We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #82 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2009

This place is great! Really good set up, with attentive and friendly staff and reasonable prices and great food at the restaurant! The rooms are large and airy with good sized bathrooms and comfortable beds. It's a wee bit out of the center of Hoi an, but there are scooters for hire directly next door for very reasonable prices, and it takes hardly any time to get into town via scooter.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartron3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2009

We chose the Ancient House resort on a whim after getting a good rate on lastminute.com, and were not disappointed.
The layout of the resort is really cool with lots of garden surroundings. Rooms were clean, light, airy and had nice big bathrooms.
The staff were attentive and friendly - and each day by about 11am they had set up a cocktail bar by the pool so we didn't have to leave our lounge chairs to get a drink! Also on one of the nights they'd set up dining tables by the pool which was romantic and relaxing.
Only gripe was the noise - waking up to roosters crowing in the middle of the night was not ideal. It wasn't just daybreak it was all the time. I always travel with earplugs so would recommend doing the same if you are a light sleeper. Also there always seemed to be some sort of maintenance going on but I'm sure the staff were being as considerate as possible when getting this done.
Hoi An is a beautiful little town and 3 days was definitely not enough time there, especially as one of the days was spent getting clothes tailored - it didn't leave us enough time for site seeing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunkachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We stayed a couple of weeks after Typhoon Ketsana and you could barely tell if anything had happened there, it was all back to normal. The room was fabulous with a massive four poster bed, huge walk in shower, lovely stone feature bath, in room laptop with wifi and it was really good value as well. The pool was lovely, the gardens were delightful, the staff were friendly and helpful. They provide regular free mini buses to town and the beach (both are close). We ended up using the free bikes quite often and it was a quick 5 minute ride into town, it was great fun. Cold towels always awaited your return to the hotel.
The only negative thing about the hotel was the breakfast. It was rather poor. Even the coffee was horrible! But for what you pay, you can always get something nice and cheap from one of the many nice restaurants instead and it certainly wouldn't stop me going back to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinytate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Unfortunately we stayed only one night as part of a private tour through Vietnam. The nicest hotel rooms of our journey. Interesting design has the feel of a resort more than a hotel, which it really is. Lovely grounds, nice restaurant and helpful staff. Our family of four (two teenagers) shared a lovely suite, whereas we normally had to book two rooms in Vietnam. The other traveler with us had a very spacious room. There was a small, attractive swimming pool that, like many in Vietnam, was too warm to be truly refreshing. Hoi An is a place we intend to return to, and we will definitely book again at the Ancient House.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lomerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights in the same room as the people that were troubled by the rooster. It was a suite with two rooms and backed onto the "residential area"? that they talk about. I can't remember seeing LOADS of chickens & roosters - a few maybe... and they never woke us up or kept us from sleeping. We stayed at this hotel when Typhoon Ketsana came and the staff at the hotel were brilliant. On the morning of the typhoon, one of the staff ran to our room with breakfast for all as it was too dangerous to go outside. When my family and I arrived at the hotel, we were practically jumping on the beds because we found it so nice & very comfortable. "A most enjoyable stay" - the gardens were also beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone .... except maybe those who want to stay in a five star resort ....

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank macs_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed with friends at the Ancient House and found it to be a great place to unwind after the hustle of shopping in Hoi An. The swimming pool was excellent and the staff were friendly without being in your face. The rooms were beautiful and each one a little different, the four poster bed with mosquito canapy were comfortable and clean. Servicing of the rooms was a bit hit and miss but overall the resort offered good value for money. We especially enjoyed the offer of a chilled, clean facewasher everytime you walked in to the reception area, great on steamy days

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We booked this hotel only a few days prior to our arrival, as our originally booked hotel, Life Resort, had shut down a few days earlier due to significant damage caused by the typhoon that hit on 29 September. We arrived at Ancient House at 9 p.m. It was dark. We could not see the location well and were unfamiliar with Hoi An. Check in was not overly positive, as the staff seemed distant and not very welcoming.

We were booked in one of the hotel’s 2 suites for a four-night stay, but checked out the next morning. The suite was a 2 room-suite, with a living room furnished with a coffee table and 4 chairs, a sparsely furnished bedroom with an older model TV, 2 toilet rooms and 4 sinks located at two different counters. There was a separate shower from the large tub.

We actually would have been fine in the suite and its appointments, except that at 2 a.m. a rooster started crowing right outside our bedroom window and it continued non-stop until 7 a.m. Every time the rooster crowed another rooster located on the other side of the hotel responded. At 4 a.m. I went outside with a flashlight (torch) and discovered that the entrance to our room backed to a residential area where most of the neighbors had chickens, roosters or other animals in their back yards. “Our rooster” actually turned out to be 3 different roosters that never stopped crowing.

I grew up in the country in farmland so roosters are not foreign to me, but this was ridiculous. We had been awake all night and did not relish the idea of 3 more nights of no sleep. We had used a tour company to book the hotel and thus we contacted the company, whose representative immediately contacted the manager. Our room had required a 4 night pre-payment but the management did refund the remaining 3 nights when we, along with the tour company, verbalized how unhappy we were with the situation.

The air conditioner in the room cycled on and off during the night, rather than staying on all night, thus the sound of the air conditioner re-starting was also disruptive through the night (but not as much as the rooster.)

My husband really hated the mattress at this hotel, which was only a piece of foam on a wooden frame. I don’t mind a hard mattress and we had similar mattresses at our prior 3 and 4 star hotels in Vietnam (not at the 5 star hotels though) so it didn’t bother me as much.

We had desired to stay in town. Once we left Ancient House, to search for another hotel, we discovered Ancient House was not in a good location for us, as it was about 2 km from town and 2 km from the sea. We really wanted to be in walking distance of town, so this reinforced our decision to change hotels.

We did have breakfast here and found it to be fairly good. The service at breakfast was good and quite friendly. The pool was of moderate size but seemed pretty comfortable.

All in all, I’d say for a 3 star hotel this isn’t bad, if you don’t mind being away from town and away from the sea and the constant rooster crowing would not be a problem for you. The rooms were clean, the breakfast area was clean and the staff, other than the reception staff on arrival, were all pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#40 of 159 in Hoi An
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Hoi An Historic Hotel
#73 of 159 in Hoi An
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#51 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £33 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing