We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Take us back to Hoi An" ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Hoi An Resort
Ranked #48 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Anantara resort late January and found it amazing!. As a well travelled couple we love to experience new countries, cultures and cuisines. It astounds us at the time and energy people put into such poor comments... We would not change one thing about the resort. The staff were friendly, approachable and will do anything to ensure you are happy.. The food was ridiculously good to the point where I wish I could find it here... Look out for the trendy poolside bar and the potent margaritas. They were delicious!.
We would stay at the resort again and recommend it to all our friends and family.
C and D
Australia

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chloe_tab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Chloe_tab

It was amazing this morning to see the smiles on the teams face as we shared such a kind and objective review of Anantara Hoi An. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and we would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future.

We are determined to continue to constantly improve and evolve and in doing so create amazing stories for our guests to take with them from Anantara Hoi An. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I may be of any assistance.

Kind regards, the Anantara Associates and Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 8 days in the hotel and overall it was very good. Spacious rooms , lovely pool, good breakfast, bicycles to enjoy, friendly staff. The only disappointment was the manager who looked miserable the entire time. Shame. We never ate meals in the hotel as there are plenty of cheerful places around. We would go back as it remains a unique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuG-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Dear Mary B

Thank you very much for your recommendation and for choosing to stay with us here at Anantara Hoi An Resort during your visit to this unique destination.

We are delighted that your stay has culminated in so many amazing memories and we do hope that these will result in a return visit in the future.

On behalf of the team and I, thank you again for your amazing review and its been a pleasure to be of service to you

Kind regards
Noel Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here just a couple of nights as part of a tour of Vietnam. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. We wanted for nothing. Great location - it was so easy to walk to restaurants and shops. This is the sort of hotel that would be great for a honeymoon. The reason for a 4 rather than a 5 rating for me was the bath/shower. Whilst the bathroom looks lovely, I found stepping down into the sunken bath to use the shower a bit nerve wracking when the floor was wet. Aside from that, I would happily stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had steps up to the bed area and bathroom. If you have mobility issues, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Sue2000000

Thanks for choosing to stay at Anantara Hoi An Resort and for sharing your feedback, we are delighted that is has been a memorable experience. I have noted your comments about our selected suites with a sunken bath and we will be happy to accommodate you on a future visit into another of our spacious and well appointed suites with a different bathroom configuration.

Thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very enjoyable - large rooms, modern and first class. We had connecting rooms with our teenage kids. Second or third floor was best - ground floor was convenient but guests did walk on pathways past rooms - didnt cause an issue if you closed louvers. Breakfast first class.
Make sure you ask reception to book you in to Red River Restaurant Cooking Class.
Onsite massage and treatment was enjoyable.
I would call this premises more of a Hotel property than a resort - even though the pictures make it look like a resort. It was too cold to enjoy the pool.
Laundry washing ladies waited outside hotel property - fantastic service.
Food in local restaurants very affordable.
Yaly clothing / suit making service was about 5 minutes walk away and very professional.

Room Tip: High floors gave a great outlook. We used stairs - didnt see an elevator though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacheleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear RacheleAustralia

Thanks for brining your family to stay with us and for all your wonderful comments about life inside and outside of Anantara Hoi An Resort its what makes the destination and our property so amazing.

Also on your next trip we would be delighted to introduce you to our new “Spice Spoons” unique Anantara cooking class experience, ours is absolute riverside and comes with your own private lunch afterwards also beside the Thu Bon river and “many extras”

Kind regards
Noel Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

On arrival by taxi we were confused by not immediately being able to see reception and the suitcases being removed from the car by two people who appeared reluctant to point the way !However we quickly worked it out! Reception is all a bit of a muddle as there are 3 desks with 2 chairs in front of each desk- this is awkward if you want to drop your room key off and all the chairs are occupied. Maybe a key drop box would help. We had a junior river view suite which was very nice and spacious with a large bathroom. There were no drawers or shelves in the bedroom which made unpacking difficult. Breakfast had a good variety of food but desperately slow service and the same person cooking crepes, omelettes and Pho so you could wait for ages especially if you wanted the pho.
The hotel is very close to everything and they have bikes for no charge which makes Hoi An very accessible. Some of the brakes were on the weak side!
I think Anantara have only recently taken over this property as some areas are definitely unloved and in dire need of redecoration particularly the restaurant toilets and the pool showers. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as the evenings were cool and the restaurant is open sided .
Overall my points are small and I would stay here again and would recommend it as the best hotel in Hoi An . If it gets a bit of an upgrade it would be excellent.

Room Tip: Not over the front of the hotel- there is an area of construction -it was quiet when we were there b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Aud61

We are delighted that you have positioned Anantara Hoi An Resort as the best property in the city and thank you for sharing this and your constructive comments both on line and personally with me when we met during your stay.

As mentioned, Anantara has recently taken over this already amazing resort and with the changes already implemented and the future plans we are all very excited to continue to evolve the resort. The architects and interior designers have just spent considerable time on site to consolidate these future opportunities. This will ensure we continue to present a new and exciting Anantara experience for our dedicated travelers. Our lobby will see a refurbishment that will not impact our guests, the in-suite draws have already commenced instillation and we are also working on our up-graded of various public areas of the property just to name a few..
The new breakfast buffet will be on site in a matter of weeks and we will be continuing to evolve our food and beverage restaurants and bars.

We look forward to you choosing to return to us in the future and experience the ongoing story telling journey that Anantara creates in all of our exotic destinations.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and kind regards
Noel Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I stayed with our daughter and son in law for 12 nights over the new year and we really enjoyed our stay at the Anantara. The staff from the general manager down where helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The location is great being right on the edge of old HOI AN and all of the many restaurants are in easy walking distance. Housekeeping was excellent ,and rooms are serviced twice a day. The room was very comfortable and had all of the necessary items to make our stay enjoyable.

We were really happy with the entire experience of our stay at the Anantara Hoi An and have no reservations about recommending this hotel . Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Julie & Roger

Warmest regards from the team at Anantara Hoi An and it was a pleasure to meet you all whilst you were here at Anantara Hoi An and thanks for choosing to stay with us.

The team was thrilled when I shared your wonderful feedback on the memories we have created for you and it would be great if your future journeys do lead you all back to our door someday soon.

If the team or I may be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me direct.
Thank you again and best regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Anantara River View Suite for 3 nights a couple weeks ago and had a great time. The suite was huge, with private balcony and two swinging chairs, foyer with seating, large living room with wraparound couch and large tv, large bedroom with comfortable bed and pillows, and a giant bathroom with two showers (one stall, one recessed tub) and a big walk-in closet. Modern furnishings with Asian design elements, very attractive. All outlets worked perfectly fine with U.S. plugs (as was the case in all the hotels we stayed in in Vietnam).

Service was outstanding. Even though the lobby was frequently busy, there was always someone available to us within 30 seconds to help arrange cars or answer our questions. Cabs came within minutes of the hotel's calling them and the airport transfer was on time and easy. We booked a boat tour of the river system around Hoi An through the hotel, which was a nice time. Tons of decent food available on the boat, endless beer and wine, very relaxing and decent value (I think around $40 per person for an hour and a half or so).

At one point we needed a break from Vietnamese food (mostly, we just wanted some cheese) so we ordered the cheese platter through room service. It wasn't cheap, but it was very large and the cheeses were actually really great. We never ate at any of the on-site restaurants or bars as there are so many good eating options in Hoi An.

Worth noting that the hotel is basically at the end of the main area of Hoi An, about a 10-15 minute walk from the main sights. We actually liked being a little ways away from the very touristy center, but maybe some people would prefer to be closer or right in the middle of things.

The only frustration with the place was that room service was so westernized that I was unable to order in a proper Vietnamese coffee (iced or hot). The coffee that came was good though, just not what I was in the mood for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruzi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Ruzi15

I am happy we have created some amazing stories that you have taken away from Anantara Hoi An and thanks for sharing your experiences with us. We also love our Anantara Suites and would be happy to welcome you back in the future, there is no other view to compare in Hoi An.

Thank you also for the comments on how we can continue to evolve or product regarding your room service experience as well as sharing the multitude of offerings both in our resort as well as on our doorstep that leads you straight to the unique city of Hoi An.

Hope to see you soon and regards
Noel Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#57 of 170 in Hoi An
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lantana Riverside Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Vy Hotel
Maison Vy Hotel
#35 of 170 in Hoi An
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 880000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £133 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing