We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Hoi An Resort
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just a short walk from the center of Hoi An, this hotel commands a superb location overlooking the river. We had a lovely welcome from the reception staff. The rooms either have a river view or a garden view and the one allocated to us had a garden view and was on the second floor. Good sized split level room with the top level having the bedroom and shower room and the lower area having a sitting area.There is an in room safe, ample wardrobe space for a short stay and rain umbrellas which did come in handy as it rained on our last day in Hoi An. There is also a small patio area with seating space just outside the entrance to the room. Breakfast is in a separate building on the first floor. We had an issue on the first day of our stay as no butter was available and the head waitress told us that 'it had not arrived'!!!! Also the same head waitress was somewhat abrupt verging on the rude side. We were not impressed with the tumblers used to drink juices etc out of - these were smeared but not dirty (in other hotels we were in in Vietnam these were always crystal clear). We had a bad experience in the Heritage bar where one evening we ordered a glass of wine and a cocktail. The glass of wine consisted of just a mouthful of wine. No dry snacks were provided and the waitress was rude to say the least. We tried room service one evening and service and food were excellent. Other staff we had contact with in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If within your budget do go for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear JJCaruana

Thank you very much choosing to stay with us at Anantara Hoi An Resort and for your comments.
I am saddened to read that you have encountered a team member who has not reflected the true spirit of Anantara Hoi An resort and I will investigate this matter further. Over the years we have received amazing feedback about our associates and I am truly sorry in your case you have not experienced this. I would also like to assure our guests that our cleaning & hygiene standards are rigorous and to international accredited standards here in the resort.
I appreciate you sharing your comments on social media. At Anantara we do pride ourselves on our service standards and we are open to hearing first hand from our valued guests should they feel that there is an opportunity of improvement. By addressing such opportunities immediately it allows us to ensure that our guests depart with amazing memories.
I do regret that we did not have the occasion to discuss your feedback while you were on property and afford you this service. Please allow me to assure you that I do take your comments seriously and we will continue to strive for perfection
Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    386
    69
    10
    5
See reviews for
325
988
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
634 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Friendly and efficient check in, good size modern room with modern amenities, good breakfast in an upstairs dining room over looking the river. The only downside was that the atmosphere of the room was damp leaving our clothes feeling damp. This may just reflect the hotel's position near the river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear jw

Thank you for your objective comments and for choosing to stay with us at Anantara Hoi An Resort. I am sorry to read your comment about the damp and today I have tasked our housekeeping team and myself to personally inspect every river view room. Should we find any such issues they shall be immediately addressed. From a dedicated hotelier we really do appreciate that should there be any issues at all during our guests stay with us that you are encouraged to speak directly with my team or I to allow us to ensure you have the most memorable of stay.

Thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the river in Hoi an. It is 5-10 minutes walk to the markets and the old city. So as a tourist hotel it is perfect. The rooms are vey comfortable, and they have a sofa, desk, and outdoor sitting area. Everything was spotless, and the bed and linen was perfect. We had breakfast included...it was adequate, but nothing superbly special. The pool area is lovely, however the pool is a wading and sitting variety, not for laps. It is lovely though. All in all a lovely stay and we would recommend it to friends. By the way the staff were excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Pullenmom

Thanks for choosing to stay with us all your generous comments and recommendations. We are also extremely proud of our staff and I am delighted that they have made such a positive impact on your experience with us.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Here's the thing about the Anantara, it's location. Slap-bang on the riverfront and you walk out into the bustle of Hoi An, directly from an oasis of calm. The overall feel is very colonial, the staff are excellent in service and friendliness.
Downsides? There are some. Clientele seem to be of a certain age, restaurant is okay but the bar cocktails are shocking. ( I did tell them but just got a polite smile). The Internet was also a bit dodgy but we were told this was a temporary issue
We were messed-up with our booking at the last minute but the manager came clean, and looked after us very well, indeed.
I would highly recommend but with some minor reservations
Jooloos says this is harsh and she loves the place, so there you go, you pays yer money...

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Jooloosgoesnorth

Thank you for your comments and choosing to stay with us at Anantara Hoi An Resort and we also love our location to the hustle and bustle as well as the retreat to the oasis of clam as you have so beautifully described it.

Recently we have been subject to intermittent service from our Vietnam based internet provider and I am happy advise that normal service has been restored. Thank you also for your comments regarding the cocktails and you has my personal assurance that this is not normal standard for our resort.

I do look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The rooms/mini-suites in this hotel are lovely. They are large and have a nice sitting area, the beds are comfortable, and the bathroom is large and nicely appointed. The breakfast was good and served in a dining room overlooking the water. The location is excellent, just at the edge of the Old City so that you can walk everywhere. With that said, the walls are paper-thin, and we could clearly hear the conversation in the next door room. They were talking in normal voices, yet it was hard not to hear every word. Also, we had trouble with the hot water, and despite several requests, it was never really fixed. Staff was friendly and service oriented, but they couldn't solve those 2 problems. We were in Vietnam for 10 days, and this was the only hotel that I would hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear mxalpert

Thank you choosing to stay with us at Anantara Hoi An Resort and for your comments.
I am disappointed to read about your issues related to our rooms and the hot water. We have been fortunate to have received a number of positive guest’s comments about our rooms and so it was with great concern that I learned of your feedback.

“Thank you also for sharing your comments on social media. I regret we did not have the occasion to discuss your feedback while you were on property. Please allow me to assure you I would have made every effort to ensure that you left with the amazing memories that make Anantara Hoi An so special.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be assistance in the future.
Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

we stayed 5 nights in a river view room .The staff were excellent . We ate at the restaurant one lunchtime and the food was good. Ideal location for walking into town -out the front door and turn left-However still very quiet . If we came back to Hoi An would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear traveller trevor

Thank you for your recommendations and choosing to stay with us. We are delighted you have experienced the truce magic of Hoi An and Anantara Resort and please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any assistance should you wish to return.

Kind regards
Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I only spent 2 nights here during a tour of Vietnam, but we considered this to be our favourite of a number of good hotels in which we stayed. This is more of an accolade than you might think as my wife normally likes to laze in a bath and as the room did not have a bath - just a shower, and nearly all the other hotel rooms in which we stayed elsewhere had a bath this was quite something for her.

Having said that, the rooms are large and really well furnished and fitted out, with a lounge area, a bedroom area, and a shower and WC area. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious, and to be savoured at a table overlooking the river (we were lucky to secure one of these tables for both our breakfasts!) which was both interesting and relaxing.

The hotel provides a number of additional facilities and optional activities, but because of our tight schedule we were unable to take advantage of any of these - not even a swim in the very inviting swimming pool.

The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and extremely attentive. We could not have wished for better service. As an example, one of the workmen painting the outside of part of our building noticed when we were going out that I had a bottle of water but that my wife did not, and insisted on giving her one to take out with her. What kind of service and consideration is that?

The hotel has a lovely tranquil atmosphere and yet it was ideally located by the river but on the edge of the town centre, within easy walking distance of all the main attractions of this bustling town, and we would have loved to spend longer there just to relax. Recommended without hesitation.

.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Silvertravelsurfer

Thank you very much for your “recommendation without hesitation”. We are delighted that you have had such a memorable stay with us here at Anantara Hoi An Resort and for taking the time to so objectively share your comments on social media.

You really have captured the true essence of our property and I would be delighted to welcome you back in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me direct should I be able to be of any future assistance.

Thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#39 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Vy Hotel
Maison Vy Hotel
#21 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.8 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Property: Anantara Hoi An Resort
Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 880000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing