We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the scamming staff!”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #66 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beware of the scamming staff!”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel appears nice and the surroundings are pleasant. Our room was big and fairly clean but had a slightly damp feel. The hot water ran out quickly and the tv was not working.
The main issue is the staff. Incredibly unfriendly and unwilling to help unless it benefits them. We wanted directions to a bus station nearby to which we were told there taxi would take us to the bus stop for a price triple the bus fair and for only five minutes. When we told them we were going to walk they claimed to not know where this bus station was.
We arrived early and were told our room was not ready so asked if we could have their breakfast, we were told one price but on checking out were given another, we argued and they got very angry with us.
They try to scam you so be careful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneBelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    243
    88
    41
    19
See reviews for
71
286
73
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with the staff's willingness to store our luggage both at the beginning (before check-in time) and end(check-out time)of our stay. Breakfasts were plentiful and in a nice setting near the hotel pool. The hotel is very close to old town, the market and all the sights.
The manager, Johnny, was helpful and speaks several languages.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerXtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We walked into Tranh Van because our first choice guesthouse was already full. This place was recommended on the Lonely Planet book so we decided to check it out.

We check out one of the rooms and decided that it was a nice room for this price range and checked in. After we checked in we were told the room that we originally viewed is actually already booked and we will be in another identical room. When we went into the room it was evident that the rooms were not identical. If this was the room we were originally shown we would not have decided to stay. After insisting that we either get the original room shown to us or we will be leaving, we were moved.

The front desk staff were very rude and pushy. Immediately they told us we should use their tailor out the door. I did not see a smile on her face throughout my stay there. Whenever we asked for their help on anything they seemed very annoyed.

the breakfast buffet is OK, since it is included in the room price i won't complain. Although I have to say they serve the worst coffee I have had in Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_vancouver_bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Thanh Van I was a very covenient and affordable place to stay in the center of Hoian. The staff was very helpful and many services were availble in the hotel and nearby. We would stay here agin upon a return to Hoian.

Hoyel is very flexible with payment in local currency an US dollars, but it would b better if credit cards were accepted.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Thanh Van Hotel (Hoi An) for 3 nights, at the end of a 3month trip around SE Asia. We found the staff here to be very friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a prime location, near the main eating/drinking area and close to plenty of tailors. Our room was quite big and more importantly very clean with the added bonus of a bath and satellite TV (a luxury when you have spent most of your travels in a box room, with nothing to do on the nights where you just want to relax and take a break from socialising!). There is also a pretty swimmng pool but unfortunately we didn't have the best weather to be able to enjoy it.

The free breakfast was also a nice extra, fresh fruit, bread that would melt in your mouth and eggs just how you like them.

For anyone that is travelling around Asia, i would mention that, in our experience, Vietnam was more expensive (for accomodation) than most places in Asia which we hadn't expected. However, in comparison to what we heard others paid in Hoi An, i think we got a great deal at Thanh Van Hotel ($20-$25 a night) and i would certainly recommend it. All in all a lovely experience, a lovely hotel in a lovely town! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

For $25 USD per night this hotel delivers a good nights sleep in an excellent location in Hoi An, walking distance from all the sights in the old city.

Rooms were adequate, though on the dark and musty side.

Most of the staff were perfectly friendly except for one receptionist who was consistently rude.

Free internet access and public computers were available and the pool was fine.

For a decent place to sleep in Hoi An this hotel was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We checked in just fine after a pick up from the airport for $15. Room was $32 for a triple share. Reception was friendly, but not very helpful when it came to restaurant suggestions when she recommended pretty much the entire old town instead of a specifix restaurant.

Breakfast was full of fruit, pastry and fried rice. Coffee is pretty weak, which strange since there is such good coffee all around. Or perhaps it's because i've adjusted to the coffee in Vietnam now.

Bed was very comfy, but room w bit bare. Worst thing is the room was mouldy so much so that my friend was getting sick from it.

When we asked the first receptionist for price of bus to hue-she said $5 per head, but when we subsequently booked with another front desk clerk, she quotes $6. I get the feeling that they're trying to scam you all, therefore didn't want to go back for more questions or bookings.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigwhitebetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 153 in Hoi An
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#45 of 153 in Hoi An
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#114 of 153 in Hoi An
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#135 of 153 in Hoi An
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel Villa & Spa
0.3 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing