We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel at a good price”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Mid price hotel only 10-15mins walk (at a leisurely pace) to the old town. Hotel has a beautifully presented front giving the impression it is only a little hotel - walk through the entrance and you'll soon be changing your opinion! A grand staircase leads you up to the rooms which are of a great size with all mod cons and nice little touches to make your stay very pleasant. Past the staircase and out to the rear of the entrance lobby the hotel takes on a whole new persona - gorgeously manicured lawn areas surround the pool, fairy-lit pathways leading you to the spa, restaurant and bar areas and a quaint lily pond.

Food was good in the restaurant - plenty of options at breakfast and a range of international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Not particularly savvy when it came to wine but it is not widely drunk in Vietnam so this can only be expected.

Only other thing to comment on is the hotel recommendation for tailoring - we had clothes made both at the recommended tailor and a smaller place. Whole experience was a lot better at the smaller place (Trangs) - gorgeous clothes, very knowledgeable, lovely lady, and ridiculous value for money ($17 for a beautiful, fully fitted silk top!). It's worth shopping around for the best price - clothes from the recommended place (BeBes) are lovely but 3 times the price and a lot more adjustments needed before fully fitted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Abby M, thank you very much for your entire experiences at out resort recently. We appreciated very much for your valuable and detailed comment overall. As you found out , our resort facade is completely different from the rear with spacious tropical garden extend to the paddy field which is bring full of fresh air and breeze. We are fortunate that we keep the ground charming and peaceful for our guest to relax after a busy day exploring around. Definitely, it creates the relaxation which make your stay more pleasant.

We also would like to express our thankfulness for dining in our restaurant and your suggestion about wine menu, we will absolutely keep improving our wine selection and its serving. Regarding to the tailor recommendation, there are hundreds of option around town, we always give our guest recommendation based on the Tripadvisor review. We will keep yours updated.

Thank you very much again for your constructive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit in the upcoming time.

Yours sincerely,
Huyen/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    235
    62
    21
    7
See reviews for
189
468
76
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Many hotels in Hoi An are overpriced due to the heavy tourism taking over the city, so it was a bit disappointing at first to see such high prices on many hotels. Hence the reason why we chose Phu Thinh, because it offered a decent price and still had good ratings. We didn't really know what to expect, as the price is really quite lower than other hotels, but when we arrived it was lovely and the staff are SUPER friendly and really wanting to make sure you feel at home and that everything is ok with your room. We had told the hotel it was our honeymoon so they also prepared a cute flower arrangement on the bed, along with putting a daily love story out for us to read each night. We were also treated to a complimentary message and then booked the hot stone massage on top of that which was very nice and relaxing. The hotel is not exactly in city center but they hotel has bikes and with the bikes it is not a problem to ride anywhere you want in the city. We enjoyed taking the bikes each day and riding all over- even took nice photos out in the rice fields which are located just behind the hotel. The breakfast is great and you can sit out by the pond for a lovely view while you eat. Would definitely stay longer. **this hotel got bad comments on booking.com complaining about lack of Wifi- but we didn't have a problem with this and were always able to pick up signals.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quite centrally located- don't necessarily need to book a room with pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabian614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Fabian614, many thanks for your fabulous and descriptive feedback. It was nice that you found us "awesome pick with great price". Indeed, it would be a luck for us to obtain this such a high rating review, we really could not expect since you had read a bad review mentioned. We appreciated very much for the wonderful experiences and your description about our staff, in- room amenities and our general facilities. Beside the hotel price and its facilities, service from our staff is always on top of everything, we try all our best to to serve you and make you feel just like being home. Wish you could extend your stay longer; however you have to discover the rest of our country.

Thank you again for great review and your support to us. We hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,
Huyen/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Phu Thinh hotel for New Years. The room was excellent, the staff was friendly, and the New Years dinner celebration was excellent. The staff was helpful in directing where to go. The room surprised us and was a combination of both modern while retaining the colonial feel. The dinner was great, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest, we are so excited to hear from you, moreover we are glad that we could meet your expectation and made your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. We were fortunate to celebrate the New Year Gala for you and our honor to make this event a special occassion during your stay. We also deeply appreciate your praise about our clean room and the caring service from our team. We aim to satisfy our guest, thus we assure to keep up this service level and improve it further.

One again, thank you for your excellent feedback with high rating. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Lovely and authentic small hotel situated in a lovely garden with wonderful swimming pool and sun lounges. A real oasis! Beauty services offered in the classy spa. Very clean and comfortable rooms! Very friendly and helpful staff!
Fantastic location 5 minutes from the ancient town and the countryside and 5 minutes from the beach (you can rent a bike in the hotel!)
Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinethevelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Christinethevelein, thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as your fabulous brief compliments regarding to our hotel amenities and services. We are fortunate to have such a lush and fresh garden that create the relaxation and refreshment to you beside our inviting pool. We are so glad that you found us "A real Oasis" and your entire stay "excellent value for money".

Sincerely, we do appreciate very much your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back to our resort next time.

Wish you all the best and pleasant trip in Viet Nam.

Huyen/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in Hoi An for 3 weeks and were lucky enough to choose Phu Thinh for our stay. The rooms are super comfy and quiet, with all the amenities you could ask for, including a secure safe for storage. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and the rice paddies just beyond, which was lovely. The breakfast is also superb, with great hot and cold buffet. We relied on the daily free water and great fruit plate, which saved us buying snacks through the day. We also took the free Vietnamese language lessons offered at the hotel, which were so well organised by Mr Nguyen and Lee.
But the best thing about this place is the staff. Everyone here is super nice and helpful and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. From the front staff, Care, Thanh, Luon, Chuon, to the chefs at breakfast, to the porters Tuoi and others, we have been very well taken care of. The staff helped me book trains, airport transfers, tours and made great recommendations.
For the free travel agency, food, free bikes, pool, language lessons and overall comfort, this hotel is fantastic value for money. Would love to stay here again, and would recommend this place to anyone visiting Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Angela, it is truly an amazing review, many thanks for your excellent comment on us. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay which made you feel as being home. Our entire team would like to extend our deeply appreciation your great encouragement to us regarding to your listing of our team members. Each of us would love to make our guest feel pleasant and relaxing with their whole stay. We assure to keep up this high level of service and cant wait to welcome you back to your " home away from home''.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel and grounds are really beautiful and make for a great base to explore Hoi An from.

The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable.

The breakfasts were a little disappointing as the "hot food" was cold (a small burner underneath just couldn't keep up with December mornings temperatures) and the staff didn't really do a good job of keeping up, even when it wasn't busy. It wasn't uncommon to find no plates, cutlery, tea, coffee, etc for long periods of time.

We also had some trouble with our room, which was unpleasant to deal with after arriving late at night due to a delayed flight. The hotel staff were good about taking care of it, but it was a little disappointing to have to deal with it before getting to sleep.

We were treated very well overall, though, and would definitely stay here again despite the small issues we encountered.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordos64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for your recent stay and your constructive review on us. We are glad to hear that our property is excellent with its facilities from our room to our beautiful garden; However, we are sad to hear your stay was not perfect due to the late check in that was around 1 am and your unpleasant experience with our breakfast service.

We do apologize for the shortcomings occurred. Your mentioned issues have been discussed among the relevant departments. We truly appreciated your valuable feedback which has given us an opportunity to focus on certain areas to make the necessary improvements.

Our entire team always strives to make our guest having the most comfortable stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the upcoming time and assure to make you next stay a perfect one.

Yours respectfully,

Huyen/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel/Spa is a great find. It is walking distance to the market area and only 4km to the beach. The staff were very friendly and the rooms are very nice. We had a very small balcony with views overlooking a neighbouring house but didn't intend to spend our time in the room so it was adequate. The pool area is great to lounge around with plenty of shade and sun lounges. The restaurant and bar were quiet and cool. This hotel is undergoing a renovation in the near future so it will be interesting to see the new rooms. Would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Karen C,
Many thanks for your entire comment with very nice experiences during your stay with us recently. We are glad to make your stay a pleasant one and we greatly appreciated you had enjoyed most of our facilities and landscaping. We are on our way to improve our quality accommodation for not only our individual guest, but also for family having children. Thus we are planning to complete our family Grand Suite this year.
We do hope to your return, especially with your family and we are eager to show you our new accommodation.
Once again, thank you for fantastic review. Wish you all the best in life and see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#2 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing