We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of an unfortunate situation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best of an unfortunate situation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour last week. Unfortunately, the two nights we were here was blighted by a typhoon that washed through Hoi An. As a result, we couldn't try their lovely looking restaurant and pool. It's hard to judge the hotel because of the circumstances, but if their efforts to make the best of a bad situation are anything to go by, I'm sure this is an excellent place. 

After the typhoon swept through overnight, the place was left in a sorry state. Corridors full of debris, destroyed landscaping and wet floors everywhere.  Thankfully our room was well placed to avoid most of the typhoon's fury. The next morning, there was no breakfast at the restaurant due to the continuing ferocious winds. Not for their lack of trying though. As the winds stopped, they tried to set up breakfast, but I don't think they realised that it was just the eye of the storm! In the end they brought as much food and coffee to the main hotel foyer as possible and all the hotel guests ate there like we were in some rescue camp. Throughout the rest of the morning, whilst we confined ourselves to the hotel, I noticed all the staff working extremely hard to clean up the mess. They sent around messages to apologise for the lack of TV and free wifi since the backup generator did not allow the use of these.  I felt sorry for the housekeepers, as they came around to clean the rooms. They offered to clean ours, but I told them just a change of towels will do since I knew they were flat chat busy. When we eventually ventured out to town later in the afternoon, we were extremely pleased and impressed that housekeeping decided to make up and clean our room whilst we were out.

As for the rooms, they were quite nice with old school wooden furnishings and windows. It was also nice to have a proper shower cubicle with door rather than the usual shower curtain. The room could do with a little more lighting though. Also, there's no elevator, but considering there's only 3 floors this isn't much of an issue.

Overall, I have nothing but praise for the resort for trying their best to make the best of a bad situation. The typhoon was an experience in itself, and the resort made sure that it wasn't necessarily an unpleasant one.

Oh, and just so you know, one of our friends got their laundry washed by the restaurant right across the road. When they got it back, their clothes had shrunk. Best avoid it. Although try their food.  It's excellent stuff. Their "white roses" is to die for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superted84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to express our sincerely thankfulness for your thorough comment regarding to your recent stay. We appreciated very much for your thoughtful feeling to our staff during this bad situation. Honestly, we apologize that you had an unpleasant experience with the typhoon and It may make you feel worried. This is really out of expectation; however, we ensure all our guest was in safe and the hotel did not have much damage and fortunately, we could give accommodation to other beach resort's guest who had been evacuated to the safe place. Once again, thank you very much for your understanding, your sympathy and your praise to our staff. And we wish we will have you again next tine in good weather condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    221
    60
    20
    6
See reviews for
173
449
69
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed three nights at this hotel. The hotel is located just outside of the center of Hoi An, but it is just a 10-15min walk away or a couple of minutes by bicycle. And you can rent bicycles from the hotel. The people in the reception are very friendly and speak english very well.

Helpful?
Thank TjuBakka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your good feedback about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort. It is our pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciated very much your nice comment about our reception staff . We keep improving our high services standard and ensure that all our guest will have a delightful stay. Looking forward to your return next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel was part of our intrepid tour. Location was great, walking distance to Old Quarter, bike hire. Staff were amazing and very friendly, nothing to much trouble. There was a restaurant right across the road which served great food so after a day out you did not have to travel far for dinner. breakfast was very good and plenty to pick from. The donuts are excellent when they come out warm. Hotel has a lovely pool area which was great after a day out bike riding. Massage was very good and you got a free manicure to.

Only down side was our room was right above the reception area and you could hear the phone ring and other guests would have to walk up the stairs and it was noisey. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from reception and the stair case.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about our resort, we highly appreciate your detailed comments about the resort in general, our breakfast, spa, pool and our staff in particular. We are pleased that you had tried almost of our services which could meet your expectation.
Regarding to your information about the room above reception, we sincerely apologize that caused some inconveniences to you; however our hotel occupancy was high last few weeks, we could not assign better room for you. We will pay full attention to your suggestion, and we ensure to upgrade your room next time. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September. Great position just a few minutes pleasant walk from Hoi An old town in a peaceful area. The hotel has very recently been refurbished. It is very clean and spacious throughout. Gardens are beautiful. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. But the best feature are the staff - we have never met such helpful, friendly, caring staff both in the hotel and in the spa. Nothing is too much trouble. They seem genuinely concerned for our welfare. A fantastic stay in a lovely hotel with the best and friendliest staff we have ever met.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycocozoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Writer, thank you very much for the excellent reviews regarding to your delightful stay at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort, Hoi An. We greatly appreciated your nice comments about our different services and in particular, your compliments about our staff which is absolutely a strong motivation for us to keep up the high service standard. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel was a lovely change to my other hotels in Vietnam. Location was 20min from Hoi An Old City by walking, so a little far, but you can hire a cycle from the hotel bring the time down to a few minutes. Cycling to the beach is easily accessible too. Staff were very friendly and gave me an upgrade at no extra cost. Room was lovely, clean tidy and functional with a view of the amazing gardens and pool area. Overall the best part of staying at this hotel would be the staff, very friendly and always approachable with excellent English. i did stay over the off peak season so the hotel was very quite which i really enjoyed. would recommend to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d1ve5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear D1ve5h,

I would like to express my appreciation for your great reviews about our resort., and thank you for your recommendation to our clients. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Phu thinh is a great hotel. The rooms were big, clean, beds are comfortable!
The hotel is located near a hostel, so you can meet other backpackers if you want.
The staff is friendly, helpful and speaks good English!
Buffet breakfast has a lot of variety, the surroundings in the garden, where you have breakfast is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulievanZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments with full details about the hotel's services, our breakfast, bedrooms, staff, and especially the gardens. Your comment is a strong moral support for our team to keep up the highest services standard. We are so pleased to learn that you had a great stay and we hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Arrive in the evening from Hue and we were welcome by the friendly staff with drinks n refreshing towel. when we checked into the room on ground floor ,open the window and realised that we would be staying with this lovely garden for the next 2 days , overjoy.... then we were shown the way to the old town, merely 10 -15 minutes walk.
breakfast was great and huge ,swimming pool is surrounded by the beautiful garden and its allow to swim till late like 9 pm or later
tips for night owl like me, want to eat or drink after 10, no problem at all, I discovered a small restaurant runs by husband n wife that open till 5 am, located about 100 m on the left of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samkoh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Samkoh63,

Thank you very much for your choosing Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa during your recent vacation in Hoi An and your valued comment with highlight our beautiful garden and all services. We also would like to express our appreciation for you time to share your wonderful experiences with our clients. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and all the hotel services and facilities could meet your expectation. We hope you keep our resort as an ideal stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.4 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing