We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #82 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet Hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel is located outside the city center of Hoi An, which is why it is very quiet. The garden is beautiful, the rooms are nice. Staff is friendly, breakfast is good as well. The pool is beautiful as well, even though the water was not warm in August. Only downside: The mattresses look scary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Percy_Gothein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear “Jens W”,
It’s so nice to read from you and thank you very much for your recent stay with Ancient House resort. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed our accommodation and ambiance. For your feedback regarding the mattresses, we thank you very much for let us know .We will take it seriously and update or replace what’s needed to make our client a wonderful and comfortable stay when choosing our Ancient House resort.
Again, thank you for your recent visit and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
We wish you all the best wishes in Berlin!
With warm regards from us all,
Ancient House resort management & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    288
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
141
350
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed one night in this resort in Jul 2014. This is one of my favourite resort in term of architecture.

The resort is inspired by the traditional design of ancient houses in Hoi An with red tiles roofs, bonsais and is decorated with details everywhere in the hotel. My room looks very clean and nice with three main colors: white, grey and timber color. Surrounded by greenness, it provides a fresh atmosphere and peaceful place. Over 10 years, its equipment and infrastructure is still in a very good condition.

Swimming pool is nice, surrounded by a lush garden.

There are free shuttle buses to Cua Dai beach and ancient town. Bicycle is also available.

Breakfast is ok. Prefer the table in the balcony of the restaurant with a nice view to houses and garden.

I love the architecture style of the resort, but dont like the staffs - not very friendly as Ancient House Village staffs (under same management).

In general, it is still a good choice if you love boutique beauty.

Room Tip: Rooms of third floor would offer nice view and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thu Nga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear “nguyenthunga88”,
Thank you very much for choosing our Ancient House resort for your recent stay in Hoi An. We are trilled to read that you consider our resort as your favorite and that you enjoyed very much our lush surroundings as well as facilities and services.
We always aim for an excellent and friendly service and We feel so regretful that you found our staff were not really friendly .We’ll work more on this and wish to welcome you back soon with a perfect service.
We wish you a wonderful Autumn with your friends and family in Ha Noi !
With warm regards from us all,
Ancient House resort management & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encounter Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 days and had mixed feelings on our overall experience. The management were very accommodating, giving us an upgrade after the first night, as we found our ground floor room small and basic . Our first floor upgrade was beautiful, so, very happy there for next 7 days. The breakfast buffet was not the best, with runny butter and yogurt and less choice than usual
. Then we had to carry our food up another flight of stairs to the dining area which was very warm. The grounds and pool are very pretty but the pool furniture is so old, all the sun beds need replacing as they are quite rotten and 'dodgy'. The pool was never adequately filtered and a poor colour. One day we were told it was unusable. We were offered free transfer to their sister hotel, The Ancient House River Resort, to use their pool. The resort, further from the city, is much more modern and the pool beautiful. Our hotel, on Cua Dai Road has plenty of good little restaurants nearby, is only a short ride from the city and the staff are pleasant and helpful. But it is run-down, the decking and balustrades are rotting and we felt that it is in need of a major overhaul, which is a shame because the location is brilliant.

Room Tip: First floor appear to be bigger and better. Recommend you check out your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear "Gill G",
Thank you very much for your recent long stay with us as well as your comments about us on the Tripavisor. I’m delighted that you were happy with your upgrade room for your next 7 days and that you found our location is brilliant.
I’m sorry that our breakfast buffet did not meet your expectation. I’ll work with my F&B manager about what you mentioned to improve our services.
I also thank you for your comment about the fixtures and decking around the pool.We had already a plan of updating and replacing in next week and be sure that everything at the pool should be safety, new and lovely!
All the team are looking forward to welcome you back soon with perfect service at Ancient House resort!
All the best wishes for you and your family in Encounter Bay!
The Management & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Ancient House Resort on a recent tour of Hoi An, conveniently located, very clean & comfortable with friendly & helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus, shops & restaurants in close proximity, the pool was great, breakfast had something for everyone, overall a very enjoyable experience & would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which we liked with only a few stairs to get to the hotel foyer &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear “Marilyn V”,
Thank you very much for taking time to post a great review about your recent stay at Ancient House resort. We’re so delighted to know that you very enjoyed your stay with us and more than happy that you would highly recommend our Ancient House to your friends and family.
We’re proud to share your sentiments with the rest of team, as this will inspire them to delight even more guests in future. We do hope you will be one of them once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Ancient House soon.
All the best for you & family in Australia!
Management & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We found this hotel to be pretty quiet and relatively clean. The rooms are on the large size and ours had the biggest stone bath ever seen!
Staff were pretty good as was breakfast. The pool was great and certainly a welcome relief from the heat (depending on when you go, this might not matter to you).
We got free bikes from the hotel to explore the town and surrounds but found the staff were a bit pedantic about when we could take and return the bikes. Maybe they had trouble before?
Overall a good place to stay.
Hoi An is known for tailors and shoemakers. Just think carefully before you get carried away! Shoes were not really good quality and as for the clothes, you can get just the same at Target, with a right of return if not satisfactory!

Room Tip: All much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannupright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear “maryannupright”,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a good review about your stay during the September of 2013.I’m delighted to read that you found out our Ancient House was a good place to stay and happy to learn that you enjoyed our clean spacious room, lovely great pool as well as pretty good staff.
It was a shame that you found our staff a bit pedantic when guiding you how to ride a bike in safety and easy way. I’ll pass your feedback to my team and believe that they will learn a lot from your constructive comment.
All the team are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Ancient House resort.
All the best for you & family in Australia!
Management and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is the 4th hotel during my travel in Vietnam.

Good things: nice space in rooms. Very efficient air con. Free shuttle to nice private beach and into town. Free fruit in room everyday (the green bananas are ripe and delicious). Cool towel every time you arrive back. Good breakfast options.

Bad things: there were just too many flaws. The fridge in our room didn't work. There were mouse droppings all over the balcony and some in the room. I encountered a cockeroach the size of my thumb one night. The ceiling dropped water onto the bed when the air con was on high (condensation). The sheets and towels in the room, beach and pool were all tatty and a bit stained. the general cleanliness wasn't great.

We had a wonderful time in Hoi An. We had an ok stay in the hotel. But I can't not mention the things above as they did impact on our trip and mar our stay somewhat.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prudence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear “Prudence W”,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with Ancient House resort and we very much appreciate your feedback.
I’m glad that to read that you found our room was nice and that you enjoyed our private beach as well as our daily turn-down service.
I’m a little bit disappointed that we appear not to have met all of your expectations due some issues during your stay with us. We are very concerned about your feedback of cleanliness. We’re investigating and updating what you mentioned, this is not our usual standard.
We are sorry to learn that you will not be back. Give us a chance to show you the way we will improve our service.
Wish you and your family all the best in London!
With best regards,

Management and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our tour agent booked for us this hotel. We were not disappointed! It was far from the market but the hotel has free shuttle and bike, which is a plus. The room was clean, spacious, updated and the bed was very comfortable. It had his and her sink, fresh fruits daily in our room, flower was left on the bed for us each day. The staffs are very friendly and courteous. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1316Carlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear “1316Carlin”,
We thank you for choosing the Ancient House resort for your last stay in June and it was great to hear your nice comments about our property and services.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed our clean and spacious room as well as our “Turn-down” service. Our friendly and courteous staff will be much encouraged by your very kind words and so happy to learn that they will have chance to welcome you back soon. You are always warmest welcome.
Wish you and your family all the best in California!
With our best regards,
Management and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Hoi An Historic Hotel
#72 of 156 in Hoi An
1,663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#51 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing