We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aim to please!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nhi Nhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Ranked #44 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
montreal,
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Aim to please!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Nhi Nhi. The staff at this hotel want their guest to have a good time. When we arrived at the hotel, the hostess greeted us with warm tea and asked us what our plans were. She listened carefully and helped us to book some tours and provided us with some information for the rest of our trip in Vietnam. All the staff had a positive attitude and were always smiling and ready for a conversation. The rooms were nice and clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of omelettes, pho, fruits and other goodies. There is a lovely inside court with a pool, although we did not see anybody using it. The location is fantastic, about a 5 minute walk to the old town. The hotel provides bikes for their guests. We used them to go to the beach one day and had a great time. After just 2 days we felt like we were staying with friends, they were so helpful!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with balcony facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    228
    59
    31
    13
See reviews for
118
354
138
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I stayed at this Hotel for 11 nights. I booked through Agoda. The Hotel Nhi Nhi is an excellent Vietnamese budget priced hotel. It lies to the south side of and 500 metres away from the old town with its multiple tailors’ shops, souveneir shops and cafes. In contrast the neighbouring properties reflect the usual business of a Vietnamese town with a local street market selling fresh produce, and a chemist, some general stores and two jewellers.
The entrance to the hotel is up three significant steps. There is no ramp for the disabled. The Hotel itself is on four levels. The ground floor hosts the reception, a restaurant / coffee shop, and a swimming pool as well as several guest rooms. There are guest rooms on the first, second and third floors. There is no lift. The Hotel is furnished in Vietnamese décor with lanterns hanging around the foyer and photos of old Hoi An on display. Furniture is typically Vietnamese traditional and heavy.
My room on the first floor was simply but adequately furnished with a comfortable queen sized bed, bedside table with lamp, occasional table, two chairs, a bar fridge, a TV (not flat panel) a wardrobe with a clothes drawer and a shelf for additional blankets etc. The TV programmes include a good selection of Vietnamese programmes along with some Chinese, Australian and US channels, though there is no Nat Geo nor CNN channel. The air conditioner was a split system with good effect and an easy to understand remote. There was a wall fan for additional air circulation or for those who dislike air conditioning. There was a kettle. Two bottles of drinking water were supplied each day without charge along with two sachets of coffee, two sachets of tea and either fruit or small cakes. The “in room safe” is electronic but not wired in, so that one needs to use the only key to operate it. Should one lose the key there would be a significant problem! There is no smoke alarm or sprinkler system (and I did not expect to find one).
The bathroom had a working shower over the bath with a good supply of hot water. Complementary shampoo and soap were provided but no body lotion, so if one does not like soap one needs to bring one’s own body lotion. Other complementary supplies were also available in the bathroom. There was also no hair conditioner but I have seen none in Vietnam. The toilet worked (not always my experience in this country). The room was cleaned and cleaned well each day.
The restaurant opens at 0700 and closes at 2200. Breakfast was complementary and consisted of Vietnamese options, as well as fresh fruit, bread, rolls, butter and jam. Eggs are cooked to order. There was no “western” cereal. The rest of the day a varied western and Vietnamese menu is available cooked to order a la carte. If you have such a meal please be patient. It will be prepared and cooked following your order and a wait of 20-30 minutes is not uncommon. The food however is worth the wait.
Internet is available wirelessly throughout the Hotel and there are also three desktop computers for public use in the foyer. The internet speed at night is very good. However it deteriorates during the day when there is heavy use and sending emails with photos during the day can be difficult. This seems common in Vietnam. Most guests in the hotel had their own laptop or netbook so usage during the day was high.
The outstanding feature of the Hotel is its staff – mainly young women in their 20’s who run the place along with a couple of male porters/waiters and a chef. Nothing is too much trouble and they are keen to communicate in both English and Vietnamese (which they will teach you if they are allowed!). The welcome is extremely friendly. Recommendations for services in town are good. Tours can be arranged through the front desk.
On the negative side, the Hotel along with most of Hoi An floods each rainy season and in consequence there is a musty smell on occasions through the whole town. The Hotel is no exception though it appears confined to the ground floor. If a musty smell offends you, make sure you get a room on one of the other levels. The Hotel does not accept credit cards so you will need cash to settle the account though the nature (dollars or dong) does not seem to matter.
Apart from this, if you are looking for reasonable and comfortable accommodation with a friendly and helpful staff that reflects the country it is in and is not a relocation of European or USA standards, and if you are able to climb stairs and or tolerate an occasionally musty smell, the Hotel Nhi Nhi is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeH1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed in Hoi An and at the Nhi Nhi for 7 nights when I had planned 3. From my first contact with Ly the manager by phone to make a reservation, to the hotel organized pick up at Danang train station until my departure for the airport 7 days later the Nhi Nhi was certainly a Vietnamese home to me. The service was genuine and exceptional. Loved each of the girls as well as Thu the door man who seemed to have many other tasks. I rented a pedal bike and after many giggles also got a helmet (only for motorbikes in Vietnam). The breakfast was plentiful and had a good variety. My initial room was very musty smelling but then after the first night I voiced my concern and was moved to room 202 which was lovely. Fresh fruit or a biscuit type snack each day, tea and coffee making facilities, hot shower and great air conditioning. Never a problem in the new room. The pool was a welcome site after a time of touring or visiting the town. The hotel was great but I can't say enough kind words about the staff ... simply marvelous. There was so much to see and do in Hoi An and within a short drive or cycle. Was nice to have that short walk into town 5 -10 minutes depending on how many times you stop to view the happenings on the street. It is a delightful ancient city and I could have stayed longer but there were other places I needed to visit on my first trip to Vietnam. It took me quite a time to make ongoing plans but even for that I had assistance from the staff at the Nhi Nhi. Kudos to you all!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freeone2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Nice and very clean room very friendly and helpfull staff .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

lovely little hotel out of the main hustle and bustle but close enough to walk into old towm. freindly staff who were always smiling. night poter sleeps in tent inside hotel and knows your room and key to give you. gtear pool. all for$20 a night.
tip. go to the river front by the japanese bridge. walk back to the street food area ( small tables). opposite a french reataurant ask for a girl called Vee. her mother is the best cook in town and for geat prces. ask for a beer/vodka they will get for you. then sit and have fun watching the people in the french resturant look on in jealousy/ spent 3 nights here. did not need to eat anywhere else. 50vnc for amaxing tastes of vietnam. if you do make i say I say hi, and hope Vee's guitar playing coming along.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave329327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The moment we arrived to Nhi Nhi hotel, the staff came out and warmly greeted so that make us feel like at home. There are some our thoughts about this nice hotel
Service: The hotel has the best and useful staff in town. They provide information as much as we need for where we go, eat, entertain, and shop. They are always smile which make us feel comfortable for asking question. Very likable staff.
Quality: The type of room we revered was double room. It is very nice to see the set up of flowers on our bed when we enter the room. It is very clean and comfortable to stay. Very nice view from balcony to the swimming pool. Air condition, Fan, Hot Water are available to use as the website shows.
Other: Good location of hotel and take 5 or 10 minutes to walk down to central town. We love that the hotel has good breakfast serves in every morning and free internet to use.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Nhi Nhi hotel ,and we cannot expect any better than this hotel offers for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

A bit over priced, we paid $55 through Agoda. The location is far from the main tourist area (Ba Trieu St) however, it is easly walked to town (10 min). We checked other hotels on Ba Trieu St and they are only $35 for similar room. Our room is comfortable, breakfast is ok but for the price we would go else where next time.

The hotel recommended a tailor shop 'Trang Tri', we had a few blouses and dresses made. This tailor shop not only over charged us but the quality is not good either. We took the same top to another tailor shop 'Silk road, they gave us a better price and their service and quality are a lot better.

We hired bicycles for $1 ea and a motor bike for $10 without problem. The motorbike is new, the bicycle is a bit old.

We also took a private car to Hue provided by the hotel (cost $60). The deal was Marble mountain, China beach, Cham Museum and then Hue, The driver gave us a short stop at the Marble mountain, we were told that the car can not stop at China beach other than 30 seconds for photo snaps and no Cham Museum. The driver even picked up his friend for a free ride with us to Hue and didn't stop for lunch even though we asked him to.

The driver offered us for a full day tour in Hue for $60 the next day. Luckily we didn't take up the offer as the the same tour are easily booked in Hue for $5 Inc. buffet lunch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#35 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#32 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhi Nhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Nhi Hotel

Property: Nhi Nhi Hotel
Address: 60 Hung Vuong Street, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nhi Nhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nhi Nhi Hotel is located near to the Old Quarter and near all major tourist attractions in the area of Hoi An Ancient town. Situated in the old street area, Nhi Nhi Hotel offers affordable, the best accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighborhood. Only few minutes for shopping not only in Hoi An market but also in clothing shop which attracted most of guest And easy to enjoy local food and Vietnamese food also. Nhi Nhi hotel was designed by ancient architecture. And moreover, the rooms are lovely and convenient. There are 24 well equipped guestrooms. Besides, taking a seat at private balcony, guest see a panoramic view of the swimming pool which is beautiful with French technology and blue in colour, cool water is encompassed by row of room like sky well, sunshine streams through the window creates a feeling more comfortable. Here feel what is called relaxation. Fresh flowers placed in beautiful flower vases aid in creating the good ambiance for a romantic stay. You not only feel an ancient architecture but also friendly of the staff. All staff are helpful and ready to extend their service whenever you need their assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nhi Nhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing