We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay where I enjoy the peacefulness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #40 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is located out of the main road and therefore its swimming and its garden offer the peacefulness needed after visiting such a touristic city. It was good for a family stay and quite close to the city centre (especially with the motorbike). The room are comfortable and the arrangement is really great with an open bathroom on the bedroom.

Just one bad point, the room are quite hot when we don't use the AC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank GaulthierGot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Good evening dear GAULTHIERGOT,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Thank you for your compliments for our pool service, surroundings, room interior and amenities, as well as location for a nice peaceful stay for the whole family.

We also noticed that you prefer the room with nicer design, which could help cool down things during the day time. We definitely agree that August and some months in the summer has the highest temperature in the year.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Viet Nam. Please drop us an email, and we will arrange all the rest on our end.

With warm wishes as always,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here in one of their villas, and it was my favorite stop on the trip!! The resort is so beautiful. It's about 5 minutes outside of town, but in the end I loved getting away from the hustle and bustle at the end of each day to relax by the beautiful pool or enjoy our villa.

The room, V8 to be specific, was THE BEST. It was a modest $130/night, and the best room they offer. It had a balcony overlooking extensive rice fields, and when we got an afternoon rain it was lovely to just leave the french doors open and enjoy it.

The breakfast included was delicious, a good mix of western and asian options.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. If we ever had a question or request, it was taken care of with no problems. Not to mention, every time you visit the reception area, you are given cold towels and a beverage, which is usually Passionfruit Juice and seriously the best juice I've ever had.

The pool is gorgeous and such a great place to unwind at the end of the day. During our stay we never had a problem getting seats, and they are mostly well shaded. You can also get drinks and food delivered to you poolside.

Bike rentals are free, and the hotel also has a relationship with a restaurant on the beach, so we rode bikes to the beach and enjoyed the access to the chairs and umbrellas there.

I can't recommend this place enough. Everyone should stay here when visiting Hoi An!

Thanks again to the amazing staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Becca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Good evening dear BECCA K,

Our BIG BIG thank-you to you and your partner for having made your decision to stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, and more especially rated us 6 stars. It has been a privilege for such a sharing.

From your review, we are totally thrilled to know that you enjoyed your three nights in the Village. Thank you for your compliments for our room interior and design, the breakfast buffet, pool service, complimentary bike rental, beach service, and beyond all our staff performance. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our cold towels and refreshment every time you are in Reception.

As a new and enthusiastic team, we are trying all measures to best service guests. From your reflection, we understand that we are on the correct way, and need more focus. Please do give us constant support by recommending us to friends or sending us letters. We are listening to all of your ideas.

All the best as always and we do look forward to your next trip back to us. If ever, allow us an opportunity to serve you again.

With warm wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a week recently. We were upgraded to a Villa on arrival. The Villa is split level with a bedroom and small living area on the lower level and a huge bathroom a few steps up on the upper level with doors opening up onto a balcony. The bathroom had a full size bath, 2 separate vanities, WC and shower. A glass panel with curtain was in the shower, so you could even watch TV whilst having a shower. Can't say I've done that anywhere else before.
The layout of the room and furnishings were lovely. The airconditioning could have been cooler, but was adequate for the most part. Temperatures in Hoi An were over 40 (factoring in humidity) in August, so not surprised that the A/C took a while to cool down. The bed was KIng Size, very hard - but we got used to it after a few nights. We found this to be a fairly typical thing in Asia anyway.
The Buffet Breakfast was delicious with made to order omelettes etc on offer. The pool was set in a lovely spot overlooking fields, very serene and picturesque. You can hire bikes to ride to the beach and old town. The resort is virtually half way between the 2, taking about 10 minutes by bike (2kms) either way. We also rode an extra 5 minutes one day to An Bang Beach, a lovely beach but the beach at Cua Dai had a much better restaurant for lunch. You can also get the hotel shuttle there.
The staff at the resort were clearly very customer service focused, all very warm and friendly and obliging. When we left many of the reception staff, bike attendants etc came out and waved to us, which was really lovely. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place to stay. Thoroughly enjoyed the location out of the busy old town. The best thing was the staff and the use of bikes, which was great fun. Will definitely stay again if ever back in Hoi An.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Upper Level and the balcony overlooked the pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank DamHelMiaTob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Good morning dear DAMHELMIATOB,

This is Viet Tien responding to your marvelous review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Many thanks to you for your words and sharing about the stay, from which we pretty much understand that you enjoyed your week at the Village.

Thank you for your compliments to our Palm View Villa interior design and amenities, breakfast buffet, pool service, and the complimentary bikes and shuttle service. More than expected, we are totally thrilled to know Reception and Ground staff all treated you well upon arrival and departure.

Understanding that creating a sweet homey atmosphere for guests is our top priority, we will make sure to maintain this high level customer service. We look forward to receiving your next booking - please kindly send us an email, and we will work to our best to provide the best accommodation to you and your partner.

We wish you all the best and can't wait to see you again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This has been our 5th visit to Hoi An but our first visit to the Resort. What a lovely place to stay. Relatively new, comfortable, well designed and fitted out rooms, a lovely pool overlooking the rice fields, an excellent breakfast and efficient friendly staff. We spent 10 days there and cannot recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Good morning dear PETER W,

What a privilege that we have had an opportunity to welcome you and your wonderful wife to the Village on your 5th time to Hoi An. On behalf of Board of Management and staff, I am truthfully thankful to your lovely words about the property, and we understand you have had a strong impact on almost every person in the Village.

We wish you good health, joy, and energy. Like what Ms. Kim An the Senior Sales Executive and Mr. Khanh the Manager of Food and Beverage have shared, we will definitely arrange the best accommodation and service for you. On the 6th return to this beautiful land, please let us know in advance. It will be our unforgettable opportunity to have you back to the Village.

With our warmest wishes as always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in one of the villas V8.
In my opinion worth the extra cost. With fresh fruit and turndown everyday. Beautiful views.
Staff speak adequate English.
A perfect day starts with a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Grab a bike for a ride to the beach or village about 20mins away. Enjoy some food with the locals and a glass of beer for 8p!!!!!
Cycle back and enjoy the pool to cool of. Before catching the mini bus at night to enjoy the atmosphere and the lanterns on the river.
Try a stay around Full Moon. Atmosphere is brilliant with lots of people lighting candles on the river in the town. Hoi An is full of beautiful buildings and character.
Taxi cost less than 2pd if you don't want to catch the shuttle service.
Yes the bed was hard for my liking but partner didn't complain.
Curtains replaced with doors in shower and loo areas.
Taxi to and from airport worth booking.
Special mention to our driver Kum? Full of information on our way in from the airport
The only negative is the towels provided at the beach need replacing.

Room Tip: Villa number 7 or 8 for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank happyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Good evening dear HAPPYSTAFFORDSHIRE,

This is Viet Tien writing to you from Front Office of Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. What a big honour to receive your review in such beautiful words and sharing. On behalf of the Board of Management, we are thankful to you for having made your decision to stay with us, and given us an opportunity to reflect on our service so far.

Thank you for your supportive ideas about our room selections, surroundings, luxurious breakfast buffet, complimentary bike rental service, and all other in-house 24/7 service. We also noticed that you recommend replacement for towels at our private beach, and we have immediately worked on this. The beach is managed by a fellow team of the Village, and surely this should be improved.

When you mentioned Cam, our shuttle driver, we were absolutely happy. He has been with us for more than half a year, and has performed his best in all duties. I shared with him about you, and he remembered you very well. Cam asked me to thank you, for your kind words, which in return help him to sharpen his job.

Thank you once again. We cannot wait to welcome you back to the Village next time you visit Viet Nam. We agree that full moon festival is the best time for couples, and we do expect that we have an opportunity to see you next year.

With warm wishes as always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Perfectly located - in the quiet rice fields, but only a short taxi ride (4 or 5 mins) to hoi an, the best of both worlds. Lovely pool with fabulous outlook. The rooms are spacious and nicely done, beds a little hard but normal for Asia and staff were happy to add extra layers to soften them! Staff were so friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. We ate lunch in the restaurant once, it was very nice. Breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but perfectly adequate. All in all an excellent stay and we would return!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are nice with very high ceilings. A room on the edge of the property has a nice outl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank MrsB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Good afternoon dear MRSB1975,

This is Viet Tien responding to your beautiful review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. Many thanks to you and your wonderful friends for your nice words and motivating ideas that will surely uplift our service.

We are happy to know you had a pleasant time at the Village, enjoying our pool service, room interior, housekeeping attempt for your better sleep, and especially staff performance to please you. We also notice that you fancied the high-floor room, which gives Ancient House Villagers more sense of a home away from home.

Thank you again, and we are more than happy to know you will return. Email us, and we will work to our best to prepare for your next visit!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Chose this resort based on the reviews.
A great pool located between the restaurant and bar.Open from 6 a.m to 11p.m so great for a late evening dip.Its like a warm bath tub..but you can't swim the length of the pool easily after the central point of 1.3 meters
The gardens as mentioned by others are beautifully landscaped and the resort has a very calm and tranquil atmosphere(when the tour groups are not booked in!)
Our villa (V7) was beautiful.views out across the paddy fields and the room is large and the shower and toilet now have doors (not curtains) Fresh fruit is replenished along with bottled water every day.Slippers and silk bathrobes are provided along with some toiletries(We had hoped to find some of the products offered at the Coco Spa provided in the villa...but are not sure if the shampoo and body soap were such products)
As mentioned by others the bathtub is an unusual feature of these villas...just inside the front door. This won't appeal to everyone.
We ate dinner at the restaurant a couple of times and the food was of a good quality.Also between 2 - 5 there is a 25% discount Happy Hour that you can enjoy off drinks and specials on cocktails in the restaurant , bar or around the pool.
.The breakfast buffet offered a reasonable selection and the Vietnamese soup/noodle options and waffles were particularly good.The cold ham and cheese selections were uncovered so seemed to attract insects in the sweltering summer heat!
The resort offers free shuttle services to the beach and Hoi An old town throughout the day but be aware that the drop off point in the old town is a good 10 minute walk from the Japanese bridge and the shuttle serves the Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort & the Hoi An Ancient House Resort...this means that the last 2 shuttles can be full it seems..we had to stand for a while before the first drop off point...so it's easier to take a taxi (about 3 - 4 usd)...you don't have to worry about the time schedules and can get closer to the Japanese Bridge area.
Regarding the staff:We did all our correspondence through Mrs Kim An - an excellent English speaker and very professional and friendly lady - thank you so much!
I would agree with others that the staff in general are very attentive and eager to please but there is still a way to go with regard to communication skills for the restaurant and reception staff.
All in all this resort is a great choice and a very reasonable option if you plan to stay at the resort and relax or want to go to the beach. Hoi An itself is easily accessible but with the few slight reservations as mentioned above.
There is a very good restaurant 10 minutes walk away from the resort - The Field - if you want a change of scenery.
Try to stay in one of the villas if you can...a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tien P, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Good afternoon dear AICHII,

What a privilege that we receive your detailed review about your recent stay at Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. We truthfully appreciate your sharing, and we are taking your words into consideration, so that our service will be better.

Thank you for your words about our pool service, the garden, well-cared villa, breakfast buffet, and beyond all the booking inquiry process that Kim An went through with you. We are happy to know her attentiveness and fastness in providing a trustworthy service to you has given you a very positive impression.

At the same time, we are working on staff English proficiency and shuttle service. We hope in the future when you return to the Village, things will be even more than satisfactory.

We wish you more joy, happiness, and energy. Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#22 of 170 in Hoi An
1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa

Address: Tong Van Suong Street, Thanh Dong Hamlet, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £50 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is the ideal base for exploring the Hoi An area, and especially the lifestyles of the Hoi An people. You will discover the simpleness and truthfulness that is in the hearts of local residents. This small historic town remains firmly anchored in the past, and proudly preserves its antique wooden buildings and quaint streets fronting onto a peaceful river scene. Hoi An people possess a graceful smile. Such a smile will balance all of your emotions, thus more and more visitors love to stay for some more days to be truly alive in Hoi An's lifestyle. Some friends that we know have lived here in the local community for tens of years. History has been viewed as having a nourishing effect on people's spiritual lives; therefore, there is no doubt that 'staying for some more days' has become a nice saying we often hear from visitors. The reasons were bowls of Quang noodles and 'Cao Lau'. Wide 'non la'. Paddy fields. Lines of coconuts. White stork families. Or is it because of local youngsters' bright white teeth? Or the blackened ones of aged ladies and gentlemen who have devoted their lives to their fatherland? In the murmuring songs here and there, there is the creaking sound of the hammock and the rhythmic chanting of the paddy seeds. It can also be the magic of the storks every afternoon, fluttering in the air and then landing onto slender coconut leaves like perching pieces of transparent silk on the line between heaven and earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing