We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm, helpful and warm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Calm, helpful and warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

There are several Ancient House hotels, don't get confused! This one is a bike ride to the beach and a shuttle bus journey to the town centre. Its slightly remote setting is actual a blessing as it's quiet and peaceful, there are two very friendly shops by the entrance who can cater for laundry needs or snacks so no need to always use the hotel services. The room was lovely and a short stroll to the pool, the bar and the restaurant. The staff are incredibly helpful, always offering you cold face towels and free fruit juice at reception as well as arranging free bike hire at any time. The wifi isn't great in the rooms and the restaurant isn't cheap but all in all this is a lovely hotel and a really enjoyable place to stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon dear MARCDENNY,

Thank you for your beautiful review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. In our system we have three properties, all named with 'Ancient House' to signify our brand. I have noticed that you enjoyed the room, pool, bar, and restaurant. Also, we understood that Reception and Ground staff performed really well, especially in offering cold towels, fruit juice, and free bike hire. I also passed the request for a maintenance work into the wifi in your room and the surrounding area. I will make sure that this must be improved shortly and promptly.

Next time you visit Hoi An, it will be our pleasure to arrange the best stay for you. Simply drop us an email, and we will try our best on our end.

With warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    151
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
158
388
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have recently returned from a stay here for a few nights. The rooms were delightful, we were upgraded which was lovely. The staff were always helpful, friendly and polite. The food was good. I loved the swimming pool, very warm with relaxing calm views. The free shuttle service into Hoi An was great. I loved cycling the 15 minutes to the beach (free bikes), and what a wonderful beach, lots of space, free sun loungers and clear sea, great cafes offering beach side service. I could have stayed here longer and explored the area more. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon dear Ms. JULIA E,

This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Thank you for your decision to stay with us at the Village during your special trip to Viet Nam. We appreciate your compliments for the room interior, staff performance, food, pool service, as well as the complimentary use of bicycles. We are also happy that you love our private beach with sun loungers.

When you return to Viet Nam, we will be happy to arrange accommodation and leisure for you. It is our privilege to be your destination in the country.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great food! Gracious staff. We are travelling with a 1 year old and they have been so accommodating.

This place is new so upgrades are plentiful. Rooms are beautifully appointed. We have a little garden with outside shower.

Restaurant, pool etc. are great. Hotel overlooks the rice farmers and water buffalo - the essence of Hoi An.

Resort is in the village, not near the ancient town or beach. Approx AU$3 cab fare or free bicycles or free shuttle buses.

English is not great but staff try very hard and want to help. They have even stayed in our room while our son is asleep so we can swim/dine.

Restaurant prices are around double street food prices but food is top notch, especially the included breakfast.

Overall... Super great! Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good day from Management and Staff of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa,

Dear RUTH H,

Thank you for taking your time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay with your fabulous family at the Village. We remember well the baby, and staff still talk about those special days.

To provide the best accommodation for guests, we have tried different measures, and we are happy to know you enjoyed the upgrades, room amenities, restaurant, pool, as well as our complimentary use of bicycles and shuttle buses.

We have noticed that you stressed that our staff's English could be greatly improved, and that food in the our Field Restaurant is of high quality, especially the luxurious breakfast buffet.

We will be even happier if we have an opportunity to arrange the best stay for your next visit to Hoi An. Allow us to do so by simply sending us an email of your travel time. Our pleasure to see you again!

With warm wishes as always,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights at this beautiful resort, to start with we were upgraded to a Villa which was just amazing, the grounds are beautiful, a very relaxing place. You can sit and relax by the pool and there is no noise around. Just be careful when you get pool side service they charge you 5% service fee each time, which is not a great deal but when you get served a few times during the course of a week it adds up. This is something we were not aware of and we should have read the room service charges that we signed more thoroughly. The staff are all so lovely, some of them lacking in English skills but you get past that with how polite and kind they all are. Breakfast was lovely in the mornings, the lovely staff would chat to you and see how everything was going and if we needed anything. my only issue would have been the hardness of the mattress, it takes time to get used to as it is very firm. If the mattresses were slightly softer it would have been much more comfortable. Would highly recommend this place and would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Villa Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Good morning dear KAREN K,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Having the opportunity to serve you well is our aim and privilege, as we understand well the importance of your trip to Hoi An, and we would like to organize the best stay for you - the room upgrade is often done upon room availability.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the pool, the breakfast buffet, and the lovely staff serving you in a friendly and courteous manner. At the same time, I have noticed that you inquired about the 5% service charge, the limited English of staff, and the hardness of the mattress. The 5% service charge together with the 10% VAT are often deducted from the list price, but will be added as we settle the payment. This is by law accurate, yet upon your ideas, we have thought of building up a flexible discount program, especially for long-stay guests like you. Actually we noticed that you did enjoy the happy hour by the pool almost every day enjoy your drink in our discount time, which is so much lovely. However, we agree that we should have done more than than.

Staff are learning more English, and the mattress can be softened as long as we receive requests from guests. Therefore, do not hesitate to communicate your ideas to any of our staff. We will be happy to serve.

We wish you all the best and look forward to receiving your next reservation. Drop us an email and we will try our best on our end.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I'm actually sad to leave this place, everything was great! Excellent service, we got an upgrade from the cheapest room to a stunning villa. I have no negative things to say, it might be a little far from town, but they offer convenient and free shuttle bus services.

The icing on the cake was that they found out (by looking in my passport, I guess) that it was my birthday, so I came back from dinner with my girlfriend and I had flowers and a cake (with my name on it) waiting for us in the room! That was so nice :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank juliencampeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Good afternoon dear JULIENCAMPEAU,

This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Thank you so much for your fabulous review about your recent stay at our Village. We were happy to offer complimentary room upgrade to every guest in case the room availability allows us to do so. It was beyond our expectation that you decided to stay with us during your special day of the year together with your girlfriend, which is our privilege.

Having stressed on the attention to detail, we have built up a team of enthusiastic staff who always wish to provide the best service. I will pass your words to Reception and Housekeeping staff, who have wonderfully performed the care to you during your special days.

We wish you a great day with plenty of joy and energy. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort next time you visit Viet Nam.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is the most beautiful, relaxing resort. We stayed in a villa with the most amazing views over the rice fields with the water buffalo grazing. Huge room, with fresh fruit provided every day.

Shuttle coach and the push bikes were handy to get out from the resort. Hoi An is a lovely place.
There are a couple of shops at the entrance to the resort, which we used to purchase drink and get some laundry done. We can also recommend using the hotel for the airport transfers.

It was my husband's birthday the day we arrived. We never said anything, but they realised from the passport and sent a bottle of wine to the room, which was a nice touch.

The only negative was that there was nowhere to hang swimming stuff to dry out. Unfortunately I used the chair on the balcony and got wood stain onto my white swimming costume, which won't come out. Found that clothes dried out when placed on the side of the bath due to the air con, so recommend doing that.

In summary if you are looking for some tranquility, stay here.

Room Tip: V8 was our villa, it had views over the paddy fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CambridgeTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Good morning dear CAMBRIDGETERI,

This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. On behalf of the Board of Management and staff, I would like to express my impression and appreciation while reading your review.

We are happy to know you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle and push bike service, the airport transfer, the surroundings, and beyond all the attentiveness in offering the birthday treatment for your husband. I am personally happy to know that you found my staff helpful and nice.

I also noticed that you would prefer something to hang your swimming suits on, and I feel really sorry that the wood stain remained on your white costume. We have cloth hangers available from Housekeeping service; therefore, you will just need to inform Reception about your request - and we will be happy to serve.

Next time you visit Hoi An, please allow us to arrange the best stay for you. Won't it be the next birthday of your husband - which would be more than fantastic.

With warm wishes as always,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I am sad to say I am leaving this wonderful resort today. I stayed here together with 3 other friends and we each loved it.
We arrived to the most beautiful little resort tucked away in rice paddies.
Happy hour was 11am - 3pm (approx $ 6 for 2 cocktails ) and had us happily lounging by the pool for the rest of the day.
We ordered lunch and it was the best food we had had since arriving in Vietnam.
The hotels cooking class and tour was 5 star, clean and professional.We even got a certificate with photos when we finished. Khanh our guide and restaurant manager spoke great English and was the nicest person. All the staff are professional and friendly always with a smile.
We could easily ride a bike into town or to the private beach. We loved it here.

Room Tip: TIP - ask for a room with a door on toilet ( we had a shower curtain in one room and at times could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shae111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Good morning dear Ms. SHAE111 and friends,

This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. What a privilege that we became your favourite destination when visiting Viet Nam, and that you enjoyed the stay. I have noticed that you were happy with the happy hour for drink and food at the pool, the cooking class, the complimentary use of bicycles, and our private beach.

Beyond all, I also see that you enjoyed the service performed by Mr. Khanh the gentle Food and Beverage Manager while spending your cooking class and tour with him. Our staff also feel motivated to read your review, as they know you were happy.

At the moments we are attach the glass door for all standing showers and restrooms, making sure guests feel more privacy, especially when travelling with friends.

Next time you visit Viet Nam, please allow us an opportunity to set up a nice accommodation and service for you. I strongly believe that with your support and compliments, staff are performing even better.

With warm wishes as always,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#17 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Address: Tong Van Suong Street, Thanh Dong Hamlet, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is the ideal base for exploring the Hoi An area, and especially the lifestyles of the Hoi An people. You will discover the simpleness and truthfulness that is in the hearts of local residents. This small historic town remains firmly anchored in the past, and proudly preserves its antique wooden buildings and quaint streets fronting onto a peaceful river scene. Hoi An people possess a graceful smile. Such a smile will balance all of your emotions, thus more and more visitors love to stay for some more days to be truly alive in Hoi An's lifestyle. Some friends that we know have lived here in the local community for tens of years. History has been viewed as having a nourishing effect on people's spiritual lives; therefore, there is no doubt that 'staying for some more days' has become a nice saying we often hear from visitors. The reasons were bowls of Quang noodles and 'Cao Lau'. Wide 'non la'. Paddy fields. Lines of coconuts. White stork families. Or is it because of local youngsters' bright white teeth? Or the blackened ones of aged ladies and gentlemen who have devoted their lives to their fatherland? In the murmuring songs here and there, there is the creaking sound of the hammock and the rhythmic chanting of the paddy seeds. It can also be the magic of the storks every afternoon, fluttering in the air and then landing onto slender coconut leaves like perching pieces of transparent silk on the line between heaven and earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing