We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Whitianga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. we were met at Danang Airport without problem. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was clean and all we needed. Loved the pool, we are 60+ travellers and really enjoyed being able to use it. As in other reports that comment on extra paid for making bookings etc. WELL it is a business and if you dont want to pay for the convenience then book elsewhere but the service was there for those who needed it. Breakfast incl was great and more than adequate. Also having internet was very convenient. Being in the tourism business ourselves we do understand how it all works and for the price this hotel provided a good service. Coffee wasnt always how we liked it but hey! when in Rome and it is all part of the travel experience. Anyone complaining about this hotel should pay the price and stay in the Hilton

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor and back rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuaotunubay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    237
    86
    41
    19
See reviews for
67
281
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We spend 2 nights at Than Vanh 1 hotel and it was just ok.
Hotel is very well located, a couple of blocks again from main attractions.
Staff and service is good, not great. Why? I contacted the hotel weeks before my arrival and asked them to send a driver to pick us up at Danang Airport. The day before our arrival I sent them our flight number and arrival time. The driver NEVER showed up. We waited for about half an our and ended up taking a taxi outside the airport. When we arrived to the hotel the lady at front desk assured me our pick up was at the airport arrivals area, but he it wasn't! Danang airport is not so big to not see someone holding a card with your name on it...
Room was old, there was damp on the ceiling and some walls, and the hole room smelled like it.
Didn't even use the swimming pool. By being in the middle of the ground floor rooms didn't "invite" us to get in.
Breakfast was fine, though coffee was undrinkable. Horrible!
They recommended us a tailor shop just a few meters from the hotel and we got a couple of coat and pants, very good price!
Anyway, and despite all the cons, hotel is actually according to what you pay, nothing more. Maybe, if you get a better room and meet your driver at the aiport, you'll have better luck!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenciaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We arive after a long busride from nha trang and actually just picked it from the lonely planet book and they had a room for 2 persons. We lived in room nr. 402 at the top wich is very nice you get to see the sunset over the city and can enjoy a quiet time on the rooftop in the evening. Johnny superviser was really helpfull and hooked us up with the tailor next door who by the way are very good. We also rented motorbikes that was also a good experience and actually cheaper than buying a cap to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faur17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel after staying in one down the street that had the worse tripadvisor reviews. I got a room on the top floor. It wasnt as nice as the ones on the 1st-3rd floor. I paid $15/night after major bargaining, but the nicer rooms are $22-25. The staff were nice to me. Mostly younger girls. Most guesthouses in Vietnam are staffed with untrained people sometimes full families that live and work at the hotel. So I learned quickly not to expect professionalism. I was asked to visit their clothes shop or do a tour with them. I have yet to find a place in Vietnam that doesnt exploit their tours and moterbike rentals etc. The room was clean enough. Sloped ceiling because I was on the top floor. It had a great view from the hallway. The pool was a relief from the sun's heat. Buffet Breakfast was ok, but nothing to rave about. I mostly just ate fruits and pastries. and bread. Coffee was watered down. They shut down around 10pm or so. security sleeps at the door.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms and bargain hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We found this hotel to be in a great location, able to walk to all the attractions in town, nice swimming pool. The breakfast was a good buffet selection, available for 2.5 hours in the morning. Clean. Ask for a room at the back as ours was on the street and a little noisy in the mornings. Rooms were a reasonable size.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This hotel is certainly not the fanciest in Hoi An, but it is a great hotel for a budget price near the old quarter. Johnny and Miss Loc were extremely helpful and deserve recognition.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The staff was really unfriendly! For sure you have a nice corridor with a swimming pool BUT:

1) Most of the rooms are blind room. You have a window but there are walls at 20 cm from it!
2) Really noisy hotel (consequence of the nice corridor)
3) Expensive excursions (we have compared with friends staying somewhere else)

Finally the place is not bad but why would you stay there when you can have really better hotel at 100 meters from there with a lower price and great staff?!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aureetseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#42 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#48 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#44 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#77 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing