We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trapped by the beautiful pool and amazing bed”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #69 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
ft lauderdale
1 review
“Trapped by the beautiful pool and amazing bed”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We originally meant to stay in Hoi an 2 nights and we found this hotel in lonely planet. The one in town was full so they shuttled us for free to their sister hotel right outside of town. We were initially turned off by the location but they give you free bike rentals and a free shuttle into town every 30 minutes. Once we arrived here we were greeted by the staff and after negotiating a price, showed our room. The room was amazing and the beds huge and incredibly comfortable. Wooden floors, minibar, a massive bathroom with marble walls and floor and a bathtub. We had a sofa couch and found much comfort in our room. We went downstairs to check out the pool and one week later we were checking out. I The rooms and pool were that amazing we just kept staying. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and I have never seen a smile so big and genuine as the woman that cleaned our rooms everyday. Just goes to show you that from the people behind the desk to the women making your bed they are all lovely and incredibly sweet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    240
    86
    41
    19
See reviews for
69
282
71
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Lonely Planet suggested thí hotel and it was just what we were looking for. $16 a night (after a bit of a Haggle) and we had a pool, clean rooms, friendly staff, cheap and delicious food in the Hotel restaurant and overall an amazing experience. I'd recommed to backpackers and familes alike.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GapYearRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Extremely noisy hotel on main road/intersection (Vietnamese love gratuitous horn use at all hours).

We were given a very poor room next to reception/dining room where staff watched loud tv until late at night.

Manager was rude and aggressive when we checked out after one night. Only then did he offer a better room. I feel we may have been stuck with a bad room as, having booked online, we were comitted to staying unlike walk-in guests.

I suggest going elsewhere for quieter surrounds and cooler staff eg Ba Trieu (this is a street), the old town (which is closed to motorised traffic at night) on An Hoi Island.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luti_Luti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

THANH VAN 2 is a new hotel and a few streets away from thanh van hotel and we were so lucky to stumble across this hotel as we were just booking as we travelled. The hotel we planned on staying at had no room and suggested we try Thanh Van 2. We walked into the beautiful reception area and met Johnny who was very happy and friendly and kindly showed us one of his deluxe rooms which is amazing...it's the nicest hotel room we have stayed at in Vietnam ...actually we have travelled a lot and its the nicest room we have stayed in anywhere, including Australia... Hoi An is a beautiful town to stay the shopping is amazing. The free shuttle bus between hotels is great....but if you want to walk to the town its only 5 minutes or $1 or less for a cab at night....the bus also takes you to the beach and picks you up for $2 this includes a deck chair and towel when you get there. I can not fault this hotel at all..the breakfast is included and also the best breakfast we have had in vietnam...Johnny at reception is the most helpful man I have met and the staff are lovely..communication was very easy...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My familiy I stayed at this hotel before the flood of Hoi An. Despite the city center location close to shopping and historical site, this hotel offer a generally poor level of facilities and comfort such as bedsheets, blanket and new pillows. The staff are not attentive and we can feel obliging discrimination. It is quite one of the worst maintained and managed hotels it has ever been our misfortune to stay at. We only stayed ther one night because we had paid for it with the travel agent in Saigon. When we arrive, they try to charge us extra for the room we were not confirmed and we didnt book for. we reserved danother hotel from Tripadvisor but that day it was fully book.

Hotel offer poor choice breakfast and standard of food, serve with poor level of service in restaurant. It appeared solely motivated by considerations of the minimum expense and standards it could get away with. If you don't want to be ripped off, do not go there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breezeyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

nice hotel. big room with a nice hot shower. looks fancy in the pictures because of the hotel. standard of room is prob as you'd expect for a 2-3*. served a purpose but i wouldnt rave about this one to everybody, there were loads and loads of similar hotels at a similar price in the ares. it think it was a tenner a night. the pool with open roof was a nice touch and nice at night. hardly anyone ever in it! the guy on reception is a mobile phone wheeler dealer and will try and buy any electronic item you have!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveReviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho chi Minh city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed there with friends and althought our rooms were noisy because on the street side, we enjoyed our stay there. The place is lovely, nice swimming pool in the central patio. The location is convenient and the breakfast included in the price of the room (20°) is great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie-HCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#43 of 147 in Hoi An
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 147 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#113 of 147 in Hoi An
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#133 of 147 in Hoi An
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing