We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #39 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great value”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. The price compared to something similar at home was staggeringly low but it's not for budget travelers
Hotel provides bikes which you can cycle to town or to the private section of beach, 10-15 minute cycle. Beds provided

Rooms are very well decorated and we had a cake left in our room as they knew we were there for an occasion which was a nice touch

Bit out from town but taxis aren't expensive
Nice place to relax

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Langerdan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good morning dear LANGERDAN007,

Thank you very much for writing us a lovely review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. We were very happy to welcome you and your partner to our Village, understanding that the trip was very important to you.

Thank you for your compliments to our shuttle service, private beach, as well as the room interior and design. It was a pleasure to be a nice place to relax for you, and we wish to do even better.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Viet Nam. Of course if you are coming back on the anniversary date, we will make it to provide the best treatment to you and your partner.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    178
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
212
467
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First stay in Hoi An after a while, decided to choose this hotel based on the great reviews they'd got so far. The room was good at first sight, huge with great decoration. Yet, to my horror, there was a connecting door between my room and the one next door so basically you would pretty much get all the considerable noise from there. I booked a deluxe to come with a lovely 'private' garden. Still, everyone could get access to there, not only me, from the gardeners to the housekeeping staff and last but not least, the people who stayed next door. Did expect a quite and personal vacation but all i got was those unexpected guests and noises. Tried the breakfast buffet but it was awful, as well as the over-priced Field restaurant. The wifi was super slow and the laptop with cable access was not any better either.The only good thing about this hotel might be the staff, friendly and well-informed.

Room Tip: Never choose the garden view deluxe, either pay less for the superior or get the villa so you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sweetn0thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good morning dear Mr BƠ B,

This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay at our Village during your February trip to Viet Nam. It has been a long time since your stay, yet your contribution is working well, so that we could enhance our service.

From your sharing, we understand that housekeeping and garden staff should work on a better plan during the week, respecting guests' privacy if they do not need any room or garden cleaning. The breakfast buffet is much more different now, meaning that we have added more varieties, and the attention to detail is strongly appreciated and practised. We have also installed three different wifi signal posts, being sure that there should be no corruption during the day.

Beyond all, we notice that you gave high compliments to staff service, and that they performed a friendly and attentive care during your stay. As a new property at the time you visited, we very much focused on staff training, thus we are happy to know you enjoyed it.

After half a year, we are confident about our service. If you are planning to return to Hoi An, allow us an opportunity to serve you again. We are open to ideas, and Reception will be more than happy to note down any of your requests or sharing, making sure things are fixed the way you want and we can.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Village. Autumn is the best season, and the weather is very nice at the moment - you will love it.

With warm wishes as always, and thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

One of the most peaceful and relaxing hotels we've ever stayed in. Location is perfect (easy bike ride to old town and to beach and the free-to-use hotel bikes are brilliant). Beautiful rooms, pool, spa and setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Add good food, free shuttles to beach and town and great recommendations for tours and tailoring and you'll see why we will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good morning dear Mr. BRETT T,

This is Viet Tien from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. We surely remember well the days you and the lovely family spent at the Village, and we are even more happy to read your wonderful lines about your stay.

Thank you for your compliments to the complimentary push bike use, good food, shuttle service to the Ancient Town and our private beach, as well as our help desk service. Beyond all, we are happy to know you enjoyed our staff performing a friendly and helpful service. Providing guests a home away home time is our top priority, thus listening is a must to us. We appreciate your ideas about how we could upscale our brand and quality, and we promise to do so.

Definitely we will arrange the best stay for you when you are back. You have our email address - simply email us, and we will work on your plan, right away!

With warm wishes from management and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect with this hotel but we were very pleasantly surprised. Lovely place and genuinely beautiful. Service was good, pool and facilitates excellent. Breakfast a little disappointing but not awful. The hotel has bikes and private beach access and a regular shuttle service to the town centre. They have Yoga classes and other activities which is great but the rooms are really good and the comfort level excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel as a boutique beauty.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank duncjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good morning dear DUNCJWOOD,

BIG thank you to you and your wife for passing your days at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office, and I am more than happy to know that our service and accommodation was beyond your expectation. To provide a completely serene and peaceful stay to guests, we have developed different selections of activities, like you mentioned, such as pool service, Gentle Yoga class, and spa treatments. You can also enjoy the package varieties with a combination of all of these.

We are also looking into our breakfast buffet, which should be improved in terms of its variety and quality. Be advised that we are always listening to ideas to upgrade our service.

Above all, seeing that you enjoy our Pool View Deluxe gives us even more motivation to provide a better service, in accordance with such a lovely accommodation. Next time you visit Hoi An, simply drop us an email with your requests, and we will arrange the best for you from our end.

We wish you a nice day with more joy and energy. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, beautiful room with lovely high ceiling & bathroom area, really good size. Staff were very welcoming & helpful at all times.

The downside was our taxi driver from Da Nang not being able to find the hotel so we went about 20 mins out of our way while he asked 10 different people - the address didn't really help.

The shuttle into town is great, very quick & easy, a couple of times we caught a cab back - quick & cheap.

Lovely area by the pool to relax, overlooking the rice paddies. Breakfast was good too.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a top floor room - great space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VS69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good morning dear VS69_11,

What a privilege that we had an opportunity to offer accommodation and service to you and friends during your unforgettable time to Viet Nam. Seeing that you enjoyed the room upgrade to our top floor category really makes us happy. Thank you also for your compliments to our complimentary shuttle service, pool service, and beyond all our staff performance.

Besides, we also recognize that there was certain difficulties in finding the way from Da Nang to our property. Next time you come, simply ask the driver to call into Reception, and we will be happy to give directions in both Vietnamese and English, as drivers from Da Nang sometimes need detailed instructions when they are in Hoi An.

Thank you again for your review and ideas. We hope to see you again, and we promise to offer the best time to you and friends.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wyalong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were very impressed with this beautiful, quiet part of Hoi An. The instant we were greeted by the friendly staff and had our room upgraded we felt very comfortable for our two night stay. The room was magnificent and fresh fruit was provided each day. The breakfast was very nice and the pool area was a welcome retreat. We enjoyed our cocktails and food around the pool and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality rooms and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good morning dear GREG S,

Thank you very much for your impressive review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. We are happy to know you enjoyed the room upgrade, as we do want to offer the best accommodation to all guests if room availability allows us to. Besides that, your compliments to room interior, turn-down service, breakfast buffet, and especially our special offers for pool service really motivate all of us.

On behalf of management and staff, I would like to thank you once again, for having made your decision to stay with us during your special trip to Viet Nam. It has been our privilege to welcome you, and we would be more than happy to offer accommodation and service the next time you come to our country.

With warm wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerbusch, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Short version:
A lovley hotel, very new and in a very tastful style. Great Location between town and Beach. Fantastic staff. Really good value for money. The best and nicest hotel I stayed in ever!!! (And I have seen a few)

More Details:

Hotel:
beautiful hotel, a nice seize (Not One of those big resorts), lovley pool area with a stunning view over ricefields and palmtrees

Location:
About 2,5 km from the acient town and 3km from cua dai beach. Its a very nice and quite location next to a beauitful ricefield where you can see waterbaffalos and ricefarmer...
The area is still in an original Not touristy style. There is a nearby market where locals buy their food. And they dont try to rip you off because u are a tourist.
Take the free bikes and enjoy a ride to town (10 min) or to the beach (15 min)
Also free shuttle Busses available.
Taxi ride to town cost about 2 Euro One Way.

Rooms:
Luxury but still very tastful rooms and interior. Very spacious and light Huge, comfortable bed. Very big shower, Open double Handwaschbecken sinks and a free standig bathtub.
Flatscrreen TV with dvd player. A nice terrasse with a just wonderful view over ricefields and coconut palmtrees.
We booked a palm villa. These are the best category rooms and totally worth their money. Contact the hotel directly for better conditions than on booking or agoda.

Food:
Lovely breakfast with fresh fruit (pineapple, orange, PASSION FRUIT, watermelon, dragon fruit and others), fresh juice, freshly made omlette and delicous waffles!
All kind of fresh pastry, Rolls, Baguette, Croissants, chocolat Croissants, rasinrolls...etc. Bacon, sussages, grilled tomatos etc...
Müsli with different mixed fruits, yogurts etc.
Also a big varitey of taste vietnames dishes.
You enjoy your breakfast in a nice room with again a beautiful view over rice fields.

Service and staff:
I never have experienced a nicer staff!!!! Doormen, gardeners, service team at the pool and at breakfast, room service and of course the front Office team. Everybody is very helpful and polite in every situation. Especialy the front Office Team was awesome! Quick reply of emails before the journey, super nice welcome that made us feel at home right away. Great support in organising tours and yoga classes. A nice Tong also was That Nobody tried to talk us into any Tours or treatings. That happend to us often in other hotels.
We even got a late check out because our Bus left at 6p.m. They prepared two care packets for our journey, with fruits, sandwiches and drinks. Because the Bus was to early and left without us they organised a taxi (we did Not have to Pay) to catch up with the bus. Outstanding!
Cant say ho special treated we felt during our whole stay. Tien, you can be really proudw of your team!!!!!

Activities:
The village has a SPA, which we didnt use tough. But they also offer yoga classes. That was One of the reasons we picked that hotel. Tien, who is also the front Office Manager, is a great teacher! I am a total beginner but I felt very comfortable in his class. He explains the positions very understandable evan for me as a beginner. He has different Kinds of classes, like relaxing yoga but also challenging types. My wive did three classes, i did two.
The classes Take Place at the pool, overlooking the rice field. The wind going trough the palmtrees...there is Nothing more beautiful! Thank you Tien for that special experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bata-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Good afternoon dear BATA-ON-THE-ROAD - BASTIAN,

This is Viet Tien writing from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. I cannot believe in my eyes reading your inspiring words, and to tell the truth, I do not have enough words to say thanks to you and Koko.

My only wish personally and as a member of the Village, is one day we can be on the mats practicing Gentle Yoga again and enjoy such a beautiful sense of nature.

All the best to you as always. Namaste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#21 of 156 in Hoi An
1,022 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Address: Tong Van Suong Street, Thanh Dong Hamlet, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is the ideal base for exploring the Hoi An area, and especially the lifestyles of the Hoi An people. You will discover the simpleness and truthfulness that is in the hearts of local residents. This small historic town remains firmly anchored in the past, and proudly preserves its antique wooden buildings and quaint streets fronting onto a peaceful river scene. Hoi An people possess a graceful smile. Such a smile will balance all of your emotions, thus more and more visitors love to stay for some more days to be truly alive in Hoi An's lifestyle. Some friends that we know have lived here in the local community for tens of years. History has been viewed as having a nourishing effect on people's spiritual lives; therefore, there is no doubt that 'staying for some more days' has become a nice saying we often hear from visitors. The reasons were bowls of Quang noodles and 'Cao Lau'. Wide 'non la'. Paddy fields. Lines of coconuts. White stork families. Or is it because of local youngsters' bright white teeth? Or the blackened ones of aged ladies and gentlemen who have devoted their lives to their fatherland? In the murmuring songs here and there, there is the creaking sound of the hammock and the rhythmic chanting of the paddy seeds. It can also be the magic of the storks every afternoon, fluttering in the air and then landing onto slender coconut leaves like perching pieces of transparent silk on the line between heaven and earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing