We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetly not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #67 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definetly not 5 star”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just returned from a 2 wk tour of Vietnam, we stayed here for 7 nights to recharge our batteries after a full on tour, we were disappointed by the Palm gardens, it was low season so very quiet and no atmosphere just full of bolshy russians!! The beach was deserted and although quiet the staff on the beach couldn`t even be bothered to come and ask if you wanted a drink, there was a yellow flag by the sun lounger which you were meant to wave for service but it was easier to go and get your own as no one took any notice!! The evening entertainment advertised wasn`t on maybe because it was low season, the rooms were dark and depressing with terrible baths which looked hand made, I dreaded going back to the room it was so depressing, this was a de luxe room but not worth the money, you could hear every word spoken next door and our "russian neighbours" moving furniture around at all hours of the night, there was a shuttle bus into town which was neither use to anyone, they ranged from morning until 4pm then nothing inbetween then the next one 8pm then finished so if you wanted to use it you either went at 4pm or 8pm then the last one back was 8.30pm!! This meant getting a taxi there and back which was 14 dollars a night which kind of takes the edge out the words "free shuttle bus".

The hotel was perfectly situated on the beach apart from that it was appalling! I would not stay here again and would not recommend it, it maybe different in high season but there was no atmosphere and nothing to do on an evening apart from go into Hoi An, even the "happy hour" which was 5pm - 7pm had no takers.

I used the spa which was excellent and would recommend anyone to try, the girls who didn`t speak hardly any english gave me a great facial which i must say is one of the best ive ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    620
    195
    54
    25
See reviews for
479
1,120
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were upgraded to a bungalow because they run out of Superior rooms with sea view and that was very nice.

The best of the hotel is the beach with the umbrellas. You'll be almost alone. Just for this it's worth to go. Another good points are the breakfast, the swimming pool and the hotel area itself.

On the other hand, food and drinks are too expensive, the same than tours.

They offer free transfers to the town.

Recommended day in this hotel during hot summer... 6pm go to my son with private car hired in the town. 9pm breakfast in the hotel, beach from 10 to 16, 16 to 20 visit Hoi An town and dinner. Then return to the hotel an go to the swimming pool at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Fabulous hotel to stay at. A bit far out of town but, great location right on own well patrolled beach. Very spread out with beautiful grounds but a bit of a hike from beach units to main eating area. Staff are absolutely gorgeous as we found all over Vietnam. Food great and varied and plentiful. Stay there you'll love it

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I cannot rate the Palm Gardens highly enough... we haven't stayed here for a bit over 2 years, but the resort hasn't stayed the same - it has improved. It is not one of the awful high-rise resorts so unfortunately now prevalent in Vietnam - it is low key and tries to be ecologically sound. There is actually space to swing a few cats between the units - and the extensive gardens are beautifully maintained.

From the warm and friendly greeting when we arrived, to our last waved farewells - the PG staff are an amazing lot - even down to the gardeners!

Rooms: We stayed in a Deluxe Seaview Room - well worth the extra $20 or so. We've been staying at this resort for years - every couple of months and always stayed in a Deluxe Garden View before, which were still great, but it was very nice to sit on our little verandah and watch the sea, and to be 20 metres from the sand with an uninterrupted view of the water. I have to mention that this is the ONLY hotel/resort in the world (that I've been too) that I could actually RECOMMEND their hair conditioner... the bath salts are a little added extra bonus too.

Food: The breakfasts in the main restaurant (The Terrace) are first class.... fruit, breads, pastries, bacon, sausages etc, cheeses,cold meats, asian food, omelettes cooked to order... (when they get Eggs Benedict I will know I am in heaven).

The lunch and dinner menus are superb - not overly expensive, beautifully prepared and a good selection for different tastes.

BEACH: It was heaven - after being in hot, humid Hanoi for a few weeks now, we even had proper waves to swim over/under/among. The South China Sea is such an amazing place to swim - so salty compared to Sydney, Queensland and Miami... The beach at the Palm Gardens is clean, swept and has a roped-off area so the nasty jet-skis cannot decapitate you. (yes the PG hire out jet-skis too). If you want to go for a walk or a run, the beach runs for miles, literally, on good hard-packed sand. You have the wonderful bonus of saying "Xin Ciao" to the mostly lovely fisher-folk bringing in their catch, or repairing their nets - just about a kilometre north. (if you have cigarettes on you, you will obviously be asked to donate a few though)... They are all so impressed that a foreigner would want to "see their beach"... In the fairly expensive area of beach and water directly in front of the resort, I have to stress that I have never had so much as an ear infection. Nor have I ever seen a needle or any other nasty in the vicinity :) So the water and sand are good and clean.

POOL area: At any resort in VN at this time of year or earlier, the pools mainly feel like the temperature of baby-pee. However, for those who like doing laps in warm water, despite the pool being curvy, you can do a good 20 metres before turning. There is a separate area for small children. Nothing of course, can stop the "bobbers" - but then the (usually) flat South China Sea is only a few meters away and salt water is good for your skin.

SPA / SALON: There is a new spa/massage centre right on the beach - looks very decadent. I didn't try it this time, but I believe it is run by the same staff that run the normal spa. Their foot massages are to die for. They also advertise a wide variety of manicures, pedicures, facials etc. I can say that previously, their manicures, pedicures and facials (and full body massages) have been wonderful. I am certain they still are (but cannot say that here, as I didn't have any done this time).

For the first time since 2004, we didn't even leave the resort.... saying that, there are a few free shuttle-buses going to and fro from Hoi An - including a late one for dinner... If the times of these don't suit, it's not exactly mega-bucks getting a taxi into Hoi An.... $5 would still be the upper limit. The Palm Gardens is one of the closer beach-resorts to Hoi An - very near the main corner to town... the resort receptionist staff are more than happy to call a local taxi for you to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are well-worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
299 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed one week at this hotel and were overall very pleased with our ‘Garden View’ Room and the hotel.
What we found disappointing:
• Complimentary wifi in the room is either down or incredibly slow.
• Complimentary bananas were taken away and never replaced after some days.
• Bathroom is outdated and offering shower gel etc. in large bottles might be good for the environment, but it somehow felt messy.
• Rocking chairs on balcony aren’t comfortable at all.
• Noise from swimming pool in the morning and evening.
• Division between balconies is only partial, which means that if your next-door neighbor is also on the balcony, it gets a bit too crowded.
• One night, I was expecting a phone call from abroad, and the caller never got through, since no one picked up at the reception to connect.
• The breakfast for the ‘simple’ rooms was served at the upper restaurant, where you have no view of the sea, and can either choose to sit in the cold interior or the uninspired exterior. Considering it’s a five-star hotel, this is not really something you expect, even if you book only the ‘simple’ room.
• Breakfast itself was fine, but not excellent, both in relation to choice and quality.
• Extremely high prices at beach café.
• Complimentary shuttle bus service to Hoi An is super, but the time slots were not that practical, since having the last shuttle back to the hotel at 20:30 is really too early.

What was, however, good:
• The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, with sufficient storage space.
• No insects in room (complimentary electric insect repellent).
• The beach is lovely – a broad, endless stretch of sand and relatively clear waters. Very friendly life guards present. No hawkers, almost no non-guests, so you feel quite safe to leave your things. Swimming pool stays open till late with life guard, and you can swim even after ten, albeit without a guard.
• Hotel grounds are well tended.
• Location: you need a taxi to Hoi An (approx. 75000-12000 Dong, depending on the cab you take (small/large, company) and the time). Some restaurants across the street, some cafes and restaurant further down the beach.
• Lovely touch: the birthday cake and the flowers offered on my birthday!

Overall impression:
Palm Garden Beach Resort might lack finesse and atmosphere, but compared to other hotels (we did some scouting), this hotel stands out – so yes, we would most probably stay there again. Especially given the beach!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Absolutely fell in love with this place. Booked for 4 nights and stayed an extra two, will return! Pristine white sandy beach with hardly anyone on it and the clearest blue sea. Lovely swimming pool that just invites you in. Gardens are peaceful and the staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Easy to get into Hoi An; free shuttle 4 times a day or inexpensive taxi ride. Great breakfast that filled us up for the day. We stayed in one of the least expensive rooms and it was still lovely with plenty of space and our own patio area onto the garden. Roll on next summer when I can visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms looked good to me, the more you pay the more you get. A bungalow on the beach would be bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCS, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Early May 2012. The accommodations and grounds were spotless. The entire staff from the lobby to wait staff to groundsmen were pleasant and smiling, and seemes genuinely glad that we chose their hotel. Breakfast buffet had endless assortment of Asian and western selections. Even at this date it was HOT HOT HOT, around 95-100F, but thankfully the room A/C worked perfectly. Bring pleanty of sun screen. Outdoor pool is very nice with shallow areas for kids and seperate wading pool for small children. A 5AM walk along the beach revealed locals sun/sand/surf bathing and exercising. Watch/help the fishermen pull their nets into shore and sort through the overnight catch. Once off the hotel grounds you are immediately into a 3rd world setting and a short shuttle ride into Hoi An to see how the locals live. Never felt threatened but most surroundings were dirty with piles of debris everywhere. Lots of restaurants on the river area from which to choose. A welcome respite fron the105F in town. Pleanty of shops and vendors. Local hawkers are not as pesky or persistant as their Chinese counterparts, seemingly more respectful. Now that I've seen it I would recommend PGBR&S but I have other places to see so I will travel elsewhere. :<)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonC_SCS_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#62 of 147 in Hoi An
1,624 reviews
2.9 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 147 in Hoi An
863 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.2 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Lac Long Quan Street, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#41 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on five hectares of landscaped tropical garden with over 400 species of palm trees and plants right along a 220-meter stretch of the famous Cua Dai, Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa offers a touch of Hoi An's traditional architectural design combined with a taste of modern luxury and only 5 minutes by car from the UNESCO- recognized World Heritage Hoi An ancient town. The combination of nature and a unique architecture remarkable of the culture of Hoi An make a distinctive character for Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa. Elegant accommodation comprises 216 wooden-designed rooms and beachfront bungalows. Spacious guest rooms have been constructed from and furnished with natural materials, and all feature a private balcony and modern amenities. Resort facilities encompass a deluxe spa offering best products, a fitness centre complete with sauna, state of the art meeting facilities, water sports activities, a private beach, and a 969 square-metre outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Guests are sure to enjoy the resort's selection of cuisine, ranging from traditional Vietnamese to international specialties at restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Palm Garden Beach Hotel Hoi An
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing