We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, utterly uninterested staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Ranked #142 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The twin room (USD20/night) had all the reasonably expected amenities. The room was clean and the beds large. Wifi is available only in the lobby, not -as told when asked qhen we were booking- in the rooms. The staff overall was lousy and not quite helpful. They seemed to prefer checking their Facebook on the lobby computer over helping waiting customers at the reception.
The offered breakfast is in a hotel next door (Thanh Binh 3 Hotel) and of poor quality. Sneak in the Thanh Binh 3 for a refreshing swim in the pool at the end of a warm day.
Location is okay, just off the old part of town. It takes a 5 minute stroll to get to the old centre.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Do not even consider going to this bug-invested place!
Before going to sleep we discovered an unknown bug in the bed. We were not really alarmed as it seemed only to be one bug, but after an hour or so I woke up finding another bug. Carefully searching the bed we found at least two dozen more... plus dozens of old blood stains on the pillow and on the mattress (under the sheets). Previous guests obviously had had the some problem.

So it is completely clear that the bugs were a known problem and the staff had knowingly put us in a room (and a bed!) filled with bugs. When confronted with the evidence they denied of course. They refused to call the hotel manager, because "he was not in the hotel".. well okay I can speak to him on the phone, no problem with that. But still they refused to bring us in contact with the manager, saying that we can discuss anything with them. Needless to say that they refused to compensate us in any way. We will definitely not return to this hotel, not ever.

Breakfast was served in another hotel nearby and was below the standard in SE Asia, which is already not so high. You will find much better for the same or even a lower price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rds12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The cheapest of the Thanh Binh hotels in Hoi An at around 450k VND ($20 USD), the small hotel scores very well on most basics in cleanliness, services, location & value in the budget category. Located within walking distance & just outside the main streets of the World Heritage ancient town of Hoi An, I think the price has something to do with the hotel being on a street corner-negative Feng Shui & superstitions.

With that being said, this hotel really punches above its weight in the budget category with newly retiled bathrooms, private balcony & garden, LCD TV & free buffet breakfast down the street at the higher priced sister hotel Thanh Binh 3 a.k.a Serene Hotel. The tiles in our bathroom were very clean without any trace of mould however hot water was only warm but not an issue. Our bathroom had a full solid marble bench top with a wide mirror which is an unusual bonus for a budget hotel. Complimentary tooth brush, paste & soaps were surprising. Outside our room was our own small private area with table & chairs facing the street with large leafy plants which gave some degree of privacy.

The hotel has an issue with wifi & mobile phone signals being unable to penetrate thru the walls making the signals weak, the walls are obviously very thick or made of lead. This is my second visit here & this problem goes back 5 years. Two free computers are available for guests in the reception area which features a small gift store. Wifi signal from here is also good. The reception desk is also an agent for several bus companies that can arrange for overnight travel to Hue, Hanoi, Nha Trang & Saigon with pickup included making everything very easy. The hotel is on the corner of Hai Ba Trung street which has some restaurants but the world heritage area is just 2-3 blocks away with a very nice evening ambience full of Chinese lanterns & tailor shops open til late.

The TripAdvisor profile picture is actually of its sister hotel Thanh Binh III or the Serene Hotel 20 metres down the road, I've told them it is incorrect but they never listen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Expensive $25US a night. Looks nice and was in a great location but is the only bad hotel we've experienced on our trip so far- Uncomfortable bed, Shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold (& we had no say in which), wifi hardly worked, rooms & towels were dirty & service was pretty average.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a number of nights and really liked it. I'm not so sure what the other guests are complaining about as the room we were in only cost twenty dollars and included a pretty good breakfast and use of a pool (both just around the corner at than binh 3). For the money it is a great deal. Wifi was a bit spotty in the rooms but worked great downstairs. The staff really came through for us when we needed a few forgotten items transported to the airport last minute. It was absolutely amazing that they actually got it to us before the flight left.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randomtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

As soon as I walked into the hotel room, I thought was really good presentation. The bathrooms were not all that bad and the spa-like bath was really nice. Some downers though was that the bath plug did not work, but they fixed that. the shower plug was clogged, and it wasn't fixed until later, but when they couldn't work it out they mopped out the water that flooded our bathroom and other bits of the room. The Wi-fi was also a bit unreliable. The staff are hard working and did their best for us, but the service was a bit slow, and the light and noise that came out of the curtain that covered our large window to our balcony was a little disturbing at night. Altogether though, a nice, clean and well presented room! the foyer was lovely, with extra points for the built in shop. It is also close to the old town.

Would recommend the Thanh Binh III more (don't know about the rooms or service), perhaps because it serves breakfast (you have to walk to Thanh Binh III for breakfast) and it also has a pool.

The Thanh Binh II is great if you want inexpensive accommodation with clean and fresh rooms well equipped with a large flat screen TV, air-con and fan. Good breakfast at the Thanh Binh III. Would go there again.

Room Tip: Good place for the summer time for taking advantage of the Thabh Binh III pool (accessable as long a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 285gabrieller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Big hotel, reasonable facilities. Wifi connection is not very good in some rooms. Some furnitures are old and broken, but still good value for money. Location is good and convenient. The chief staff at the front desk gave good recommendation on White Rose restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with good wifi-connections if you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Satorubj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh III Hotel
Thanh Binh III Hotel
#135 of 159 in Hoi An
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#143 of 159 in Hoi An
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#116 of 159 in Hoi An
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 159 in Hoi An
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#125 of 159 in Hoi An
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#118 of 159 in Hoi An
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Binh II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Binh II Hotel

Address: 712 Hai Ba Trung | Quang Nam City, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £14 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Binh II Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thanh Binh II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing