We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #62 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
raalte (holland)
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

last year we stayed in this hotel for one week.perfect rooms.nice swimming pool.near the centre of the city.good breakfast en there was internet in the hotel.near the hotel you cood rent motorbikes.friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    226
    86
    41
    19
See reviews for
62
272
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The pool, the rooms and the breakfast were excellent but our best experience was the amazing staff. My friends and I got stuffed around by a dodgy travel agent in Hue and when we realised that we weren't going to make it to Saigon in time the staff were so sweet and caring and organised a flight for us in about twenty minutes. Saved our trip!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

On first impressions this hotel has everything you might want but look a little closer and you'll realise that things aren't quite as they first seem. Our first room at this hotel was located at the front of the building which, although a good size, the noise from the road was pretty bad, and the shutters on all the windows made them room very dark. We were kept awake by traffic roaring past at night - worsened by the fact that the traffic lights turn to amber throughout the night which means that everyone who passes through the junction beeps their horn. This isn't the fault of the hotel of course, but just something to be aware of. Our room had an electrical fault with the water heater - which at one point sparked and nearly caught fire. Having complained about this we were told that it would be looked at - but this didn't happen. The aircon unit also dripped water on the floor continuously. We asked to move rooms and the staff offered us a quieter room at the back of the hotel which has a view of a brick wall (which was preferential to the incessant traffic noise). The cleanliness of the sheets and pillows left a lot to be desired, the internet was incredibly slow, and the computers frustrating to use.

Despite all these issues the main problem with this hotel was the staff. Their approach is slightly aggressive and they don't take well to you booking tours with people in town (go direct and you'll end up on the same tour but for a cheaper price). When we booked a motorbike through them we paid the guy to get our petrol only to get totally ripped off and have him put in next to no fuel for the amount we paid (we used motorbikes a lot so know that 2 litres of fuel gets the bike off the red). We didn't make that mistake again. Hoi An is a lovely place - so don't let your trip there be tarnished by this poor hotel. It wasn't even that cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked this hotel via agoda.com, where we got a superior room for around 30$.

When we arrived, we immediately discovered i lost my passport. The staff took the initiatie to call our last hotel in Hue, where we apparentely left my passport behind. They than arranged for my passport to arrive that same day! Thanks again!

The room was very nice, very clean with airco and seperate bathroom with hot water. The breakfast offered a good choice in eggs, bread, fruits,... . They have a great pool (although we didn't use it). The location is great, just off the busy centre but easily accessible by foot.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Book via agoda.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StijnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We didn't really want to stay in this hotel but we were too tired to look any further and it was conveniently located. It looks nice from the outside but the rooms were ancient with a huge ugly bathroom that they never cleaned. The 'duvets' were these heavy dirty looking things and the room was just generally unmaintained. The staff seemed to wonder around aimlessly looking bored and never did anything about the fact that the fridge didn't stay closed and we had a massive ant problem even after asking them to do something about it. The breakfast was pretty good but not good enough to make up for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

My girlfriend and I liked this hotel. It was really good value considering the quality of the room, swimming pool and free (albeit average) breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a good base for our explorations of Hoi An and its beautiful beaches.

They also let us wait in their reception area and take a shower before we got on the night bus, about 8 hours after we checked out, which was much appreciated.

There were a couple of minor drawbacks. The aforementioned breakfast was a little bland (but included in the price of the room). The aircon just about cooled our room down to a manageable temperature but there was no burst of cool air like we got in other hotels on our trip. Finally, the staff went through a scripted listed of questions (where are you going? Can we book transport for you? Do you want any clothes made?) and tried to convince us to go to their cloth shop. Which was a little pressuring.

But they were minor issues and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This was our 3rd stay here and unfortunately the worst, we wouldn't have gone back if we didn't like it, but sadly it seems they've neglected the place a bit with staff and service, also our bed was like a rock and nearly unusable. Sorry guys wont be coming back, you need to lift your act.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool, they're the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#46 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#35 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#70 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing