We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big resort with a bit to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #64 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A big resort with a bit to improve”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at the Palm resort on december, definitely not the best season for a seaside resort, anyway..they are pretty far from downtown hoi an thought they provide a free shuttle service back and forth.. The rooms are pretty big, in a lush palm garden bungalows, though the general furnishing and the bathrooms are not a 5 stars.. the biggest flaw is the musty smell inside. The pool is big and beautiful, the service warm and friendly. Good tasty breakfasts.. but in the end you can choose better at the same price..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    611
    190
    53
    25
See reviews for
474
1,102
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed 6 nights and really enjoyed the experience. Staff we very friendly and worked to provide good service. Nice resort to hangout at or a good base if you want to explore Hoi An and surrounds.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gars28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We arrived just after new years and we were excited about our resort stay in a beach front bungalow. However when we arrived we were a little disappointed.
The brochure said "beach front with own private courtyard and garden", The courtyard was a five foot wide paved area shared with the next door and the garden was tow plants on the side.
Our bathroom facilities were outside with no door on the toilet just a curtain and the toilet was in the shower,and they gave us a pair of old used thongs to wear in the shower to prevent tinea.
the hot water in the shower barry lasted one shower so two people could both have a morning shower.
There was no lighting just two lamps next to the beds, and the heating did not work so it was very cold at night considering it was not the best weather.
The bed was ridiculously hard and had no blankets just two sheets. The "free" Wi-Fi was intermittent at best if it worked at all.
The tv channels were very limited so we asked for a DVD player, we were told it would cost $5 for one day. After been told for the following 2 days that we could not have it cause it was broken then fixed then broken and not getting it in the end they still tried to charge us for it.
We woke up the first morning to the loud sound of a high pressure cleaner ext to our front door being used on the building next to us. When we asked them if they could move it we were told they will be done in 5mins, two hours later they moved it!
When they cleaned our rooms even though there was sand everywhere, blown in from outside, they did not replace our linen or our sheets until we asked them to and they did not vacuum the floors just gave it a quick sweep on leaving.
They gave us a fruit platter on arrival which was nice with some fresh rambutans, however they gave us no knife to cut them open to eat them.
All in all we payed over $300 a night for the "experience" and for what we got and the service we received it was well and truly not worth it. I would have rather payed a little bit more and stayed at the Nam Hai just up the road, a real 5-star!
I strongly advise you look elsewhere!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We arrived at Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa in Hoi An on the 2nd of January. On our arrival, we were greeted with staff and a warm cup of ginger tea. We were a family of four and therefore had 2 rooms overlooking the ocean.

We were quite surprised and impressed on the size and layout of the resort. The rooms were of a good size with a large bathroom.
The staff organised our luggage while we enjoyed our tea. We took a walk around the resort and were impressed with the way the landscape effortlessly incorporated Palm and Banana trees, creating a very relaxing feel. We also noted the army of staff/workers ever attending to the gardens and paths leading to individual rooms.
We found the staff especially the Resort Guest Manager to be very helpful and welcoming.

The next morning, we were directed to the breakfast room, which was very large with a huge outdoor seating area. The breakfast is as what you would expect in most Asian resorts and hotels. It had basically everything from cooked meals to soups of various kinds. The meals were good and we always looked forward to breakfast ever morning.

Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa is only 5km to the Hoi An Ancient Town and it cost approximately 80,000 VND (about $5 AUD) by taxi from the resort. Hoi An Town is world famous for the tailoring and garment industry.

We stayed at the Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa for 5 days and we cannot but inform others of our fantastic experience and how good the staff looked after us.
We can't wait to go back next year for more.

Godwin Family, from Victoria Australia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GodwinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed 7 nights over new year 2011/12.
There is no way this is a 5 star or even 4 more like a solid 3 star.
The gardens, pool & restaurants are fine however the room is well below par.
The walls are paper thin & all your neighbors snoring, farting etc are heard! The bed is rock hard, Asia is known for a firm bed but this is beyond comfort. The rooms need a make over & bathrooms r tired.
On a more positive note the spa is wonderful. The new year complusory dinner was a rip off.
Breakfast was good, lunch at the pool was undercooked - book with caution

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The staff, at all levels, were always friendly and could not do enough to help out, even when some of our requests were out of their usual area of expertise (eg IT issues with our own equipment).

We are mystified by recent negative reviews, particularly in relation to the attitude of the staff - it does not reflect our experience at all.

The rooms are well sized and, whilst they are far from new, everything worked as it should. It rained for most of our stay and was colder than we expected so we asked for a Doona and extra pillows, which were happily supplied immediately. The buffet breakfast was good, with a huge range of hot and cold and western and Asian choices. As for the restaurant menus, as a vegetarian, I found little choice throughout Saigon and Hoi An, but in Palm Gardens, there was no problem making special dishes for me. We were there for the New Years Eve Gala dinner which was a huge and largely seafood offering (which doesn't suit me) but they provided me with an endless supply of vegetarian dishes throughout the night, delivered to our table.

The service is to be commended and, in my view, makes up for any issues that might arise with a resort that isn't new. There is a regular shuttle bus, taxis were always available and cost about 75,000 dong on the meter to Hoi An, the spa services were good, room service was prompt, the tour information was readily provided with good recommendations, the pool is large and clean and the gardens are lush and green. In my experience, the people make the biggest difference to a stay and PGBR were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

we stayed at Palm Garden in August 2011 and found it to be such a perfect and wonderful holiday that we are already planning our return for 3 or 4 weeks at Palm Garden for this july-august so i thought i'd just take a look and see the latest 'glowing' reviews. Imagine my shock to read the last 6 or so negative reviews.

We found everything perfect and loved the rooms and the bathrooms (we stayed in two different grades of room over a 3 week period and both the superior gardenview and the pool-view bungalow were perfect in every way. we had no problem with the beds, if you feel it is too hard for you- ask for extra doonas (blankets) and sleep on top of them... and i'm not sure if the previous reviewers were aware that you need to push the red button in the bathroom to heat the water on demand but even so, a quick call to the reception would have fixed the problem - the guys on customer service are only too willing to help in every way- as we found out quite a few times.

i have to also comment on the review below where the couple felt it was unjust to be forced and charged for christmas dinner- this is a requirement everywhere in vietnam in the better hotels and resorts over Christmas and New Year's Eve periods - there is no choice in the matter and is written on every website that i've ever seen for those time periods... also, the ++ is customary too when booking direct with hotels and resorts in vietnam and one should always read the fine print when making a booking...i guess a lesson to be learned here. So, seriously how can you possibly blame Palm Garden for your lack of research or understanding?

Anyway- we are still intending to spend our holidays in Palm Garden and I will definitely post a review after our return to Melbourne.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#60 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
2.9 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.2 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Lac Long Quan Street, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#40 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on five hectares of landscaped tropical garden with over 400 species of palm trees and plants right along a 220-meter stretch of the famous Cua Dai, Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa offers a touch of Hoi An's traditional architectural design combined with a taste of modern luxury and only 5 minutes by car from the UNESCO- recognized World Heritage Hoi An ancient town. The combination of nature and a unique architecture remarkable of the culture of Hoi An make a distinctive character for Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa. Elegant accommodation comprises 216 wooden-designed rooms and beachfront bungalows. Spacious guest rooms have been constructed from and furnished with natural materials, and all feature a private balcony and modern amenities. Resort facilities encompass a deluxe spa offering best products, a fitness centre complete with sauna, state of the art meeting facilities, water sports activities, a private beach, and a 969 square-metre outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Guests are sure to enjoy the resort's selection of cuisine, ranging from traditional Vietnamese to international specialties at restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Palm Garden Beach Hotel Hoi An
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing