We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked 3 nights - stayed for 11 nights!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homestay Hoa Mau Don
Ranked #65 of 271 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Booked 3 nights - stayed for 11 nights!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 nights and ended up with 11! The hotel is really nice and we just couldent leave. The rooms are BIG and super clean and the wifi works perfectly in the room. The breakfast is free and large and you have lots of options to choose from. The hotel has a great location, alomst in the old town and just 3 km from An Bang Beach - they have bikes at the hotel!! The staff was super nice and they can help you with anything you need - thank you so much for a lovely stay!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JakobERH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
43
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The homestay rather feels like a hotel pretending to be a homestay. Yes, there is a family sometimes sleeping on the lobby floor, but the only people you ever have contact with is the nice young receptionist and her sister (though only one speaks good english, and they do not seem to live there). The rooms are spacious and clean, but there seem to be some problems. First a street of ants in the rooms, then a huge huntsman in the bathroom, and in the end a broken ac that dropped into the room (they admitted that is not the first time it is happening). Still, we were very patient and service was at least ok. What we found really bad though, is the way the served our breakfast - when we offered Cau Lao, which is the most typical dish in Hoi An, they went to a street stall to buy some, came back with a plastic bag and just changed it to make it seem its freshly cooked. You can expect better from a guesthouse that offers breakfast!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iddqd4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoa M, General Manager at Homestay Hoa Mau Don, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear writer
Many thanks for choosing us in your tip.
Our location was very well (near center) , but it's near street and make you tired. Staff's english is not good and We are working very hard to provide English lessons to all our team members since it is not their mother tongue.
Your kind comment is well noted and we will improve it.
We shall be waiting for your return soon!

Best regards,

Miss Hoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The owners allowed us to check in as early as 6.30 after arriving from Nha Trang. The room we booked was surprisingly spacious, clean and we enjoyed the balcony view of our room. Owners helped us with the whereabout of the town since it's our first time there. Breakfast was decent, walking distance to the town is within 10-15 minutes time, but you can rent the bicycle provided for just 30,000VND/day.

The room toilet smells a bit but anyhow this place is still value for money and a nice stay.

Room Tip: Forget walking, rent the bicycle for just 30,000VND/day and you will find it more enjoyable to cycle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoa M, General Manager at Homestay Hoa Mau Don, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear writer
Greetings from Hoa Mau Don and thank you for staying with us and your review is highly appreciated.
We highly appreciate you recognition on our hardware and our people. We always try our best to exceed our guests expectation.
I'm look forward to see you again.
Yours very truly,

Miss Hoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good location, quite cheap and large rooms.
However, we had an infestation in our room. Even got into our stuff and followed us to the next place. Massive turn-off! Only time we've had anything like this in three months of travelling.
Only one member of the family/staff could speak English.
Cannot pay by card - this was buried in the confirmation email (which we read quite thoroughly and still missed). Staff did not let us know on check-in.
Some clothes ruined in laundry.
Breakfast not great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This family is very welcoming even at 0630 when our night bus arrived from Dalat. We were able to check in early for breakfast (which was great - fresh bread, eggs, fruit, drink of your choice) and have a nap. The double room we had was massive, fridge, air con, loads of storage, fan, panelled ceiling this place had lots of character. Later on one of the members of the family gave us a map and information on the tours that are available and a tailor that they recommended (Kimmy). It was a short walk into town and about a 40min walk to the beach even less on a bicycle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Centrally located homestay with very friendly staff. Right upon arrival they gave us a lot of information about Hoi An and the surroundings. Nothing was too much for them. Luxurious rooms for homestay standards and a good breakfast. Bikes and motorbikes available for rental. Through the homestay we arranged a nice trip to My Son and we also used their motorbikes for a trip through the surroundings and beaches. Immediately the receptionist advised us a nice route and to also visit the marble mountains. It turned out to be excellent advice, we loved the tour!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiwi020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I loved this place. The room was huge and lovely prepared before my arrival. During the check in, the service staff told me everything I have to know about what to do in Hoi An and around. Everything in the room was nice. I cannot complain about anything. Absolutely a place to recommend.

The location was superb. You can rent a bicycle here for almost nothing and take a 5 - 10 minutes to the old town. Best way to get around here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaYu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#106 of 153 in Hoi An
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#67 of 153 in Hoi An
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#77 of 153 in Hoi An
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 153 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
2.1 mi away
Native's House - Rice Flower Homestay
0.2 mi away
Nu Ni Homestay
Nu Ni Homestay
#33 of 209 in Hoi An
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Hoa Mau Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Hoa Mau Don

Property: Homestay Hoa Mau Don
Address: 23 Thai Phien, Cam Pho, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Hoi An, look no further than Hoa Mau Don Homestay. Situated only 0.1 km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Homestay Hoa Mau Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing