We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #79 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the Van Loi for 3 nights in December. The rooms were large and filled with lovely carved furniture in the Vietnamese style which made it all very authentic, rather than the cookie cutter furnishings you find in sme hotels. The staff were kind and helpful but special mention must go to the Front Desk Manager, Miss Ly, who was there to fix any problem you might have in the blink of an eye, even finding you at breakfast or in the lobby to be sure things turned out to your satisfaction. She is truly a treasure and one of the nicest people we met in our entire stay in Vietnam.

The hotel still needs a few fixes but there is lots of opportunity there and Miss Ly even asked for and welcomed any suggestions we might have. Clearly she is focused on making the Van Loi the best experience possible for her guests.

Great spot to get and go anywhere in the area, even the beach, which of course, Miss Ly, will help you arrange. What can't she do????

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fogghaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Writer,

Ms Ly and all staff of Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Van Loi as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    210
    62
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
150
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Amazing view over the waterways from the top floor, where a comprehensive breakfast is served. I received outstanding service in the lobby from Mrs Ly on the front desk. She was very helpful, escorting me around the hotel and suggesting a hotel-run cooking class that I could participate in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Writer,

Ms Ly and all staff of Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Van Loi as home away from home..

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. It has a gracious old world charm with its traditional vietnamese furniture. Take a moment to look around the lobby area and ceiling which is beautiful. We had the largest room of our whole holiday here and were very comfortable. A few more toiletries and towels in the bathroom would be nice. Staff were very helpful. I had trouble charging my camera and they plugged it into their computer for the day and did their best to help me - alas to no avail.
The hotel is just across the bridge from the old town - a few minutes walk. Another reviewer mentioned having to come down a dark alley. It is just the road from the bridge to the hotel that is darkish but I (female and not in the first flush of youth!) felt totally safe on my own at 11 p.m. returning from a terrific massage across the road - yes ....open at 10 p.m. (can't remember the name exactly but something like Zen). Also, if you don't feel like walking into town (5 mins. max) you can rent bikes right across the road for very little. Also, there is a laundry right across the road which was very reasonable in the same place as rents the bikes - Miss ?? ....can't remember her name either!
The view from the roof top restaurant is wonderful and as it is open sided it is nice and fresh even in the heat. Also, when we were leaving, at about 12 noon, the restaurant staff prepared some wonderful food for us at a moment's notice.
This is not a 5 star hotel but old world charm, pleasant staff and good location more than compensate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Writer,

Our Management is very pleased to hear all feedback from our valued guests like yours who really took your precious time to give us all of your thoughtful & considerate comments and we believe that we have only grown up "bigger" as we have found some great friends like yours who always support us along our professional by giving us the very thoughtful & constructive ideas.

Thank you very much for your very good thoughts of us and we look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back with us in the coming time.
Sincerely,

John Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Although my time at the Van Loi was brief it has made a lasting impression. The staff were brilliantly friendly who I have ever intention of staying in contact with. The facilities are brilliant with a good sized pool right next to the bar and I can highly recommend a full body massage. Although on a separate island, it is very close to the old town but far enough away to not be kept awake at night. I lovely hotel that I would recommend to anyone

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 4* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Whilst this is not a modern hotel, if you have more spirit in your soul, a much more traditional and we think better experience is to be had here than in the mainsteam western style hotels in Vietnam.
Fantsicially friendly staff- particularly Ly, and also Cuyen on reception who we nicknamed "Miss fix-it" as she was always helping us with a lovely smile when we needed things sorted.
It was the best breakfast we had in Vietnam up on the lovely rooftop.
Room ( 404 we had which was facing the river) was spacious and clean and in keeping with the rest of the hotel done out in a Vietnamese style. Location just over the bridge from the town, meaning it is quieter but only 10 mins or so stroll to everything.
Be differant- try this when in Hoi An I would recommend !!

Room Tip: We liked the river facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scandalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Van Loi. Located just a 10 minute pleasant walk from the old town, the hotel is spacious and charming with its traditional Vietnamese decor. Our room was very clean with a very comfortable bed and all the usual amenities provided, including a charming balcony with a rustic view. The staff are friendly and helpful and did their very best to make our stay an enjoyable one. They have a lovely swimming pool, but the icing on the cake was the fabulous 5th floor covered terrace where a very comprehensive breakfast is served - the views were just stunning. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krhwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A very nice hotel. A decent room cleaned daily. A pleasant 10 - 15 minute walk into the old town. Very friendly and attentive staff. My room couldn't pick up wifi, so they provided me with my own booster unit within an hour of identifying the problem. Generous and comprehensive buffet breakfast on the spacious top floor. Relaxed attitude to my using facilities after I had checked out, and was waiting for my overnight bus.

Special mention to receptionist Ly - thanks!

A downside was that it caters mostly to package tourists, who tend to be a bit cliquey. Not the end of the world, but solo travellers will know what I mean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 142 in Hoi An
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
#5 of 142 in Hoi An
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
#69 of 142 in Hoi An
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#130 of 142 in Hoi An
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing