We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #61 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with my family in Town 1. It smoked all day long that made me cried everytime i opened the door. Food was not good but the staff were very nice. If it is not because of the helpful staff i am gonna only give 1 star

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nguyen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    598
    189
    53
    25
See reviews for
467
1,082
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 10 nights and found the resort itself well looked after and the beach is beautiful- lovely long walks along an unspoilt stretch of beach. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food, but found lovely food in central Hoi An (which is a 10-minute taxi ride- 110 dong for each way).
This is not, however, a 5-star resort. Breakfast was OK and the staff service along the beach and around the pool was virtually non-existent.
Overall we did have a great time though!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at the Palm Garden for eight nights on August as part of holiday in Vietnam. The resort was set in beautiful gardens and the rooms were clean and well presented. The best part however was the fabulous beach. Loungers and shade were generally easy to find and well spread out.
The breakfast in the hotel was good but food on the evenings quite pricy compared to local restaurants. The Golden Lotus opposite provided great food for around £10 a head for two courses and a couple of beers. Also recommend the Golden Lotus for trips. We went to Hue which is worth a visit -if rather a long day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this resort and I will write a longer review at the end of our stay as there are many positive things to say but the events today have astounded me and reflect an earlier pkst I have read on this forum.
The hotel has rented out its pool area and beachfront to a private function this afternoon / evening. Effectively they have informed guests that the beach front is unavailable between 3.30 to 5.30 and then the pool area is unavailable from 6.30 till 10pm. We only found out about this through the daily newsletter dropped off by the cleaners. The management did not even have the decency to inform us of this at checkin which would have allowed us to plan around this.
Nothing we could do so decided to have an early swim and head into town. What are we faced with? Half of the pool area blocked off with stages and tables and music being blared at levels that we could not hear eachother or the kids when we were right next to eachother.
Palm Gardens when you sell your rooms at the price you do it is because we are paying not just for the room but the facilities of the resort. You have effectively taken payment from your customers and not provided the goods on this day. We have another 5 days here I hope we dont have this again.





this.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Brett06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from 9 nights at the Palm Garden and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a garden room which was nice albeit a wee bit dated in parts but really nothing to be bothered about. Bed excellent.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, especially the gardens and the way the bungalows weave around the palm trees etc. The beach front is also beautiful - gorgeous sand and superb sea for swimming (sandy under foot). Having walking along the beach in both directions and looking at the other resorts we knew we chose the right one. The way the palm trees, sun loungers and small bar are presented looks fab.

Pool is great with a couple of kids areas. Only point we'd raise is that they could do with a few more sun loungers. Temp perfect when you are roasting....which you will be in August!!

Gym pretty good and had all the kit needed for a quick holiday workout.

Breakfast was excellent with loads of choice. I'd be staggered if people grumble about breakfast as there was plenty of everything.

Lunch was also good with a mix of Western & Asian food.

Hoi An is a beautiful place. Taxi around 100K - no need to agree a price like many Asian countries as it's all on the meter. Top tip - take the hotel business card with the address on as most drivers do not speak any English so you can show them the card and there'll get you home. Same with going out i.e. write down what you want and show the driver.

Loads of tailors but I went to Kimmys which was recommended, always busy. I had a tux made for £188 and I can't believe how good it is! Yes you can go cheaper depending on the quality of the material. You can browse designer clothes on their laptop and then pick what you want. I went for a mix of Burberry and Hugo Boss design and got that. The cut of the jacket is the same as my suit that cost a lot more! Don't waste time though as you'll have to go back for fittings. They make nice dresses.

Hundreds of places to eat but a few we enjoyed:

Mango Mango
Mango Rooms
Dao Tien River Restaurant and the one next door. Both have a nice setting by the river and gets you away from the busy town
White Marble (our favourite). Found on the last crossroads down Le Loi street before you get to the river - it's on the right. Nice wine bar and taster menu 3 is to die for.
Soul Kitchen is about a mile or so from the hotel and a nice place for a drink. They have these bamboo little platforms where you can listen to the waves...

Watch out when crossing the roads - look both ways as traffic often goes the wrong way down the street and when you see the green man it's not always safe to cross. One local flew around the corner when we were crossing and came within inches of wiping use out. He crapped himself as much as us!!

One negative:

1. The hotel is missing a trick with the bar situation. Although the one at the sea front is nice for happy hour it closes early. The main bar is at the hotel front which is wrong. It doesn't draw you in and having a late cocktail while watching others get dropped off from town in a taxi isn't that appealing. Shame they could have the main bar at the from with big comfy chairs where you can listen to the sea late into the evening. Also there a rather ugly water feature in the pool that once would have run water down the 3 tier thing but doesn't work. Would be good as a swim-up pool bar.

There you go, we recommend it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe garden view room at this very comfortable resort. The room with exceptionally large bed looking out onto a really pleasant pond and garden was very comfortable. Many yummy breakfast options and the beach is a highlight. Ready access to Hoi An by taxi for ~$5US including tip. Just a pity the hotel shuttle didn't run more frequently or at convenient times. WiFi was poor in room but OK at restaurants etc. Biggest disappointment though was dinner in the terrace restaurant. Seafood platter for 2 was a bit thin on and what was presented was well overcooked. Maybe just a bad night in the kitchen with a few short power outages before dinner but buyer beware.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This resort is a 5 we were upgraded on arrival, staff are happy and friendly, beach is lovely, happy hour is a must sitting along bach watching the sun go down, only down fall to this resort is shuttle bus into hoi an is every 3 hours,
Staff are always out cleaning.

Room Tip: Wifi was really good, we ha upgade we were on higher level no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnPortlandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#56 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
2.9 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#78 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.2 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Lac Long Quan Street, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#39 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on five hectares of landscaped tropical garden with over 400 species of palm trees and plants right along a 220-meter stretch of the famous Cua Dai, Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa offers a touch of Hoi An's traditional architectural design combined with a taste of modern luxury and only 5 minutes by car from the UNESCO- recognized World Heritage Hoi An ancient town. The combination of nature and a unique architecture remarkable of the culture of Hoi An make a distinctive character for Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa. Elegant accommodation comprises 216 wooden-designed rooms and beachfront bungalows. Spacious guest rooms have been constructed from and furnished with natural materials, and all feature a private balcony and modern amenities. Resort facilities encompass a deluxe spa offering best products, a fitness centre complete with sauna, state of the art meeting facilities, water sports activities, a private beach, and a 969 square-metre outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Guests are sure to enjoy the resort's selection of cuisine, ranging from traditional Vietnamese to international specialties at restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Palm Garden Beach Hotel Hoi An
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing