We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We've been backpacking it on a $10-$30 a night budget for our room (standard double), and experienced a wide range of service. This hotel was as nice as many 4 star hotels in Australia, with friendly service and large rooms. It's a bit further out of town than many others, but still an easy 10-minute stroll to the Old Town area, so it's very managable. Just don't assume that it means it will be quieter - our room overlooked a major road, so we were woken up a bit by buses and trucks with very loud horns, at all times of the night. Definitely worthwhile though, and very popular with families. The shuttle bus was fantastic as we haven't needed to spend a cent on transport within the town!
Very nice for couples looking to spend a couple of nights in a comfortable, quiet room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for Thanh Van Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

A wonderful change to have such a beautiful place to stay thanh Van 2, a little out of town but a shuttle bus to take you in, 5 minutes.
people friendly, helpful, breakfast very good and swimming pool super.
Various prices for rooms but none too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coroAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

i stayed 3 nights, johnny and his staff were always polite and willing to help. the room was very clean and well furnished, the pool a bonus in hoi an heat and the breakfast fresh. At $22.00 per night, this was a flash packers delight. from Michelle, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellebyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We were in Hoian for 3 days with Thanh Van hotel. We just said "WOW..." from the day checked in. Yes, staffs here are friendly and useful. They were willing to assist you for everything. The hotel provides us nice buffett breakfast (with many choices). The hotel is just 1 minute walking to the old quarter. Did not want to check out any more but the visa did not permit for us to do that. Would love to be back next vacation and have fun with the staffs here. Thanks for everything that Thanh Van hotel's staffs have done for us. x.x.x

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbrown81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We originally meant to stay in Hoi an 2 nights and we found this hotel in lonely planet. The one in town was full so they shuttled us for free to their sister hotel right outside of town. We were initially turned off by the location but they give you free bike rentals and a free shuttle into town every 30 minutes. Once we arrived here we were greeted by the staff and after negotiating a price, showed our room. The room was amazing and the beds huge and incredibly comfortable. Wooden floors, minibar, a massive bathroom with marble walls and floor and a bathtub. We had a sofa couch and found much comfort in our room. We went downstairs to check out the pool and one week later we were checking out. I The rooms and pool were that amazing we just kept staying. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and I have never seen a smile so big and genuine as the woman that cleaned our rooms everyday. Just goes to show you that from the people behind the desk to the women making your bed they are all lovely and incredibly sweet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Lonely Planet suggested thí hotel and it was just what we were looking for. $16 a night (after a bit of a Haggle) and we had a pool, clean rooms, friendly staff, cheap and delicious food in the Hotel restaurant and overall an amazing experience. I'd recommed to backpackers and familes alike.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GapYearRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Extremely noisy hotel on main road/intersection (Vietnamese love gratuitous horn use at all hours).

We were given a very poor room next to reception/dining room where staff watched loud tv until late at night.

Manager was rude and aggressive when we checked out after one night. Only then did he offer a better room. I feel we may have been stuck with a bad room as, having booked online, we were comitted to staying unlike walk-in guests.

I suggest going elsewhere for quieter surrounds and cooler staff eg Ba Trieu (this is a street), the old town (which is closed to motorised traffic at night) on An Hoi Island.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luti_Luti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 159 in Hoi An
1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#124 of 159 in Hoi An
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#79 of 159 in Hoi An
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#59 of 159 in Hoi An
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#43 of 159 in Hoi An
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing