We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh Binh II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Ranked #127 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

when i called and booked the room, it wasn't available for the standard room any as receptionist told us, so we had to book the room through Agoda, because it's available on online booking. When we checked in, our room wasn't available and reception still gave us the key and let's us check in... room wasn't made up and a pillow was under bedsheet, look like somebody sleeping there, it really startled me!!!
room was nice when have space for sitting and drinking at the balcony, good value for 20usd a nite, and you got quite big room has balcony and breakfast included, and central location.. but if you would pay a bit extra, there are many good hotel close by and nicer service

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    74
    60
    31
    37
See reviews for
18
89
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This place has so much potential, but unfortunatly that's all it seems to have. Being woken up at 6am every morning to the sound of building work (hammering, drilling, grinding, etc...) wasn't any fun. The light in my tiolet didn't work, so had to shower in the dark. There are two motorbike rental guys right outside the hotel, who hound you everytime you step foot outside. The staff are rude and unhelpful and the 'breakfast buffet' tasted like yesterdays left overs. The pool feels like it's 90% Chlorine. Wouldn't recommend this place to a prisoner!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longshuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Avoid this Hotel our room was broken into and we were robbed all our major valuables including a $300.00 Camera and $200.00USD in Cash was gone. It had to be the hotel staff. We notified the staff and they were rude and unhelpful. We moved hotels and they did not provide a refund for the 2 days we had paid for in advanced to get a $12.00USD discount. I have never seen more unhelpful people anywhere in the world. I will never visit Hoi An or Vietnam again!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CIO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our tour of Vietnam. For the price we paid we were satisfied with the hotel. It is a solid three star hotel by Vietnam standards. The rooms are large and clean. The shower is okay but the water temperature can be a little temperamental.

The hotel is in a convenient location, about a 10 minute walk to the centre of the old town, where all the main sights are. We only spent 2 nights in Hoi An but if you are reading this and haven't booked your flights yet, please stay for at least 4 nights. I can fully recommend Yaly Courtue for a place to have a tailored suit made. There is a post office to the top right of town where you can send all of you purchases home. It cost us £35 for 6kg.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The twin room (USD20/night) had all the reasonably expected amenities. The room was clean and the beds large. Wifi is available only in the lobby, not -as told when asked qhen we were booking- in the rooms. The staff overall was lousy and not quite helpful. They seemed to prefer checking their Facebook on the lobby computer over helping waiting customers at the reception.
The offered breakfast is in a hotel next door (Thanh Binh 3 Hotel) and of poor quality. Sneak in the Thanh Binh 3 for a refreshing swim in the pool at the end of a warm day.
Location is okay, just off the old part of town. It takes a 5 minute stroll to get to the old centre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Do not even consider going to this bug-invested place!
Before going to sleep we discovered an unknown bug in the bed. We were not really alarmed as it seemed only to be one bug, but after an hour or so I woke up finding another bug. Carefully searching the bed we found at least two dozen more... plus dozens of old blood stains on the pillow and on the mattress (under the sheets). Previous guests obviously had had the some problem.

So it is completely clear that the bugs were a known problem and the staff had knowingly put us in a room (and a bed!) filled with bugs. When confronted with the evidence they denied of course. They refused to call the hotel manager, because "he was not in the hotel".. well okay I can speak to him on the phone, no problem with that. But still they refused to bring us in contact with the manager, saying that we can discuss anything with them. Needless to say that they refused to compensate us in any way. We will definitely not return to this hotel, not ever.

Breakfast was served in another hotel nearby and was below the standard in SE Asia, which is already not so high. You will find much better for the same or even a lower price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rds12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,771 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The cheapest of the Thanh Binh hotels in Hoi An at around 450k VND ($20 USD), the small hotel scores very well on most basics in cleanliness, services, location & value in the budget category. Located within walking distance & just outside the main streets of the World Heritage ancient town of Hoi An, I think the price has something to do with the hotel being on a street corner-negative Feng Shui & superstitions.

With that being said, this hotel really punches above its weight in the budget category with newly retiled bathrooms, private balcony & garden, LCD TV & free buffet breakfast down the street at the higher priced sister hotel Thanh Binh 3 a.k.a Serene Hotel. The tiles in our bathroom were very clean without any trace of mould however hot water was only warm but not an issue. Our bathroom had a full solid marble bench top with a wide mirror which is an unusual bonus for a budget hotel. Complimentary tooth brush, paste & soaps were surprising. Outside our room was our own small private area with table & chairs facing the street with large leafy plants which gave some degree of privacy.

The hotel has an issue with wifi & mobile phone signals being unable to penetrate thru the walls making the signals weak, the walls are obviously very thick or made of lead. This is my second visit here & this problem goes back 5 years. Two free computers are available for guests in the reception area which features a small gift store. Wifi signal from here is also good. The reception desk is also an agent for several bus companies that can arrange for overnight travel to Hue, Hanoi, Nha Trang & Saigon with pickup included making everything very easy. The hotel is on the corner of Hai Ba Trung street which has some restaurants but the world heritage area is just 2-3 blocks away with a very nice evening ambience full of Chinese lanterns & tailor shops open til late.

The TripAdvisor profile picture is actually of its sister hotel Thanh Binh III or the Serene Hotel 20 metres down the road, I've told them it is incorrect but they never listen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh III Hotel
Thanh Binh III Hotel
#112 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#124 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#71 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#99 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Binh II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Binh II Hotel

Property: Thanh Binh II Hotel
Address: 712 Hai Ba Trung | Quang Nam City, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Binh II Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thanh Binh II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing