We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #50 of 167 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had booked us into the Long Life Riverside Hotel for 4 nights, we stayed for 1 but that is for a separate review, and on our first morning I left the hotel for a run around Hoi An but mainly to search for a new hotel. We had previously stayed at the Hoi An Trails so headed that way as it was good 2 years ago. On route I found the Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, I didn't remember it from our previous visit but they have had the front garden re done and it looked lovely. I went in and spoke with the front office manager who was happy to show me a choice of 2 rooms they had available, superior double for our kids at $50 per night B&B and the Grand Suite for my husband & I at $85 per night B&B. The rooms were lovely, comfy beds, nice bathrooms with good water pressure, soft pillows and shutters outside the windows. I booked both the rooms and ran back to check out! The Riverside was $94.50 per night and was nowhere near as good, seriously!
The breakfast was yummy as was the dinner we had there on the night of Typhoon Nari, that was a shocker! The staff at the hotel were fantastic. One of our shutters blew open at 0300 when the typhoon was at its worst, I called reception and 5 guys came to sort it out. They were brilliant. Once safely secured in the room with shutters locked we tried to get some sleep whilst listening to the howling winds and rain. Hoi An the next day was a sad sight with trees blown down and general post typhoon mess, the staff at the hotel got the grounds cleared up in 36 hours, impressive.
So I really do recommend this hotel, great rooms, lovely staff, good food and great location, you can walk to town in 10-15 minutes depending on your leg length!
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for the grand suite as it is great value and lovely spacious room. It is on the ground floor over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FABdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your fantastic and descriptive review on us. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and memorable experiences with us. Your review is much encouraging to our team in order to keep up the high service standard and our inspiration . Indeed we highly appreciated your kind sympathy during the bad situation of the weather and your wonderful comment '' WHAT A GEM".
Thanks again for your overall compliments and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming your family next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel was a beautiful oasis of calm during my stay in Vietnam. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. Everything worked and I can't think of anything bad to say about it. Well maybe I ate too much every breakfast and drank too much tea! :D

The staff make this hotel and I was invited to more than one of the staff's homes. This really makes you feel welcome and part of the 'family'. What more could you ask. A real home from home.

I loved it here and wished I never had to leave.

Damn you reality. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to express our sincere thankfulness and appreciation to your wonderful feedback and your voting " A BEAUTIFUL OASIS OF CALM' to us. We enjoyed to learn that we had made your stay a relaxing and memorable one. Our staff had done such a nice job that made you feel as being home. Honestly, we always effort to satisfy every single guests staying with us. Your comment is definitely a valued motivation for all of us .

Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Huyen / Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel with great facilities and service. Brilliant value for money. Convenient for the town. Nice pool and spa. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size and with everything you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent feed back. We great appreciated your complements and it is really a strong motivation for our team. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us, and looking forward to welcoming again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was booked for my wife and I by David from the Rising Dragon Legend hotel in Hanoi.
We stayed here for three days as a break from our hectic travel schedule.
Everything was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem to them. It was nice to sit around the pool with a cold drink at the end of a hot day and relax. We both enjoyed the staff members coming to talk to us to help improve their English. ( we found that most of the staff could speak very good English already ) the rooms are very nice. Dining in the outdoor restaurant was very pleasant, ( Great food )We left on the day that the recent Typhon was starting to build in strength. I understand that the area was hit quite badly. I am sure the very efficient staff will have got the hotel up and running to a high level as soon as possible

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you very much for your excellent review during your stay in the last two weeks. We extremely enjoy your voting us "Everything was perfect" and your great compliments to our staff. It is absolutely encouraging our team and we will keep up the high service and effort to make all our guests feel delightful to stay with us. Furthermore, we highly appreciated your thoughtful concern to our property and staff about the Nari typhoon. Fortunately, we all were in safe, there was not much damage but we did work hardly to clean all up in the next day.

Once again, thank you for enjoying your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I'm in two minds as to whether I'd recommend Phu Thinh II Hotel. It looks nice, the pool is lovely, the lotus pool by outdoor breakfast area is gorgeous, and the staff are very friendly. On the other hand, it's a long walk into town, there aren't any cafes nearby, and although you can taxi to the beach there's the question of what to do with your bag. The water at the hotel also has an odd sour taste; it's present in the pool, the breakfast drinks, and boiled water in the room. The breakfast looks nice but the coffee is sour and barely lukewarm, the food is bland and all of the 'hot' food is cold.

There are bicycles but these are for rent (cheaply) rather than free.

If I came back then I would be far more inclined to stay at a hotel by the gorgeous beach. The length of the taxi ride into town is very similar whether from here or from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much to spend time with us and your review. It is really nice to hear your good feed back about our resort surroundings and our friendly staff.

We do apologise to hear that some services could not meet your satisfaction. Regarding to the water issue, we have the same Water supply source from town for the whole city, thus this have been treated properly. Otherwise, we appreciated your comment about our breakfast's food, we had shared your comment to our Food & Bevarage service in order to improve its quality. We wish you could email directly to us : info@phuthinhhotels.com for any further suggestion.

Once again, thank you very much for your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Ms. Huyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour last week. Unfortunately, the two nights we were here was blighted by a typhoon that washed through Hoi An. As a result, we couldn't try their lovely looking restaurant and pool. It's hard to judge the hotel because of the circumstances, but if their efforts to make the best of a bad situation are anything to go by, I'm sure this is an excellent place. 

After the typhoon swept through overnight, the place was left in a sorry state. Corridors full of debris, destroyed landscaping and wet floors everywhere.  Thankfully our room was well placed to avoid most of the typhoon's fury. The next morning, there was no breakfast at the restaurant due to the continuing ferocious winds. Not for their lack of trying though. As the winds stopped, they tried to set up breakfast, but I don't think they realised that it was just the eye of the storm! In the end they brought as much food and coffee to the main hotel foyer as possible and all the hotel guests ate there like we were in some rescue camp. Throughout the rest of the morning, whilst we confined ourselves to the hotel, I noticed all the staff working extremely hard to clean up the mess. They sent around messages to apologise for the lack of TV and free wifi since the backup generator did not allow the use of these.  I felt sorry for the housekeepers, as they came around to clean the rooms. They offered to clean ours, but I told them just a change of towels will do since I knew they were flat chat busy. When we eventually ventured out to town later in the afternoon, we were extremely pleased and impressed that housekeeping decided to make up and clean our room whilst we were out.

As for the rooms, they were quite nice with old school wooden furnishings and windows. It was also nice to have a proper shower cubicle with door rather than the usual shower curtain. The room could do with a little more lighting though. Also, there's no elevator, but considering there's only 3 floors this isn't much of an issue.

Overall, I have nothing but praise for the resort for trying their best to make the best of a bad situation. The typhoon was an experience in itself, and the resort made sure that it wasn't necessarily an unpleasant one.

Oh, and just so you know, one of our friends got their laundry washed by the restaurant right across the road. When they got it back, their clothes had shrunk. Best avoid it. Although try their food.  It's excellent stuff. Their "white roses" is to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superted84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to express our sincerely thankfulness for your thorough comment regarding to your recent stay. We appreciated very much for your thoughtful feeling to our staff during this bad situation. Honestly, we apologize that you had an unpleasant experience with the typhoon and It may make you feel worried. This is really out of expectation; however, we ensure all our guest was in safe and the hotel did not have much damage and fortunately, we could give accommodation to other beach resort's guest who had been evacuated to the safe place. Once again, thank you very much for your understanding, your sympathy and your praise to our staff. And we wish we will have you again next tine in good weather condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed three nights at this hotel. The hotel is located just outside of the center of Hoi An, but it is just a 10-15min walk away or a couple of minutes by bicycle. And you can rent bicycles from the hotel. The people in the reception are very friendly and speak english very well.

Thank TjuBakka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your good feedback about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort. It is our pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciated very much your nice comment about our reception staff . We keep improving our high services standard and ensure that all our guest will have a delightful stay. Looking forward to your return next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Venus Hotel and Spa
Venus Hotel and Spa
#11 of 167 in Hoi An
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#35 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £25 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing