accommodation and are not too fussed about the above, then you can try Huy Hoang but we found ourselves repeatedly disappointed by these basic ensuing issues. It's only saving grace really is the helpful staff. If only the hotel itself was a bit more hospitable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Originally we planned only two nights at Huy Hoang Hotel. However, we quickly came to the conclusion that we had better lock down seven more nights. We had the opportunity to look around Hoi An and it is our opinion that you could not find a better staff and location anywhere else. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with air conditioning, TV, free WiFi and a good mattress on the bed. The hotel is located on the river with a promenade which is delightful for a morning walk. The Hoi An market is less than a minute away and leads into the historic center with all its attractions. The staff gave us excellent help with making travel arrangments, spa appointments and clothing purchases. Good bicycles are available for $1 a day. The breakfasts were a big hit with us - may we suggest the pineapple pancake. Consider yourself fortunate if you are successful in booking this hotel. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a room with a window or for a little more money choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaacdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I actually found this mini-hotel on Hostelworld. Was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Our private room w/ensuite bathroom was at the end of the hall on the second floor. Large bedroom w/a great view of the river, AC, small flat screen tv, mini fridge. The room smelled a bit moth-bally and had a little water damage that was painted over.

Bath had a shower and bath tub, although didn't have any luck w/hot water in the shower, just the tub and sink.

Bfast was complimentary. Nothing fancy. Some Vietnamese dishes and a few western dishes.

Staff spoke good enough English and talked us into attending their sister property's Christmas Eve Gala Dinner, which was entertaining to stay the least.

$170 got us a 3 nights and RT transfer from DaNang.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed two nights in Dec, found the staff really friendly and helpful, sorting out train tickets, bikes, taxis etc. Brrakfast was included and delicious. The room was clean and nicely furnished but you could hear the noise from reception and street so try not to get ground floor front rooms. Also no windows.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#59 of 159 in Hoi An
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Huy Hotel
An Huy Hotel
#128 of 159 in Hoi An
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#129 of 159 in Hoi An
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#143 of 159 in Hoi An
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#116 of 159 in Hoi An
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huy Hoang River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huy Hoang River Hotel

Address: 73 Phan Boi Chau St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huy Hoang River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huy Hoang River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing