We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #71 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Have stayed here twice, has that idellic vietnamess feel. big airey rooms with loads of marble and sutter windows give this hotel a time long ago. gourgeous gardens and lots of shady trees with paved paths make it feel like a litle paradise. There is also a bakery on sight that adds to the charm.helpful staff, and free push bikes and locks were great.

Room Tip: stay to the rear of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    283
    77
    17
    4
See reviews for
138
344
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Located off the busy street but within walking distance of the Old Town,we enjoyed our stay at Ancient House.  We didn't make use of the hotel amenities (except for the free buffet breakfast), but there is a pool table in the common area, and two computers with Internet (and some how they've managed to get facebook on them which was awesome, seeing as Facebook is completely restricted in Vietnam.  The rooms were large, but not as welcoming as I assumed they would be.  There is a big old TV, large bathroom with tub and separate shower and two sinks.  There are mosquito nets around the beds and I would recommend that you use them (my dad didn't and he got eaten alive).  Breakfast was great: a Pho station, omelette station, fresh fruit, cereal, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts, a few hot food items and best of all: fresh baked breads (lovely little croissants, and better yet, fresh baked baguettes that I crave!).  The hotel staff was okay: I arrived in Hoi An by motor bike and when I got there I was given a few bad looks and that kind of set the mood for the next few days of my stay.  Other than that I cant fault Ancient House.  

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fueled_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitpoulot, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear "fueled_up",

Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com.It has been a great pleasure of having you as our distinguished guests at the Ancient House Resort & Spa.We thank you very much that you nearly totally enjoyed the stay even that our quality of service didn't meet your expectation at your time of arrival.We will record it and be sure that we will train our staff the way of looking at guest to avoid the misunderstanding in the future.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in your next trip to Hoi An.
With my best regards & Cam On,

Nguyen Sy Binh/Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel. The staff were wonderful and hapy t help in any way. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I particularly liked the little flower and fruit gifts that were left each day in our room. We made good use of the free bicycles to ride the short distance to the beach and the old town. An easy walk to the restaurants and shops of Hoi An and if you don't feel like walking they provide a free shuttle bus as well. Good breakfasts. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ASk for a garden view room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitpoulot, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear “AusGirl2222”,

Thank you for sharing your kind words about Ancient House Resort. I am so glad that you enjoyed a wonderful experience with us. Your kind comments will be shared to my team members.
We do hope to welcome you back at Ancient House resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nguyen Sy Binh/Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel was basic and functional, the staff were helpful and assisted when asked, trying their best to help out.

Within the rooms, it was very damp, this is due to the climate in Hoi An, however there was a drip onto one of the beds that proved to ‘dampen’ the experience of staying here with a drop of water falling about every 20 minutes onto the pillow. Were this drip in any other place in the room I doubt we would have noticed however it did affect the quality of sleep.

Overview nothing majorly wrong, just a little rough around the edges, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusGirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitpoulot, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear "NorfolkUK086",

Thank you very much for your stay at Ancient House Resort as well as your comment.We are very regret that the weather was not good during your stay at our Resort and apologized for anny unexpected problems caused you in your room.
Be sure, we'll take note of your comments to avoid in the future that it is fixed. We guarantee that your stay must be perfect in your next time to Ancient House Resort.

With my best regards,

Nguyen Sy Binh/Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a hotel that has managed to keep some of its character. The rooms we had were large and comfortable, good bathrooms and well appointed. They had laptops with free wifi for checking mail, and a slight feel otherwise of colonial chic..
Great pool and nice garden, friendly and good value Spa. Bar has snooker table and a nice place to watch the street and life going by. Restaurant open sided with fans, food was fine but better in town, which is only a ten minute drive and the hotel runs a shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool as the oputside rooms look over adjoining properties
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkUK086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We visited hoi an in December with my wife and two children (age 14 & 11). Ancient house was the perfect place for us, great arrangement of rooms, swimming pool and spa, ok restaurant. They have bicycles for guests and the location is ok just outside the old town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milloscampeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were large and comfortable. Large 4 poster bed with mosquito nets.

The pool area was good. Pool was nice, sometimes not enough loungers.

The hotel was just on the outskirts of Hoi An, but only about a 10 minute walk to the centre along one road so very easy to do.

The hotel offered free bike hire which we made use of. It was about a 15 min bike ride to the beach. Again it was just along one road so very easy to do.

The hotel restaurant was a little disappointing. We had lunch here on the first day but found the food was average. There are far better alternatives in town.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#37 of 142 in Hoi An
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Lasenta Boutique Hotel Hoian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#44 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing