We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aftermath of a typhoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #70 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aftermath of a typhoon”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived the day after a typhoon had hit the area hard and there was quite a bit of damage with the beach palm trees ripped up and parts of some the of the thatched roofs missing. The staff worked tirelessly to fix everything and still had time to deliver a friendly and efficient service. Our room had suffered from some water from the storm but within minutes we had a small army of workers putting it all right. The pool is nice and big, food reasonably priced and very good although you are more likely to spend your evenings in Hoi An. A really good Philipino band were playing most nights in the bar. The room was comfortable and facilities very good. The hotel is well positioned and a short walk along the beach takes you to some small restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eampgr, General Manager at Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear wotabout,

Greetings from Hoian, Vietnam.

We hope you had a safe flight back home.

On behalf of the management and staff, we thank you for your kind comments and delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us regardless of our ongoing recovery of the resort due to the storm. We are now fully operational and everything has been restored back to how it was with improvements on most areas.
I will definitely share this to the team as this inspires and motivates us more to further enhance our level of service.

We hope and look forward to welcome you once again on your next future visit in Vietnam.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us on your most convenient time should you be in need of our assistance.

With best regards,


Mr. Tran Duy Ngoc
General Manager
Palm Garden Resort & Spa
gm@pgr.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    644
    200
    55
    26
See reviews for
512
1,156
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We decided on Palm Gardens for our seven day stay after extensively reviewing all the beachfront resorts and were not disappointed. We requested an ocean view room and were very happy with the one provided. It was clean, spacious, well maintained and serviced twice daily.
The resort grounds and swimming pool were immaculate, maintenance staff worked endlessly to keep the gardens and lawn at their best. The pool lifeguards were friendly and so helpful.
The extensive buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the restaurant staff friendly and efficient. There's an option to eat indoors in air conditioning or in under a large verandah with fans. We ate at the outdoor restaurant twice for lunch and were very happy with the quality and price given we were in a resort.
It was great to have a choice of swimming in the pool or at the beach. Staff clear the sand on the beachfront early every morning and swimmers are protected by a lifeguard throughout the day. There are shells for those who like to collect but not too many to cause problems walking. There is also plenty of shade if you want it, both around the pool and on the beach.
With such a wide and long stretch of beach, I was able to go for long early morning walks where there was always something interesting to see. A lot of local people go swimming further up the beach before work and the local fisherman can be seen dragging nets for small fish or return in their boats with the day's catch. Either way, they are all so friendly and always willing to show off their good fortune.
Across the road from Palm Gardens, there are a number of local restaurants which have great food and are very cheap. They don't look much from the outside but you will be pleasantly surprised once you enter. Our favourite was Mi Casa which is run by Chung and her family. They are very kind and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. 'Mum' seems to always be there, early morning to late night but is always smiling. Chung also works long hours and has a lot of local knowledge. The food is fairly simple but extremely tasty and so affordable. They also offer a laundry service which is much cheaper than the resort. Just let them know if you want your clothes pressed as well. We also purchased take away wine, beer and soft drinks there. Not only was it so convenient, their prices were as good as anywhere.
Overall, one of the most comfortable and enjoyable 5 star resorts I have stayed in. Would definitely like to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eampgr, General Manager at Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear RMJDJJ,

Greetings from Hoian, Vietnam.

We hope you had a safe flight back home.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments. On behalf of the team, we are very much delighted to know that you have enjoyed your seven day stay with us and have met your expectations. Our chef and his team would also like to thank you for your appreciation on their wide variety of cuisine preparations during breakfast. I will definitely share this to all Palm Garden Resort family to motivate and inspire them to further enhance more on the level of service we provide.

One again, thank you. We hope and look forward to welcome you once again on your next future trip in Vietnam.

Please do let us know at any time should you be in need of our assistance.


Kind regards,

Mr. Tran Duy Ngoc
General Manager
Palm Garden Resort & Spa
gm@pgr.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

With our intended resort stay closed due to typhoon Nari the day before the Palm Garden put us up for the week which was something good from something bad. Even with some major damage the staff quickly got into cleaning up the resort and had the beach open within 3 days. Even with some crappy weather it is a great place to relax in peace and quite.

The pool is fantastic and the rooms are well appointed. Very disappointed with the Saturday seafood smorgasbord which was over priced and missing some basic seafood. The restaurants have some great food but if you want to save some $ across the road is the Mi Casa and Golden Lotus family owed restaurants which are cheap and the food is fresh and tasty. Don't have your laundry done at the resort take it across the road for $2 a kg.

Taxi to Hoi An is only $5 so no need to what on the shuttle bus. Staff are friendly and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just PERFECT! We booked this place for our honeymoon and we took a beach front bungalow, it was just wonderful. The room was spacious, the bed huge and comfortable (after a night on the train back from Sapa this was the top). The bathroom is huge and everything was in great shape. Great buffet breakfast with a selection of local and international products. The beach is beautiful, crystal clear water and the gardens are purely divine. The peace and harmony you can find here makes this place a heaven on earth. There is no downside for this place and if you want top services at a very good price, with total relaxation this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianPhel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The good: The majority of the staff are all very friendly, the garden staff are beautiful and always say hi! The pool is excellent! Great for relaxing away from the hustle bustle! The Filipino band (house band) are playing every night and are fantastic! Tailoring to each nationality! Across the road there is a fantastic restaurant called Golden Lotus, the owners name is Linh, and their food is simply amazing and a quarter of the cost of hotel and really caters to your dietary requirements! The palm garden is on a remote part of the beach which is really very relaxing and you are not hassled by anyone whilst you take time out! The little entertainment area is cool, free pool, table tennis and foosball which we laughed for hours playing!

The average: tennis racquets and bikes were quite costly to hire, shuttle bus went to the non touristy parts and ended up having to get a taxi from there but driver didn't really speak English so make sure you know where it goes before getting on, shower was cold for about 4 minutes before heating up and Roof leaked while showering, phone failed, although I'm sure they would have moved our room if we complained but I feel a maintenance check would easily highlight all these issues! There was no sound insulation at all we were kept awake each night by foot steps above and people talking on their balconies and around their rooms, the sound insulation is so poor it feels like they are in the room with you. I called reception a few times and they seemed unhelpful (but on most occasions were great).

Basically it felt like we were in a 3.5 star room in the middle of a 5 star resort!

I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Go for a single storey away from the multi storey because EVERY sound seeps into the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We absolutely loved this resort. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed stayed here for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed here longer The beautifully landscaped grounds brought us an instant feeling of peace and tranquility. After our welcome drinks we were taken by Golf Cart to our gorgeous beachfront bulgalow and we were shown around the amenities of our room. The bungalow was immaculate, cleaned to perfection, beautifully decorated with lovely little touches (Fresh flowers, chocolates, fruit ) Large king size bed which was really comfy. We had a great spacious courtyard covered bathroom with lots of natural light , a lovely big stone bath . The View from our bungalow was picture postcard perfect Rooms are serviced twice a day with bed turned down and chocolates and bottled water left each night.
This has to be the best stretch of beach in Hoi An (even after the effects of the typhoon. This resort had lifesavers on duty on the beach and the pool area There was beautiful outdoor furniture (Large Cane lounges and Deck Chairs and Umbrellas) right along the beachfront of palm gardens resort. A beautiful place to relax! Also enjoyed a lovely relaxing massage in a cabana on the beachfront Beautiful. Staff in every part of this resort were warm and welcoming Beachfront Restaurant and Bar were great. Beautiful Food Drinks Cocktails There was an Italian Menu as well as Traditional and made a nice change A great snack menu also Also great This beachfront restaurant was also good for a friendly chat with the locals and enjoy the ocean breeze. Breakfast was amazing with so many choices catering to every taste. So plentiful and fresh, Pool was absolutely huge with lovely surroundings and plenty of sunlounges available Reception staff were just gorgeous and an asset to this resort We also wish to thank them for the gorgeous anniversary cake delivered to our room on the night of our arrival A lovely surprise Would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to be totally spoilt in every way The Best!

Room Tip: Would recommend the Beachfront Bungalow but all accom looks great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowrose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in October in the middle of a Vietnam tour. The Palm Garden is an identikit beach resort hotel, which is not really a criticism, it just reflects what the owners have set out to achieve. Rooms are ok size and fittings wise. The big advantage is if you request a sea front room, which we had, in that they are only metres away from the beach.
Breakfast was good, although they struggled to keep up with demand one or two mornings as large tour groups seem to use the hotel as a B&B. The rest of the day the resort is quiet and in the evening really quite dead as most people (ourselves included) decamp to the bars and restaurants of Hoi An.
For lunch there is a strip of restaurants across the road from the hotel. These restaurants serve high quality Vietnamese food at about a quarter of the price of the hotel. Also the people who own and operate these restarants(and shops and spas) have better language skills and a more customer friendly approach. The Palm Garden staff could learn from their small, local competitors!
My wife used the spa. It had good treatments and a nice ambience. It is more expensive than the spas outside the hotel, which we also tried, but the hotel was worth the extra.
Overall the hotel does what it is supposed to and it supplies a relaxing beach break.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NJonHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#67 of 157 in Hoi An
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#85 of 157 in Hoi An
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Lac Long Quan Street, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#42 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on five hectares of landscaped tropical garden with over 400 species of palm trees and plants right along a 220-meter stretch of the famous Cua Dai, Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa offers a touch of Hoi An's traditional architectural design combined with a taste of modern luxury and only 5 minutes by car from the UNESCO- recognized World Heritage Hoi An ancient town. The combination of nature and a unique architecture remarkable of the culture of Hoi An make a distinctive character for Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa. Elegant accommodation comprises 216 wooden-designed rooms and beachfront bungalows. Spacious guest rooms have been constructed from and furnished with natural materials, and all feature a private balcony and modern amenities. Resort facilities encompass a deluxe spa offering best products, a fitness centre complete with sauna, state of the art meeting facilities, water sports activities, a private beach, and a 969 square-metre outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Guests are sure to enjoy the resort's selection of cuisine, ranging from traditional Vietnamese to international specialties at restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Beach Hotel Hoi An
Palm Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing