We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at he Phu Thinh II for 4 nights and should really have left after the first night. The desk staff are sullen, the breakfast buffet is covered in flies and we had several extremely large cockroaches in our room. The beds and pillows are hard as rocks. Its also in an inconvenient location, always a taxi ride to the old town. I recommend you give this hotel a wide berth and choose something closer to the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel, on first impressions the hotel looked great and it does have some really good features - the porter was lovely and eager to help, there is a swimming pool, an outdoor restaurant, a free internet room and a double sweeping staircase leading to the rooms. Our room was a nice size with a balcony overlooking the pool, unfortunately the bed was pretty hard and the pillows even harder, there were no chairs to allow you to sit on the balcony and when other guests decided to use the pool at 6am you got an early wake up call.
One of the ladies on reception was pretty helpul and showed us the route to town, the beach and pointed out a few good tailors. The website advertises free airport pick up but when we asked about this we were told we did not qualify due to the low price of our room. We took it anyway and paid the fee to save having to haggle at the airport. When we came to pay at the reception on leaving the lady used an exchange rate that was not the one advertised on the desk and then tried to give us too little change. Luckily we hade just made a US$ to Viet Dong to UK Sterling exchange so knew it didn't seem correct and so corrected it ourselves on the calculator. She accepted this was correct but her face never slipped and there was no sign of apology and no word of thanks or goodbye when we checked out. The staff in the resturant were ok but always made you feel as though you had inconvenienced them and there seemed to be a lot of smirking and they were quite abrupt. This is a real shame because this has the potential to be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DewsburyEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Im surprised this hotel is still in business. While theoverall location and facilities of this hotel were fine the room smelt a little dank but even this was pleasant compared to the cold indifferent staff who worked the front desk. We tolerated their poor service because we were out and about in the old town most of the time but would not recommend people stay here. Beautiful city, lousy hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Liesl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Lovely town. Lovely pool, gardens and outlook. Room - OK, not great. Staff - all but one indifferent , unhelpful or positively scowling. I was fuming the first day but halfway through the second day a new girl turned up who was not bad to deal with. I can't work out why hotels employ bad tempered staff. With better staff, it would have been a different stay altogether.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

At first we went there with a group of locals for a very reasonable price. We decided to stay there when the rest of the group left, but when they realized that we were tourists they doubled up the price! How the hell can you change the price during the time your staying at the hotel?! Of course we found that unacceptable and changed to another hotel - Van Loi - a much better hotel!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank Petor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed 3 nights here - we were shown our room and it stank - hadn't been aired in ages - the walls were covered in mould. Asked for a different room - still superior with view of rice fileds - still with mould. Admittedly they recently had a typhoon and the whole town was water damaged - but 5 minutes with a rag and bleach and the mould would have gone. There was no service - the desk people were rude - we were only given free water the first night - then had to provide our own water to clean our teeth. Everytime we went to the pool - which was perfectly fine - we had to track staff down for towels - and no one ever came to offer drinks etc. Breakfast was always covered in flies - the only way was to stand in front of the girls while they cracked open your egg and cooked it! Yes the view out to the rice paddies was lovely - but the hotel was too far away to walk into the old quarter. Overall we had the impression the owner was ripping us off and the staff were so under paid they were lazy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Aurora Riverside Hotel
Aurora Riverside Hotel
#45 of 163 in Hoi An
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £27 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing