We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanh Van Hotel”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #69 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Thanh Van Hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Check out the Tailor shop next to Thanh van Hotel on Tran hung Dao St. Hoi An. "Jennifer Lopez" is the best sales lady in Vietnam. She talked me into having 3 dresses that I didnt even need tailored. She was very helpful with the design and styling and fitting. The quality and finish was very good. i would go again

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilyli711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    240
    86
    41
    19
See reviews for
69
282
71
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We arrived early on the overnight bus and choose this hotel based on the lonely planet recommendation. Think it has changed since the book has been written. We were given a room on the top floor for $ 20 dollars. ( we are budget travellers and have paid $15 in Saigon and nha trang so were surprised why this remote town was more expensive). Anyway if it was fine we were happy to get a bed for the night. The room really smelt of damp and was dirty. I politely asked for another room and then was told the other rooms were € 27. We looked at one of these, which had damp patches in the corner and was overpriced. The staff were rude, unconcerned, hoping to to getting the extra money for the night. We put our rucksacks on our backs and were very happy to find a nicer hotel giving us a bigger cleaner room for $18 literally around the corner inc breakfast called Thanh Binh hotel. Shop around in hoi an!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deisefilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Good location and not far walk from old city and river. Terrific breakfast buffet included in room price. Expensive laundry and pricing for airport transfer ($18) when other locations in town are only $12-$13. Internet is spotty. Painfully slow connection in the lobby and good luck trying to use the printer – didn’t work the 4 days I was there. Wireless connection is strong when its working, but constantly going out. Had to go to reception too many times to count to get them to sort out issues. Too cold to use swimming pool and water was green. Charming large rooms with comfy beds and good size clean bathroom. Cleaning staff were a bit noisy in the AM – especially if they seem to be hanging out in front of your room waiting to start their work - we stayed in room 209. Its a good option for the price - cheaper to go through travel site on line than booking direct and also better to book services/tours at other locations in town, hotel seems to inflate prices quite a bit.

Room Tip: avoid the street noise and hotel foot traffic, make sure you dont get a room on ground floor and req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoga_Chica73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We arrived here and managed to get a room in the front part of the hotel. Staff were efficient and seemed busy at first. Our room was fine, not the cleanest but perfectly adequate. The room was actually well layed out and a nice place to be and it had a little balcony and satellite TV. Breakfast was great and the hotel has good facilities. At $25 a night it was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed in and I felt it was overpriced for the quality and level of service. Where this hotel fell down in my eyes was the constant attempts to rip us off for money. Now I would expect this from many hotels in vietnam but not one recommended in the Lonely Planet. In the end they accused us of stealing unbrellas, tried to charge extra mini bar items we hasn't used, tried to charge us double for a late check out and finally charged us a lot of money (in Vietnamese terms) for train tickets and taxi to the station in Danang. We booked train tickets with them thinking we would be put on the private carriages which are usually pretty decent but instead they had bought us government train tickets and pocketed the $14 extra they had charged us. They use a little piece of card stapled to the train tickets so it hides the price; it ended up with 8 people sat in Danang station fuming at this pretty devious tactic to hide the fact that these were really cheapo traqin tickets. The taxi was also way overpriced. Staff were okish apart from one young man on reception who is a crook and became agressive when questioned on anything to do with prices etc.... Its a shame as its a nice hotel and otherwise is an ok choice. I have to say though that due to the staff and the way they ripped us (and several other people we spoke to subsequently) off I will be writing to Lonely Planet to recommend they take this hotel out of their book. If you can live with paying over the odds for things and like sharp hotel staff then don't worry too much just make sure you don't put the unbrellas from the room behind the door or you will get accused of theft by a rude receptionist!

Room Tip: Choose the hotel next door for half the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellaSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

great pool and inner courtyard (useless in rainy season), terrific breakfast, rooms not nice at all for what you pay, staff has very short fuse, became very curt with us when we twice refused to stay in a horribly mildewy room, told us to find another hotel, which we did- the vin hung 3 around the corner is a much better value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blochbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights after Nha Trang. Arrived off the night bus at 7:00am. Unfortunatly our room wasnt ready but they let us have breakfast for $2 each which wasnt bad. As our room wasnt going to be ready until 12 the staff let us into another room for a nap until our room was ready which was great.
The room was fairly clean although a little dated, we constantly had to battle ants, which was a slight annoyance but being in south east asia something im now very used too.
Had a mini bar selection and some snacks for a reasonable price.
We had air con and a little balcony facing the main road which was noisy at times but didnt effect us too much.
There is a swimming pool which we didnt use.
Very near to the old town, about 10mins walk but there are 4 banks and restraunts close by. Also lots of tailors (the hotel has one next door)
The staff were great but sometimes a little too imposing, I dont mind general banter but always felt there was a motive to get you to go somewhere.
The bad side was, like others have mentioned that if you go to breakfast too late the food is a little stale. And there arnt many tables.
Also we booked the bus to Hue from the hotel for $6 each not a bad price, which was supposed to be a hotel pick up, instead of a pick a chap comes on his motorbike and makes you follow him for a 10min walk to where the pick up is lol!
Would definatly stay again as the price was reasonable, laundry cheap and free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We can really recomend Thanh Van hotel ,the staff very helpful and kind very clean room, Breakfast is ok very good for money if stay longer.Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#43 of 147 in Hoi An
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 147 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#113 of 147 in Hoi An
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#133 of 147 in Hoi An
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing