We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Such a relaxing hotel! Stayed in a garden room on the 2nd floor, where I could open the double doors & look out. Stayed 3 nights, but wished I would've stayed longer because Hoi An offers a lot to do. I walked everyday to old town which took only about 15 minutes, but the hotel offers a convenient shuttle to old town & to the beach. They have a restaurant & lounge chairs set up on a section of the beach which makes it really convenient. Hoi An itself has so many great restaurants (Morning Glory, Miss Ly, Secret Garden, Cargo for coffee & pastries) so it's a good place to plant yourself awhile. I also used the spa services (run by a spa up the street), which was just really relaxing in the hotel setting. The hotel staff is efficient, the driver was wonderful, really nice pool, & they offer an extensive breakfast buffet. Highly recommend Ancient House.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a garden view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Don't really know cost as came as part of a holiday tour. Room is very spacious. Mattress a bit hard for those who are well covered. Large bathroom toilet area. Pool area is very nice. The feel is more like a serviced apartment than a hotel. Free bike hire to ride to the main town or beach, very pleasant bike ride. The buffet breakfast has a good selection. Staff very friendly and willing to help. There are a couple staff members who speak good English. The only very slight annoyance is that you can't run up a tab for drinks and meals, they like payment at time of service.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room, as some rooms near street can pick up a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We loved the room, the food, the pool and the access to both the beach and the old town. The rooms are very romantic with large king bed, clean duvet, outdoor shower and sitting area. This hotel is located between the beach and the old town. The hotel loans bikes (with baskets and locks) for free which is definitely the way to go. The pool is terrific! Perhaps the best breakfast of our whole stay in Vietnam due to the fabulous fresh fruit selection and lovely open area for tables overlooking the garden. We loved our bike tour of Hoi An and both the street food and restaurants. You would not be sorry to book an extra day or two in Hoi An.

Room Tip: Borrow the bikes, you will see more of the old town by bike. Biking to the beach was GREAT too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisachristine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a garden room on the first floor. We were welcomed and shown to our room. It was large with a small balcony looking onto the garden. It had an en-suite bathroom with shower over the bath and all the rest of the facilities you expect. We had fresh fruit placed in our room daily. The room had a large flat screen TV and two sitting chairs, these were quite upright. The bed was a little firm. The rooms were quiet and arranged along one side of the pool/ancient house. The ancient house was occupied and had an adjacent rice pancake making facility which produced these on a daily basis. The gardens were beautiful with pots containing frangipani, which was in flower, and other tropical plants all well cared for. The staff were all friendly and attentive. We used the laundry facility which was efficient and cheap. We ate breakfasts in the dining room in the main building. There was a good selection of dishes and these were fine for a three star hotel. We also ate one dinner which was served outside near the pool. The food was tasty and they catered for the vegetarian. The choices were large with both Vietnamese and Western dishes. As we left early on the morning we checked out they provided us with a breakfast box which contained a good selection of food plus bottle of water. There was a free shuttle bus into town.

Room Tip: choose one with a garden view it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Third time here and its still great, the rooms, the pool, breakfast and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is a little out of the main town but not far, we walked in and out on both the days we were there, quite an interesting walk past shops, restaurants etc. We requested a taxi from the hotel which worked well, my only criticism is that the taxi driver insisted on stopping at a marble shop and also at his sister's shop in Hoi An. That is something the hotel should try and stop.

Our room was good. Breakfast was a help yourself affair with good choice. We loved Hoi An and hope we can visit the town again and, if we do, we would stay again at this hotel.

The only down side for me was the swimming pool which was fine if you just want to sit around the pool but if you want to swim, it wasn't very big and was a circular swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Located about 20 minutes leisurely walk from the centre of the old town, this hotel is like a little oasis. The rooms are mainly located around the garden area, with ancient house style doors that fully open, so you can be in your room and the garden at the same time. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable, though avoid inspecting the electrics too closely if you are paranoid. Reasonably well insulated from vehicle horns, though you do get random music from neighbouring establishments, though not late at hight.

Shuttle bus makes regular trips to the town and less regularly to the beach, and the driver is flexible for anyone wanting to go other than to the standard drop-off point. Breakfast is above average, though not extensive if you limit yourself to a western breakfast. The layout could be a challenge if you have mobility difficulties as their are steps and no lifts, but the staff will no doubt help anyone who needs it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#40 of 159 in Hoi An
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Hoi An Historic Hotel
#75 of 159 in Hoi An
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#52 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £33 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing