We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect except for minor glitches”
Review of Ha An Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ha An Hotel
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Almost perfect except for minor glitches”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We arrived and were impressed by the reception, condition of the room. We had a room on 1st floor overlooing the garden. Breakfast was impressive with a selection of Western and local specialities. Spent one morning at the hotel spa. The massage was professional and very affordable.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Old parts of Hoi An.
However there were some glitches ..we discovered he toilet could not flush and since they could not repair till the next morning we were offered another room or the use of the next room's toilet till repairs were completed the next mornmg. We chose the latter.

However after the repairs were completed, realised the workers have accidentally thrown away my contact lenses case.

Room Tip: chooseone on the first floor overlooking the arden. Its quiet and idyllic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wishdocbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    335
    74
    22
    9
See reviews for
155
905
104
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We loved the hotel location, it located not far from the beach where we could enjoy the beach. It could take around ten minutes to the old town of Hoi an. Staff was efficent and confident, they also spoke English not bad. Our room was quite relaxing and comfortable. They offer some fruits and tea on table.We especially like the view of the room , it was really great once booking by customized tour, they recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank first o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I thought this hotel was very nice. More expensive than I have stayed in since being in Vietnam but Hoi An is such a lovely relaxing place I wanted to stay somewhere that reflected that.
Nice touches in the room included rose petals on the bed and decorative designs with towels etc. I had a private balcony in a non garden room but I would recommend it as it was very quiet, secluded and fully equipped. The tv doubles up as a pc so easy access to emails, internet etc. The bath tub was very long, longer than European models on the whole, so it was nice to relax and stretch out after a long day of site-seeing.
The staff are very friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent, so much choice of both European and Vietnamese foods.
There are Umbrellas and Bikes to borrow from the hotel which can be useful and fun, it was good to take the bike out and cycle around the town as there are no cars allowed in the central area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyWhizz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a tougher review to write than most.

Ha An is a beautiful property - the grounds are lush and beautifully manicured. The rooms are good sized and the linens are crisp and white. A handy closet-sized room is available to set up your luggage for easy access. Breakfast here is beyond anything we've found on our 3-month trip in the area - many hot dishes, a make-on-request egg bar, asian and western options, cheeses, pate, breads and brochettes and the usual lovely fruits. A fresh fruit basket is left in your room every day, as well as fresh flowers. Lots to appreciate and enjoy.

The maintenance work being done each day is impressive - hand scrubbing bricks, sweeping grass after mowing and the like.

I've always been curious about the reviews the rave on about staff (as I tend to look for location, cleanliness and amenities) - since being in Vietnam I'm getting it. What a treat to walk into a property and find big smiles and warm welcomes. Not so much here. The room cleaners were diligent and did fabulous work, but when they want to get in, it feels like you need to get out. There are no door signs to advise of inconvenient times. At some service areas, staff sometimes seem either distracted, uninterested or perhaps not that happy to be at work. Others (particularly in the restaurant) were warm in their hospitality.

We decided to 'splurge' on this spot as a vacation from our travels - in VN, we have been frequenting $25-50 hotels that have far exceeded expectations. While we were blown away with Ha An's amenities, it's missing something that we've realized we value more.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedford2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, N.S.W.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is beautiful, both in its location just away from the very busy and very touristed centre of Hoi An, and in its design. I found it relaxing as soon as I entered the grounds. The young women at check in were pleasant and efficient. My room was beautiful and well equipped and the whole hotel is quiet. My veranda area was a haven of peace. The breakfast buffet which was included in the price was excellent with a great range of very fresh foods and a chef/cook on hand. So why didn't I give it the top rating when I like to be positive in my reviews when I can? Probably I have been spoilt by the fabulous hotels I stayed in Hue and Hanoi. The flowers in the room were just too much - and I usually love the flowers. I had to remove flowers from the curtains to close them, from the bed, from the shower curtain and from the soap dish. There were small chrysanthemums around the pedestal of the toilet and along the edge of the bath. Really!! I had a beautiful container of long stemmed yellow roses but after three days they were completely drooping. The staff were pleasant but never friendly, except for a young porter. There was a sheet of rules in the information folder in the room - no cooking in the room, no washing in the room (sorry, but I prefer to wash my own undies but they did a great job on my clothes). There was really nothing wrong with the hotel and I would stay there again but there was just a lack of warmth, maybe.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shutter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
240 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

TFirst of all, the location is perfect--right on the edge of the old town. It is quiet at night. As soon as you enter the front entrance, you realize that this place is something special, for it is a lovely colonial style building, built around a beautiful courtyard. You are greeted with delicious ginger tea. By all means, pop the few extra bucks for a courtyard facing room. You will have your own balcony, and it is a great place to relax. The room was roomy and comfortable, especially the bed. All the comforts you might want are here. The staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice, including an omelet maker. There are bicycles to,use, and even a pool table,in the courtyard. This hotel is hard to beat--- plus the price is very reasonable for all you get. We loved it here.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nippnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We just stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights, and were enchanted: by the colonial style buildings around a grassy courtyard, lit up with small lights in the evening, by the rose petals floating in our bathtub, fresh flower arrangements in our room and decorative fresh flower accents in the bedroom and bath. The wait staff service was exceptional. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous, to both the eyes and tummy. Its location at the end of the main drag was ideal…a short 5 minute walk to the Old Market. It’s a gem…

Room Tip: second story has more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TutuLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.8 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#57 of 147 in Hoi An
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 147 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Property: Ha An Hotel
Address: 6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 051038, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just in the distance of a 5-minute walking from Hoi An Old Town, Ha An Hotel with colonial style serves a daily buffet breakfast and provides free bike rentals. It features 2 dining options, a spa and complimentary Wi-Fi access. The Hotel also offers a nice swimming pool right in the garden area and next to Memory Restaurant & Bar. This Restaurant serves Asian and Western delights, while the snack bar offers a selection of refreshing cocktails, wines and soft drinks. Both are open from 06:30 to 22:00. The hotel is a 20-minute bike ride to Cua Dai Beach and a 30-minute drive from Da Nang International airport. The property is also rated for the best value in Hoi An and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing