We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in the superior room which was spacious, tastefully decorated and equipped with al moderns conveniences. It also has a small garden. The swimming pool is lovely and the whole complex is situated in a rural setting just outside the main town. Staff are extremely friendly and the food was good. There is a convenient free mini-bus service to the city and the beach. One small word of advice to anyone p,an ing to use those free bicycle service: make sue you can find your way Bach, because it is not ver well signposted and the locals do not yet know its precise locations and rarely speak enough English to explain where to go.

Room Tip: The upgrade from a pool room is worth considering
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArtyGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I checked into this resort during our time in Hoi An and were pleasantly impressed by the quality of the rooms and its staff. We were warmly greeted by An from reservations who was so helpful in accommodating our needs. The entire staff has been so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast has been amazing which serves a wide variety of traditional Vietnamese dishes as well as western styled plates. Though the resort is located some ways outside of town, a quick 10 minute bike (free rentals at the hotel) ride however is the perfect way to start and end your day after numerous meals in and around town.

Nevertheless, with any resort that's been opened for just 4 months, there are minor issues to smooth out such as Mosquitos problems, inconsistent water pressure etc. Staff seems eager and willing to improve which is great. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Ancient House and would absolutely recommended to family and friends!

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank Lidaliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Located in the most beautiful surroundings imaginable lays the Ancient Village. Note that the TripAdvisor map coordinates are wrong, it takes you to the Ancient House RIVER village a couple of kilometers down the rice paddies.

The elegantly furnished rooms are mind-blowing beautiful with their simple, natural materials such as marble and wood. WIFI signal is good all over the place, and the swimming pool, which blends in perfectly with its magical surroundings, looks very inviting.

Unfortunately, the faucets in my room were leaking so badly, maintenance staff had to come in at 10PM to fix it. The next day, the bath drain leaked badly too, which I sadly only found out once I slipped down the wet steps and landed butt-down in a pool of water. I called the reception, and it took a few tries to get the urgency of the situation across. The guy who showed up, stood barefoot in the pool of water and declared there was 'no problem'.

And that is pretty exemplary for the staff issue. The hotel boasts they are well-trained, and as one expects when that claim is repeated constantly, they're not. They don't understand simple requests for shower gel (which was lacking every day), can't direct you to the bar, will claim Irish Coffee is 'sold out' and, no matter how many smiles they throw into it, leave one with the distinct feeling that they are not up to their task at all. Getting them to act is practically a full time job, not exactly what one is looking for in a vacation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
6  Thank JoelAndoetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked this room for one night before moving onto the Nam Hai for Christmas. Perhaps we made a mistake not booking it for the whole week! Within 30 min of booking this room online, the hotel returned my email requesting a shuttle pick up from Danang. The shuttle was on time and friendly. The reception staff were pleasant, professional, and efficient. They greeted us with ginger tea, tips for Hoi An and then escorted us to our room. The Garden View room is luxurious with granite, marble, two toilets, deep bathtub, shower, laptop, two t.v.s, modern finishes, an outdoor shower, sitting room and access to the swimming pool, bar and restaurant. Book it now before everyone finds out about this place and the rates go up!!! The attention to detail is tremendous and the comfort is exceptional. First impressions...exceedingly satisfied!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nannibears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

There are several accommodations in Hoi An bearing the "Ancient House" name. The Ancient House Village Resort and Spa was brand spanking new when we stayed there in mid-November, 2014. We only rate this luxurious resort with well-appointed rooms and sound service as average. Here's why:
Design: The AHVR&S appears to have been designed by an architect who's never designed a hotel before. The resort layout was awkward, with meandering, inconvenient paths through the property. I never did get accustomed to the long hike from the lobby back to the main part of the resort where the rooms are. Getting to the restaurant and lounge reuires a hike up a steep stairway, and back down another to get to the pool. And the lobby is another hike up a big stairway, which was tough to negotiate for the busloads of burly German tourists. And while the pool area bathrooms are right next to the pool, getting to them requires another hike up and down steps. Bad Fund Shui.
Rooms: What can you say about a room with a spacious foyer graced by -- a big stone bathtub, a shower and a sink and toilet? And a 1-inch drop in floor elevation in the toilet area (separated only by a curtain) that seems designed to send you tumbling head-first to the floor in the middle of the night? It's 3 steps down from the foyer/bath area to the bedroom area which was lovely, but again, the entire layout was awkward. And what luxury resort overlooks towel racks? And we had to ask twice for towels.
Details: The double door entry was narrow (if you used just one door) and operating the heavy brass lock was a chore. The spacious deck off the ground-floor bedroom overlooked a narrow, landscaped path with more foot traffic than I care to have right outside my door. And what restaurant doesn't know that when guests come down for breakfast, they need coffee or tea. Now, not in 20 minutes?

The service was generally good, with a helpful staff. And little amenities like several bicycles you can jump on for a ride around the village are nice. The AHVR&S is beautiful and luxurious, but needs to work our some kinks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were some of the first guests to stay at the resort and it was certainly one of the best hotels I've stayed at in Vietnam. The rooms (we were upgraded to the villa rooms) were gorgeous and the restaurant food was great. Some of the group hardly left the hotel as it was just so peaceful and the staff so helpful that it was a shame to go in to the hustle and bustle of Hoi An town.

Its a little out of the way for those wanting to be close to town and shopping - but the free shuttle service was fantastic and accommodated our requests to pick us up and drop us off in town. Make sure if you don't get the shuttle bus back and opt for a local taxi that you make it clear that this is the new Ancient House "Village: resort or they may take you to the other hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank indochinaoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed three nights at this new Hoi An resort. It was everything we wanted and more. We were part of a large "study group". The staff of the resort could not have been more helpful to make our stay comfortable and easy. Mr Tien, Front of House Manager, had everything perfectly organised for us.
We loved the natural setting about 3kms out of town. While a little remote, it was exactly what we needed. Access to the town was easy - free bikes and a very flexible shuttle service are available.
The facilities were fist rate- large rooms with showers and baths, huge pool with lots lounges, recreation room etc. Breakfasts were delicious with great views over the rice paddies.
We'll return - soon we hope!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#20 of 159 in Hoi An
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa

Address: Tong Van Suong Street, Thanh Dong Hamlet, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is the ideal base for exploring the Hoi An area, and especially the lifestyles of the Hoi An people. You will discover the simpleness and truthfulness that is in the hearts of local residents. This small historic town remains firmly anchored in the past, and proudly preserves its antique wooden buildings and quaint streets fronting onto a peaceful river scene. Hoi An people possess a graceful smile. Such a smile will balance all of your emotions, thus more and more visitors love to stay for some more days to be truly alive in Hoi An's lifestyle. Some friends that we know have lived here in the local community for tens of years. History has been viewed as having a nourishing effect on people's spiritual lives; therefore, there is no doubt that 'staying for some more days' has become a nice saying we often hear from visitors. The reasons were bowls of Quang noodles and 'Cao Lau'. Wide 'non la'. Paddy fields. Lines of coconuts. White stork families. Or is it because of local youngsters' bright white teeth? Or the blackened ones of aged ladies and gentlemen who have devoted their lives to their fatherland? In the murmuring songs here and there, there is the creaking sound of the hammock and the rhythmic chanting of the paddy seeds. It can also be the magic of the storks every afternoon, fluttering in the air and then landing onto slender coconut leaves like perching pieces of transparent silk on the line between heaven and earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing