We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Ancient House Resort was gorgeous. The rooms were very generous sizes and very well appointed. The pool isn't huge but is beautifully landscaped. There was also lots of outside seating around the resort so if you wanted to be outside but not near the pool you could be. Watching the staff make the rice paper in the morning was well worth the early morning rise, as was a walk along the river front. Completely different in the morning to the night. Excellent location with a complimentary shuttle to both the beach and the city - we didn't make it to the beach. Breakfast was also awesome. Loved this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    283
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
138
345
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Tropical setting resort, rooms have four post beds, air con, and balconies. Place arranged tours for us, had arrangements for use of a private beach and the hire of push bikes to ride into town - was brilliant. We stayed for three nights but we could have easily done two weeks.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

There is little to add to the other reviews that have been posted. This is a lovely hotel that is on the outskirts of Hanoi's centre. We loved our room (garden view) that was very quaint and homely. We also enjoyed the pool usually spending a couple of hours in the afternoon after a morning of sight seeing or clothes shopping. I would definitely recommend using the bikes which means you can get in and out of town in 5 minutes or you can enjoy the short cycle ride to the beach. The service is good and they helpfully arranged our taxt for 4am to get our flight from Da Nang. Enjoy your stay and I would certainly return here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

very friendly staff always a cool towel ready for you when you passed reception. This trip we were attending a wedding and did not spend as much time at the Hotel as we would have liked. Good airconditioning good standard Breakfast, Staff went out of their way to assist, I requested a taxi and was promptley ushered to the shuttle bus for a compimentary trip to the wedding reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neville2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Ancient House Resort is an Oasis of calm, halfway between Hoi An ancient town and the beach. A shuttle bus service provides access to both but a taxi can be quickly arranged for less than $2 if the schedule doesn't fit.

They have a beautiful garden and pool area that most rooms have balconies looking out onto. Unfortunately our room's balcony looked out onto an alleyway, otherwise this would have been a 5 star review. You would not realize the city that goes on around you when relaxing by the pool. Rooms are large and are decorated tastefully in a minimalist ancient style. Our room had a large shower and seperate very large tub with window.

Breakfast is much better than average with Pho, Eggs, cereal, pastries and juices but unfortunately the coffee was not vietnamese - a personal gripe of mine that many hotels in Vietnam seem to provide Nescafe as many of their foreign guests perfer this. However Vietnamese coffee (with condensed milk) is available for a charge.

The front desk people are very friendly and helpful as with most places. On our first night we returned to the room to find fresh moon cakes in banana leaves in addition to the regular fresh fruit and water. Not sure if this was a welcome gift or due to the new moon festival but it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the Garden/Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_NYC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Lovely rooms with a "historical" feel. Nice breakfast. Easy walk to town, but there are also several shuttles a day. Pool. I rented a bike and rode to the beach, about 15 minutes' pedaling and lots of fun stuff to see along the way. Pleasant with an exotic feel. I would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rent a bike to go to the beach or to the center of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arashibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in September and just loved it. Service is great, even from refresher towels whenever you arrive to easy access to complimentary bikes which are great for getting around hoi an. Breakfast also offers a wide selection. We are from Australia and loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Njriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#37 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lasenta Boutique Hotel Hoian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#44 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing