We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Town - Ideal Hotel”
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #96 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Two years ago I went on a ‘Travel Photography’ holiday to Viet Nam and was lucky enough to stay at the Van Loi hotel in Hoi An. We had superior rooms with excellent views from a high vantage point. The hotel fulfilled all my expectations and more.
The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. The breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor was varied and plentiful. My favourite pastime was watching the chef create the beautiful omlettes we enjoyed each day.
After a day’s sightseeing the pool was a welcome recreation and always relaxing and peaceful.
The location of the Van Loi Hotel is ideal, it is near enough to the Old Town but a pleasant enough walk away to keep it quiet and free from disturbance in the evenings.
The staff I found very helpful and friendly – they advised us on places not to miss with lots of
‘photo-opportunities’ and helped me learn a few phrases of Vietnamese to ease contact with the friendly locals.
My best recommendation would be ‘Would I return there?’ And the answer is ‘Yes !
We have reservations to return in late July this year to enjoy its friendly, relaxing hospitality.
Hoi An is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to, and staying in good accommodation is important, that is why I am writing this glowing report of the Van Loi Hotel.
Colin Paul 18.04.14.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better opportunities for landscape phots
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinPaulImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location with easy biking to the market and beach. Beware though, biking in the traffic is a rather harrowing experience.
Beds were comfortable and there was ample hot water. Pool was lovely but we waited over 2 hours for towels after requesting them.
The free breakfast buffet was great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a fabulous spot to stay. As soon as we arrived a charming lady across from the hotel waved madly at us all - she rents bikes for $1 a day and sells convenience items. The hotel has a large foyer and a really lovely pool with a bar. The rooms are large and I was given a room with two double size beds. The hot water didn't work at first - but once I told them they fixed it right away.The location is fabulous - just a short walk across a pretty bridge to the main quarter. My favourite place in Vietnam, I would definitely revisit this top spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzeStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here and after initial room change, as first room was small and cramped the staff put us into a room with a 4 poster bed, and balcony facing over to the residential area of the town and a tributary of the river in the background. The hotel was comfortable and the breakfast was good. The hotel is situated a very short walk from the main town, left out of the hotel and over the bridge and you are right in the middle of a bustling market with everyday life going on around you. We toured Vietnam from the Mekong Delta to Hanoi and I have to say that Hoi An was my favourite place. While there I also attended a cookery school with Pete and Jeanne who were on our tour, which was fun, informative and a lovely way to spend an evening, cooking the food then getting to eat it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Not in the heart of the action, yet only a short walk over the bridge to the old quarter action in Hoi An. Rooms are extra large and well appointed. Staff are excellent and the swimming pool/bar area a great place to hang out in the afternoon. The included breakfast taken on the roof is very generous and sets you up for the day exploring beautiful Hoi An. Rent a bike across the road at the local shop for only $1 per day. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reefraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is a nice play to stay. The room are good, the restaurant on the roof has a nice view.The staff is very helpful and polite. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Only the "fitness room" is a joke..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Reception, restaurant and room cleaning staff always greet you with a smile and are unfailingly helpful....pool is clean and open early morning until late evening.....rooms are large and the beds comfortable....towels are changed daily as is bed linen if you wish....position is perfect for access to the Old Town and safe to walk at night.....roof top terrace breakfast the perfect start to a day's sight seeing.....try it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebeloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel
Long Life Riverside Hotel
#145 of 163 in Hoi An
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Venus Hotel and Spa
Venus Hotel and Spa
#10 of 163 in Hoi An
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
1.4 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#110 of 163 in Hoi An
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £19 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing