We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camellia Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camellia Homestay
Ranked #1 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I cannot find the words to describe how wonderful our stay at Camellia has been. The whole family is so welcoming and friendly. Rooms are nice and absolutely clean. Breakfast is very good and plentiful (with many different options). The location is great between the city and the beach and there are free bicycles for all the guests. We got free pick-up and drop-off at the bus station.
We have been travelling for 10 months and Camelia is definitely a place we will remember.
They love what they do and you really can feel it. We will be back for sure. Thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
161
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been travelling around the world with our three boys for five months and this is the best homestay we stayed in.
It was difficult to leave because we felt so well. The family is absolutely lovely and made us feel at home. They father picked us up at the airport, and the mother was waiting for us with yogurt, fruits and tea, even though it was quite late.
We has planned to stay for 4 nights but finally decided to extend our stay. We had two lovely rooms, clean, and each equiped with TV, fridge and air con.
We could borrow bicycles for free, which was perfect either to go to the beach or drive to the old town.
The family business is ran very well and their generosity was amazing. We really felt at home and when we left, the farewell looked more like very old friends waving goodbye to each other with only one thing in mind, see each other again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leClanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of March and loved it. The family are just so genuinely nice and really seem to enjoy what they do. To emphasis this, we met a fellow Irish traveler at Danang airport who was stranded (mix up with hotel) and had no way to Hoi An. Our driver, the father Chinh took her with us without any problem and dropped her straight to her hotel which was really above and beyond.

The accommodation is a mile or so from the town and is a bit of a walk in the heat but the free bikes are great. You can cycle into town in a matter of minutes and its a nice cycle. They also arranged a cooking course for us and gave us some recommendations on tailor shops and restaurants which was nice and not at all pushy.

The rooms are lovely, bright and airy and there is a lovely outside area with a table where you can sit and read. Also, I have to mention the breakfasts which were fantastic, lots of choice and I highly recommend trying the Vietnamese dishes, some of the best I had on our trip, especially the Cao Lau. Breakfast is also great as you get to meet the other guests around the table and it does feel very homely.

We were sad leaving Hoi An and Camellia Homestay and hope to come back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The room was big and well arranged. The bathroom was also big. The bed was great and comfy and everything was nice and clean. The family was so loving and kind and spent time making sure everything was perfect for us. Was sad to leave but happy to have met them. Highly recommended! !

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flavio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were collected from Da Nang station by one of the family. On arrival tea and bread was produced as we 'must be hungry'. Bags were taken up to the room. A good sized room in a recently constructed house in a residential area. We decided to walk into town (take care, the map is not to scale). We then discovered the charm of Hoi An, new moon night with floating candles and a proliferation of colour. After dining, we walked back in the dark without problem or worry. Our hosts were most concerned as it was too far for us to walk. The room was spacious and clean and well furnished; bathroom was very satisfactory. Breakfast was generous. Our hosts were very kind and considerate and we were very glad to have chosen Camellia and avoided the noise and crowds of downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our stay in Hoi An would not have been the same without Camellia Homestay! We loved using the bikes to explore the town, the family were amazing and helped us figure out what we wanted to do during our stay. The whole family were just amazing and the friendliest people in the whole of Vietnam! The rooms were clean and new and they just made us feel extra special. Anyone would be missing out if they do not stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleighPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Camellia and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! The family were so friendly and wanted to make sure everything was perfect for everyone! The location was great - a nice bike ride to the town centre as well as the Beach. We were taken on a bike ride one morning all around the local countryside, as well as a boat trip, well away from other tourists! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-and-Tristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pham Gia Boutique Homestay Villa
0.9 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Garden Villa
Magnolia Garden Villa
#4 of 244 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbal Tea Homestay
Herbal Tea Homestay
#2 of 244 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red House Homestay
Red House Homestay
#3 of 244 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Homestay

Property: Camellia Homestay
Address: 11 Do Dang Tuyen Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camellia Homestay - home away from home ♥ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Camellia Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing