We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would appreciate a bit of maintenance...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Ranked #103 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“would appreciate a bit of maintenance...”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Thoroughly beautiful setting, however somewhat lacking in general maintenance. If this place was looked after a little better it would be first class. Pool was great, room large, view fantastic. Breakfast buffet was adequate but third day had to have menu due to lack of clients. This was fine except few restaurant staff had much English. Beds were great!

Room Tip: Ensure floor swept and safe is in working order (swapped with room next door!)as ours broke twice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    145
    98
    52
    65
See reviews for
104
160
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked a 40m2 Executive Villa on line. On arrival we were given a 18m2 standard room. I complained and they gave me another room on the 3rd floor. The room was not ready and when we moved in, the mini bar was short on listed items. I went to the reception and told them that these items were missing, however, on check out from the hotel, (we left three days early) the receptionist charged me for the missing mini bar items. The receptionist was insistent I pay, even though she had the note from check in and knew that I had not taken them!!! There were plenty of staff but apart from reception, there was an air of laziness in service in every other area.The hotel is tired and run-down everything is falling apart, it is batting way above its average, also felt quite unsafe late at night, walking back from restaurant district through a closed market and over the bridge.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterc1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times (the last 2 in a bungalow). The rooms are roomy and clean. However, the beds are a nightmare!!! They are sooo hard!!!! We complained last time and let them know again this time. The pool area was very pleasant. Unfortunately, we won't be staying there again as 3 nights without sleep just has too much impact on the rest of our holiday. The hotel is perfectly placed for shopping and eating out - a shame about the beds!!!!!

Room Tip: Bungalows are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked on Agoda saw mixed reviews as per other places but this really was bad hard beds, water smells like sewerage no fridge mattress upside down for some reason and really really hard and Ac on all the time nice to walk in to but freezing at 3am.when we said we wee leaving the said sorry and would we like a better room.sorry too late. Have just got room at new place around the corner called Vaia Boutique Hotel Hoian for $32

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayThorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great location and incredibly friendly staff but a bit tired all round. Pool very very very warm so not much relief in the heat, but bonus is that air condition worked without key so returned to cool room.

Beds, pillows and sheets awful. All hard as rock so bad sleeping. Shower very average too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had 11 nights here. It was supposed to be 7, but we felt so at home here we decided to extend. The staff could not have been nicer. Breakfast was like being greeted by family. The rooms were pretty good. Beware thought. Make sure you are sure of what room you have booked. Make sure it is in the resort and has a river view balcony. Great location. Easy walk from the markets and beyond.
We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My worst experience in Vietnam, will recommend this hotel to no one. Been here for quite a while. It made me feel like a minority home-stay in the country side rather than a 3 star hotel like it claimed.
The breakfasts were the same every day, with cheap coffee and no milk but sugar alone. I saw a few dirty pans in totally black color is being used to make our omelet and other similar things. The restaurant is running by a manager who hasn't shaved for like a month. I work in hospitality industry so this is totally unacceptable.
The room was quite big with basic facilities. However they use the Japanese style closet with doors sliding to the sides. These door dropped out when we slide them to open it. That was kind of scary. I shoot a notice to the reception and they came to fix it. Next day, it happens again.
If you reserved a bungalow, I suggest you stay inside instead of walking out for sight seeing, as there are not much but grass and a smelly river side. And don't ever check out what is under the bungalow as the only things you may find is trash and some building material.
The swimming pool is kind of dirty with a life guard who is shirtless most of the time showing off his sumo belly. And in order to get to the swimming pool you will have to cross a small path which is about 2m wide but very smelly with dead fishes that some fisherman hanging on the side walk.
The fact that this resort is not one whole complex but a few small area separated by public side walk really frustrate me out. As very early in the morning, say 4 to 5 o'clock, you can hear people yelling at each other at the market nearby, sound from motorbike crossing the bridge above.
But the thing that make me feel awful the most was the service and the staff. There is no way you can say this is a hotel due to the service they provide. There are 3 to 4 different types of dressing, and the receptionist are the only one wearing uniform - Vietnam traditional dress. The other? Whatever they found to dress themselves up I guess. They don't speak very good English here and also not very useful to assist you on whatever matter you have.
The exchange rate is ridiculous. And there is not much thing you can do in the resort so it's kind of boring. Hope you guys have a wise choice as there are many better places around with the same rate we pay for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#132 of 144 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.6 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#52 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#68 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van Loi Hotel
Van Loi Hotel
#84 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Property: Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#64 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing