We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting hotel”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #62 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I took a vacation at this hotel 2 years ago. I'm thai. I rented a van from Thai - Laos border to travel around central Vietnam through Laos-Vietnam border. Vietnamese civil servant provident fund didn't almost allow us to pass the border becuase of the driver's temporary driver's license. You shouId check his driver's license before you hire some drivers. knew it from the internet. It's nice place to stay. There was a small swimming pool in the center of the hotel. You should take a swimming suit because it's so hot in the afternoon. When you're back to the hotel after walking around Hoian world heritage site. I believe that you'd like leap to the swimming pool all at once. Their rooms were convenient & clean. The price included American breakfast such as omelet & baguette that was popular food. This place is very near the center of Hoian ancient town just walking 3 blocks. At night, you should walk around the site for shopping and try some local food. There were many shops for buying souvenirs, but I think it's more expensive than at Hue (Dong Ba market).

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodidear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 3 nights in this place and it was a pleasant stay. They have a swimmingpool and a breakfast buffet next to it! A good location also since its close to the old town. If I go back here I would stay at the same place!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and it was nothing to complain about! The room was great with both aircondition, fan and hotwater shower. The breakfast buffet was the best part! Johnny was nice and helpful, as the rest of the staff! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresiaskotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We live in Saigon and have been here for 2 years and stayed in around 50 hotels around the country so have no issues with Vietnamese culture problems or language barriers.

My pregnant fiance and I booked a deluxe room reduced to $40 a night for 2 nights for a long weekend during the public holiday to celebrate King Hung. On arrival we were shown to a nice large room, clean with 2 large balconies and a nice bath and separate shower.

When we came home from town around midnight we realised a curtain in the room was missing and went to bed, unfortunately we were woken at 5.20am with the sun bursting in. Not a massive issue at the time so we got up and had breakfast and before heading out reported to reception the missing curtain and asked they replace it as my fiance is pregnant and wanted a good nights sleep. They said it was being cleaned and would replace it before we went to bed.

We said ok and if they couldn't, to let us know so we would move to another hotel (no rudeness just explained that fiance needed sleep and they had no rooms) but they assurred us when we came home the curtain would be there. Again we returned at midnight and all the staff were asleep and lights out with hotel keys left on the side. We went to our room and were pretty surprised to find no curtain.

Again woken at 5.30 and after breakfast when we checked out raised the issue of there being no curtain even though we were assured it would be replaced. The receptionist just said " Sorry its still being cleaned" and laughed about it being sandy. No apology, nothing at all.

I go to Hoi An about four times a year and this is the first time i have stayed here, the last times at River Beach outside of town. The purpose of staying here was because my manager in HCMC is organising a work trip to Hoi An and I was checking out suitable hotels for the 43 staff members coming on the trip.

I will probably stay at the Tanh Van II with my fiance again as the rooms were nice, it was well located but seriously they need to get their level of service in check. Its not somewhere i will put my trust in to look after our staff though so Tan Vanh II you have missed out!

Taxi approx - 300k from Danang Airport

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edbews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This hotel is great value for money. We paid USD15 per room per night and the service was very good. Breakfast is included in the rate which is a very decent spread. Free internet, a great, clean pool and staff are very helpful. I forgot my camera cable at home and needed to load my photo's onto flikr every night and they were always willing to assist with their cable on hand. It is a 10 minute walk to the Ancient town and they offer a return shuttle for USD2 per person to Cua Dai Beach where you get free deck chair and towel to use as long as you want. They are also situated just round the corner from the wonderul Hoi An Day Spa!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We've been backpacking it on a $10-$30 a night budget for our room (standard double), and experienced a wide range of service. This hotel was as nice as many 4 star hotels in Australia, with friendly service and large rooms. It's a bit further out of town than many others, but still an easy 10-minute stroll to the Old Town area, so it's very managable. Just don't assume that it means it will be quieter - our room overlooked a major road, so we were woken up a bit by buses and trucks with very loud horns, at all times of the night. Definitely worthwhile though, and very popular with families. The shuttle bus was fantastic as we haven't needed to spend a cent on transport within the town!
Very nice for couples looking to spend a couple of nights in a comfortable, quiet room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

A wonderful change to have such a beautiful place to stay thanh Van 2, a little out of town but a shuttle bus to take you in, 5 minutes.
people friendly, helpful, breakfast very good and swimming pool super.
Various prices for rooms but none too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coroAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#54 of 162 in Hoi An
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#47 of 162 in Hoi An
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#86 of 162 in Hoi An
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#58 of 162 in Hoi An
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel
Long Life Riverside Hotel
#143 of 162 in Hoi An
929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £20 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing