We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #95 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We arrived at this hotel without a booking and were pleased to see that had rooms available. We chose a room in the middle for $30 - it only had a small window, but we didn't really care. The room was small but beautiful, with a mozzy net/canopy - very romantic! There was great attention to detail, with flowers everywhere and other small touches. The shower was also excellent.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the main streets. The staff were excellent, helping us book our onward tickets.

The buffet breakfast was great, and the outdoor restaurant looked over a swimming pool and some rice paddies - very peaceful setting.

I would definitely stay at Thien Thanh hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agapantha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2009

My family stayed 3 nights in the family room. I thought the hotel was lovely and had a lot of character. The breakfast was really good and it was great to eat outside overlooking a green field. The laundry was cheap and satisfactory and the staff were efficient.

However, I did not like the family room. Although it is a good size it is in the roof so we had to be careful not to bump our heads on the low beams. I booked the room on the internet and expected a room overlooking either the field or the street but got neither. The room is basically without windows so very dark and we had to have the lights on the whole time we were there. There is a small internal window and a tiny window at floor level but these are inadequate.

The room smelt musty, one wall was moist and there was a constant drip in the bathroom doorway so they had a mat down to soak up water. One day they did not leave a mat so I had to go ask for one. The day before we left there were workmen on the roof so they may have been fixing the leak.

The room was large with four quite large single beds. I thought that a room advertised as a family room would at least have a bed in it that was suitable for parents to sleep together comfortably rather than either sleep seperately or squashed.

The basin in the bathroom was so high that my children were not able to reach the tap and my youngest (6 years and regular height) could not even wash her hands without being lifted up. In the end we just put the chair in front of the basin so that they could use the bathroom without adult assistance.

We were tempted to move but my children loved the space and having a big bed each so we just stayed.

I would recommend the hotel if you were after a double room (ensure you ask for a window) but not the family room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

First of all when we got there we had to sign an agreement on the price which was higher than the quote that they had given me on internet (by $5) i tried to dispute it but they assured me it wouldn't of been the lower price. I checked through my notes when i got in the room i was right but for $15 (3 x $5) i wasn't going to upset the staff.
The deluxe room was beautiful just like the pictures depict. the beds were hard but all vietnamese beds are. we were positioned right next door to a laundry mat that started washing clothes with a noisy washing machine at 430am then the staff started moving chairs around down stairs (3 levels down) and we heard every scrape of the legs against the floor at 630am no sleeping in.
Breakfast was late both mornings. One thing i do want to mention is that the staff are not at all cheerful infact they all look grumpy but we didn't care as we didn't stay there for long. it is a bit of a walk to the old town and the tailors so keep that in mind. Just down from Thien Thanh was the light candle restaurant which was beautiful and the hoi an day spa which was just great service and happy happy staff. Toto the tailors that Thien thanh supposebly have no affiliation with is not worth the time it takes didn't like any of the outfits and had plenty of fittings but thats another review.
cant compare thien thanh with other hotels because i didn't stay in any others but i wasnt unhappy with the stay. It met all my requirements but i may choose another when i go back to hoi an again which will definately be on the cards.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swennas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Stayed at Thien Thanh for 3 days. The rooms and furnishings are old and can do with a facelift. Doors did not close properly. Had to slam to shut doors. Room not well lit. We were on the 4th floor and there were no lifts. Breakfast was never ready by 7am. The staff misplaced our passports but luckily found before our departure. Spoke to other travellers who stayed in better hotels in Hoi An for cheaper price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

we booked this ahead of going and asked for a quiet room. we ended up on the ground floor right next to the lobby and stairs with the breakfast area just outside our window.

Walking around Hoi an there seemed to be lots of nicer hotels for the more dicerning traveller although not sure on the deals you can get for them. All in all an average place with some need of tidying up. Not the boutique hotel we expected.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ga22er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We ended up here after deciding against another hotel (Thai Binh 2 which appeared to be having several levels added to it and there was a lot of construction work going on) we had read about in Lonely Planet and the taxi driver dropped us here. I was a bit sceptical since he obviously got a cut out of our stay but was pleasantly surprised. At first we were told they only had a good room left at US$30 per night but when we said that was too expensive they agreed to US$20 including breakfast. The room was large, exceptionally clean with a large sparkling bathroom (no shower curtain though!). A/C and cable TV included. And a comfy SOFT bed with good pillows!! The staff were really friendly and not at all pushy about their tours. Breakfast was good with a starter of fresh fruit and muffins then choice of smoothies/fruit juices/tea or coffee then a choice of Asian brekkie or Western style (omelettes or pancakes). It's really central to all you want to see in Hue. At the moment there is some building work going on next door but we didn't hear that till around 7am so it didn't really bother us. We stayed for one night and found it perfect for what we wanted and were particulary happy with how clean the rooms were and how friendly the staff were. There is also free internet at reception.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We'd booked the Thien Thanh Hotel in advance as we were arriving from Hanoi after a 17 hour train journey and didn't want to be walking the streets looking for somewhere. In hindsight I wished we'd just turned up in Hoi An and looked for somewhere as we met a lot of people who were staying in places that were as nice as Thien Thanh but half the price.

We'd booked the standard room and as soon as we checked in they were trying to persuade us to upgrade to a superior room telling us the standard room didn't have windows etc. In fact, the standard room was fine, although expensive for what it is but we didn't want to spend the $50+ on a superior room.

Breakfast was very good, overlooking the rice fields and the free internet is a very nice touch. The pool is very small and doesn't get any sun.

We pre-booked a transfer using the hotel from the train station in Danang but found out we could get one cheaper which we did for the return journey back to the train station.

As a place, I absolutely loved Hoi An and it was one of our favourite places we visited. I probably wouldn't rush back to Thien Thanh though as you can get as nice hotels for significantly less.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#118 of 159 in Hoi An
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#131 of 159 in Hoi An
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 159 in Hoi An
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 159 in Hoi An
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#60 of 159 in Hoi An
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
#37 of 159 in Hoi An
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Hoi An
Hotel Thien Thanh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing