We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice boutique hotel, great breakfasts, staff do not have great english”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #92 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice boutique hotel, great breakfasts, staff do not have great english”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We booked online at agoda and got a room for $35, asked for quiet room due to reccomendations from web sites. upon arrival found we did not have a room at the back, which is quiet, instead we were out the front.
The room however was lovely, it was spacious and had all the mod cons- tv,dvd player, ac, bath, balconey etc.
We were waken every day at five and for the next five hours by the cocks across the road!
We did mention this to the staff and ask if anything could be done, as did other guests but to no avail.
On the second day i put on one of the silk robes and was in the room and was watching a dvd when i started to itch on my arms, I thought maybe I was getting mossie bites.
The next day I woke up with about 20 bites all over my body and went down to reception to explain that we had bedbugs in the room( I have experienced these buggers before so I knew that was what it was!
The staff were clueless as to what I was trying to explain( or were they) and at the same time said they could not accomadate us for the extra night we had asked for??
Eventually one of the staff (who knew what I was trying to say) offered to change our room for us, even though what we wanted was a mattress change.
The room we were shown was a windowless box and so we declined and once again asked for a change of mattress.
We went out for a while and when we got back it apparently had been done- although we had our doubts!
The next morning I awoke with another twenty bites on me!! not happy.
Any way apart from all this drama we did actually enjoy our stay, it is good value and breakfasts out over looking the rice pattys were awesome.
Did not like the male staff hanging around the computers and watching what I was lookin at.
upon check out they gave me a silk purse as a present, which i am sure was for the bites!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becxlovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    179
    78
    43
    43
See reviews for
89
363
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Hotel very ggod. Our room with balcony overlooked the paddy fields - very pleasant.
The owner sent ginger tea to our room one day when I had a gippy tummy, all the staff were very good. Computers in lobby not very speedy.
Really enjoyed our stay in Hoi An, a magical place to visit on a trip to Vietnam.
Have to buy a book of tickets to enter the sites in the Old town. Approx $5 each person but well worth it.
Try and stay at least 3 days to savour the atmosphere of the place and visit local beaches.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niwega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed here in January of 2011 with 2 other couples and it was absolutely the best hotel experience we had in Vietnam. We traveled from Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh city and stayed in several hotels but this one had the friendliest staff. They greeted us by name when we came down for breakfast in the morning and were just so helpful and efficient. The breakfast was great and the rooms were charming. I liked the area it was in, just a short walk to the old quarter and loved the view of the water spinach fields while eating breakfast. It was nice to sit outside to eat and have a drink in the afternoon. When we left all of the staff came out and hugged us and said goodbye.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbarbara56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Friendly staff, rooms decorated in a lovely way (although our double was confined in space the twin was generous), great breakfast in terms of outlook and food and very impressed that when we left early to meet a flight in Danang the staff prepared us breakfast. Although out of the main town still walking distance and lots of restaurants and beauty parlours nearby (got my first ever manicure and pedicure for $6 here!)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy_wilson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in January 2011. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff who were always smiling and courteous. The rooms were clean although probably in need of an update. The delicious breakfast was overlooking a water spinach field at the rear of the hotel and it was like a quiet oasis. My children used the indoor/outdoor pool a couple of times and it was clean and well maintained. The one slight irritation was that you must pay your bill with cash, they do not accept credit card. However, I was aware of this at the time of booking and was able to get cash from the ATM two minutes walk down the road. The staff also packed us a breakfast of fruit and bread/cake as we had a very early morning departure to the airport. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This hotel is friendly and clean, has a lovely breakfast area overlooking rice paddies, w an excellent breakfast with the best coffee we had on our trip and our room was clean and new with similar views. An easy walk into the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgrannysally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights and loved it. The location is short walk tfrom Ancient town (5 minutes). Our room overlooked the farm land where we could see the hand harvesting of their crops. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and all other meals were great too. I would highly recommend this hotel, we would definately stay there again. Congratulations to the staff for their hospitality.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank margnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#48 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#104 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#44 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#116 of 144 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#66 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Property: Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Hoi An
Hotel Thien Thanh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing