We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indochine was better than we expected”
Review of Indochine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indochine Hotel
Ranked #119 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
worldwide Brits
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Indochine was better than we expected”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

OK, so this review is going to be a bit different from the others. When we arrived by taxi (having been treated to the lost taxi driver - helpful passer by who happens to have a tailors shop routine) we were shown to our rooms. We had the rooms which overlooked the pool and sat behind the huge Indochine sign at the front of the hotel - this was a huge balcony.

The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and very modern. The bathroom was good and quite spacious. The bed and bedding were very clean. The pool was great too.

We ate only once at the hotel and that was a snack of noodles so I cannot say anything about the breakfast.

The hotel was very busy with Vietnamese and Chinese guests at times but the pool was generally quiet.

As a measure of the good service we received, one of our party left some clothing behind by mistake. We emailed the hotel who sent the clothing to our next destination (Nha Trang) and it was there the day after. And free of charge. There is also a free shuttle service into Hoi An and back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonandmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    72
    46
    20
    23
See reviews for
37
85
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have done a lot of travelling thru many Asian countries and stayed in many many hotels, but I have never experienced such disgusting service as I have at the Indochine Hotel. The first problem we encountered was that we were not picked up at the airport even though we had booked our transport and confirmed it by phone to the staff at the hotel. Many excuses were given like we had not given our flight details and we had not confirmed our arrival time and date.
NOT TRUE. We rang the hotel 5 days prior to our arrival with details of our arrival. When we complained to the desk staff we negotiated to have our return transfer to the airport free of charge.
BREAKFAST: We had paide for our breakfasts in advance so we went up to the breakfast room
to find the worst display of stale, dried out food I have ever seen. Not only did it look stale, but
it was infested by ants. When we pointed it out to the staff they only then made attempls to rectify the problem. Needless to say there was no one dining there for breakfast. To be honest I dont believe I saw anyone eating breakfast for the entire time we stayed there (4 day).
When we complained to the desk staff about the poor state of the breakfast they offered us a free dinner about 24 hours later. We decided to take up this offer and we asked for the menu, we were advised that we could only order from a couple of dishes which were spicy chicken noodles..... As we were not feeling too well, we asked for toasted sandwiches (ham, cheese and tomato) and some french fries. We received some toast 4 x slices of cheese, some grilled tomatoes and a plate of french fries.
When it came time to leave, they wanted to charge us for the return trip to the airport. When we reminded them that they had offered this trip back as compensation for having left us stranded at the airport, the girl on the desk told us that the "free" dinner was given to us for their mistake for not picking us up. Well needless to say we vehemently objected to this. The free meal was for the bad breakfast we had paid for but were unable to eat because the food had salmonella written all over it. An argument ensued. We asked to speak to the hotel manager, but were advised that he had left the hotel. Needless to say we saw him walking thru the lobby when one of my friends said "Excuse me sir may I have a word with you". To our amazement the manager just walked righ past us, ignoring us completely and walked into his office a closed the door. When my friend walked into his office, he refused to discuss anything with her but sat behind his
desk mocking her. Absolutely disgusting behaviour. Do I need to mention the leaking shower.
Or the fact that staff required us to go down to them to repeatedly pick things as they would not deliver to the room. Or the fact that they got annoyed that we did not order clothing from tailors they had recommended. One look at the clothing on display would put you off from ordering anything.
Overall, the stay at the Indochine Hotel Hoian was very very disappointing and I would not recommend anyone to stay there. The attitude of the Management and their staff was simplay appalling.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

What can I say, I have travelled extensively all over Asia, this is the worst hotel ive ever stayed in.
Our stay started badly and ended worse.
We were left stranded at the airport.. no apologies, nothing. Supposedly our fault for not providing the information, even though we had rung the previous week to confirm.
Our room was not what we originally asked for.
Breakfast was a nightmare... ants crawling all over the sugar and the bread... we walked in and straight back out.
They offered us a free dinner as instead and we refused. when we finally took up their offer all we wanted were toasted sandwiches. Surely that couldn't go wrong. It did.
Any communication and we had to go down to the front desk, we couldn't even make a phone call from our room.
Room were not serviced every day.
The staff kept walking in and out of our room uninvited.
At our departure we were presented with an inflated account for transfers and our dinner of toast and cheese.
As you can imagine we were quite upset.. we asked to see the manager..he wouldnt come out of his office and left the staff at the front desk to deal with the situation. Which made us even angrier. We opted to pay for the transfer from the airport.. just to get out of there. The manager had been watching the situation from sidelines, but still refused to talk to us. I approached him in his office he walked out past me, smirked and still he remained mute.
We left extremely unhappy.




.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effieeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I think the title says it all, we stayed here for two nights booked and paid for in advance through Expedia costing £24 b&b per night and never saw a single guest. It reminded me of the Bates Motel except mother was not upstairs! Our room was sold as a deluxe river view room, if this was a deluxe god only knows what the standard rooms were like. The smell of damp was almost over powering. A taxi into town costs about £3, the hotel offers a free shuttle at specified times. Hoi An is a beautiful place to visit don't have this hotel as your lasting memory, you can stay in so much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marispiper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in a suite at this hotel and it was so beautiful. The decor was exquisite. The breakfast buffet was adequate and the restaurant food was OK. The shower leaked every time flooding the bathroom so you had to be careful getting out of the shower. It was close to town and it was easy to get there via taxi, biking, shuttle or even walking. I wound up getting sick for 3 days and missed a lot of the sights but if you have to be sick this was a great place to be sick in. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a good deal for Suite River View with two comfortable Queen size beds for 42 USD per night, incl. breakfast and daily shuttle to Hoi An old town. Rooms were reasonably clean, bed sheets and towels snow white. Hotel staff would even bring a few complimentary daily fruits, which is not a big deal for three bananas, but nice! Only 10 minutes’ walk to the beach.
Hotel feels quite empty, pool bar was never open. Staff is nice but lacks professional behavior, especially in the reception. Nothing special to say about breakfast, just a good view from 5th floor, but restaurant interior seriously lacks renovation and staff does not bother to clean away all dead cockroaches from the floor!
We wanted to extend our stay for an additional 5th day but hotel management nearly doubled the price, although our Suite was available. Receptionists (4 girls, different one every hour) acted funny while trying to negotiate the higher price. Thus we left for other hotel closer to the old town.
Restaurant advice: Just across the river on the right side of bridge there is nice family run restaurant with tasty food and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious, but mind that both beds are in the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristijonas_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

As a group of 5 we were excited to relax at a relatively expensive (in comparison) hotel. At first the hotel seemed quite fancy but eventually the cracks appeared. The double room was cheap, dirty and damp and the bathtub would leak so that the whole bathroom flooded. The tv would spontaneously turn on and off which we realised was because of the powerpoint which was completely detached from the wall- unbelievebly dangerous. The triple room was nicer but located in the reception (who does that?) and so bus loads of people would come late at night or at 5am in the morning and wake everyone up. It was too far away from town and not close enough to the beach and the shuttle was so infrequent plus renting bikes was double the price than usual in town. They were forceful about using their services which were always significantly more expensive. The bill at checkout had so many add ons we didnt use- as if making a quick buck was more important than treating guests with respect. We have stayed in many more hotels around vietnam at half the price with better room conditions, more personal service and honest prices. Would not recommend this horrible hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritastinarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea and Sand Hotel
Sea and Sand Hotel
#127 of 147 in Hoi An
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
0.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#62 of 147 in Hoi An
1,623 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hoi An
The Villa Hoi An
#111 of 147 in Hoi An
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indochine Hotel

Property: Indochine Hotel
Address: 87 Cua Dai St | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Indochine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Indochine Hotel standards of Three-Star international with 62 Rooms with modern facilities, 2 restaurants, a panorama bar at the fifth floor with over 300 seats for banquet and offering free organ music for over 60 guests, buffet breakfast, welcome drinks, free bicycle for riding around Hoi An Ancient town, ADSL internet, six cars offering professional drivers, free shuttle bus to Center and return, enthusiastic and experienced guide, well trained staff, good services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Indochine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indochine Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing