We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, hotel could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Ranked #118 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a 2/3 star hotel but very close to the centre of the old town. It clearly has problems with flooding as is right next to the river. This time we were given a room on the 2nd floor which was much better than the previous 1st floor room which smelled very damp.
Room itself was ok, bed fairly comfortable, shower acceptable. Bar area is nice. Breakfast is ok but it says it starts at 6 (we were on a cycle tour and turned up at 6:15 and there was nothing there, they had to rally quickly!)
All in all not bad, we wouldn't rave about it but it is OK

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

from here you can walk to the ancient town. the hotel is nice with many trees and flowers around it, there is swimmingpool but i never try. the breakfast is very nice. but the room is old, not as beautiful as the picture they show on internet

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vuthithuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend have been traveling Vietnam for 20 days and have a good idea of what accommodation value in the country is . THIS PLACE WAS NOT GOOD VALUE!
The location for us was the best part . It went down from there, the shower on the third floor had NO hot water, the rooster next door started crowing between 0330-0430 . Some form of wood eating insect woke us up from a dead sleep as it was munching away on the wardrobe in our room ... we had to move the whole unit into the hallway to get back to sleep before the rooster started crowing. Staff were tryin to be friendly. . But .. yeah ..
If there price was a third of what they charged I would not be typing this . Too much $$ for too little . We stayed in the main hotel not the bungalows.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crisco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My sister & I stayed at this resort on the 7th til 10th in Deluxe Twin Room. It was a fab spot on the river, only a short stroll over the bridge into the ancient town. We don't have anything to fault, very clean, tidy, spacious with nice interior and a large balcony. Lovely swimming pool, was very tempted to take a dip in the cool weather!We love the Vietnamese style outdoor. The breakfast included is delicious and the staff were always friendly. The manager was considerate of us, checking on us regularly to make sure we were happy, helped us to organise some of the tours, the bike/scooters hire is great fun to ride! Spa on site - but didn't have enough time.
He also organised us a private car to the airport for a small discount, the driver offered us a quick drive to the Marble Mountain, but we didn't have enough time before our flight.
We highly recommend for the price!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kym1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nothing special at this place. But everything else is. I had a rooster waking me up at 5, but got my room changed when i mentioned this.

Breakfast - a chef makes the morning food on request. And you got a fantastic view over the river.

Pool - its a bit cold, but location is great and you can order things from the resturant here.

Location - over the bridge and you are at the market. Perfect when you have 3-4 fittings for shoes and clothes in a day. Quite on this side of the bridge.

Service - Topclass. They eaven helped me to get a better price on my flightticket to Hanoi.

Looks - Everything goes in old classic style, its beutiful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank 650Jimio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had interconnecting bungalows. Very large & clean rooms. 2 bathrooms a great help when traveling with teenagers! The staff were all wonderful, restaurant Matre De was quite a character and fun to have a joke with. Breakfast was nice; fresh made to order omlettes. Variety of pastries, toast and even hot rice & veg etc if you like. Just a stroll accross the bridge to where all the action is in Ancient town. Our rooms were very quiet, no traffic noise at all. Over the road from the resort, you can visit Mr Giau (Pronounced Yow), he hires fully automatic scooters for $5 per day. You will also be helping an old lady 5 doors up from him who is almost blind and well into her 80's if not 90's......She will fill your bikes with fuel using and old hand pumped fuel bowser-an experience in itself. Very nice people. Mr Giau's wife will also do your washing for $1 per kilo. Washed and smelling fresh by the end of the day. Just dont give him anything that might shrink....my daughters shorts shrank (no big deal, but it was to her) but Im sure you can ask him 'not' to put certain items in the drier.

Room Tip: River side is the quiet side- but the road side isnt ridiculously busy if thats where you end up.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked the long life hotel thru AGODA however when we showed up the staff informed us that they did not have our booking and they did not have any vacancies. The reception staff at Long Life made a phone call and advised that PHo Hoi Riverside had one available room and could take us ( we are a family of 5)

Not having much choice and glad to have a bed for the night as we arrived just before 6pm we checked in to PHO HOI Riverside and as soon as we were shown our room we were immediately disappointed. We were given a ground floor riverside interconnecting bungalow which was damp and musky perhaps this was still drying out from November flooding. The rooms were dark , the bed were only made with sheets which were very thin and worn there was blankets in the cupboard but these did not match. It was cold in Hoi An when we visited and we had some rain and 4 days of clouds and overcast weather and some showers and the hotel does not have any heating the air con only has cooling which made it very uncomfortable we all came home from dinner and had to jump into bed to keep warm. One of the bathrooms had a foul sewer smell coming from it and we had to keep the door closed, when we advised reception they told us that they would get someone to come clean it - this did not require a clean it was a sewer smell coming from the pipes - and just as I expected the room continued to smell so we all had to share the one bathroom. The water ran out after the second shower so the kids has to go without washing . The shower that we did have resulted in the bathroom floor getting soaked due to the position of the shower head and the inadequate shower curtain. They did not supply enough towels to accommodate the number of guest and the towels that were supplied were not much bigger than hand towels and worn thin. The lamp kept flickering. The room was dark and paint was peeling away on some areas on the walls. The second day they moved us to two upstairs rooms , these rooms did not have the musty wet smell however city came with a whole set of different issues
My husbands took one room with our son while I took the other room next door with our other two children. Both showers did not work. Room 220 had either cold or hot shower and no temperature In between. Room 219 had a busted shower rose which squirted all the water up the wall. I advised reception but nothing was done. So on holiday and kids already gone without a wash due to the last room running out of hot water and we had to fill baths to bath 5 of us. The staff did not speak much English so communication was a challenge. The manager did appear to be on the ball but had to communicate to his staff who then tried to translate to us and they themselves did not speak or seem to understand English that great . I noted several staff walking around but there didn't seem to be any consistency in dress code the girl at reception was dressed in traditional clothing but had a huge puffy jacket to keep warm. Beds are rock hard and not enough pillows supplied. Breakfast was terrible, did not cater for westerners - they had about 5 different breads, some stale and only one old door toaster that you had to line up to use. No pancakes , waffles or cereals. They also took their time in replacing trays of food or simply didn't replace it at all which forced you to leave or eat what was left available. There was a cat that roamed the dinning room and I saw a waiter kick it flying into the wall. They took our passports for security and not a credit card which always makes me feel uneasy. The only good thing about this place was its location - a nice easy stroll over the bridge and you re in the old city which is lovely. With all the issues I would expect to have paid far less but our experience still set us back $400 AUD for our three nights - book elsewhere

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere this will not be a pleasant stay
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hai Yen
Hotel Hai Yen
#123 of 159 in Hoi An
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel Villa & Spa
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#59 of 159 in Hoi An
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#124 of 159 in Hoi An
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#71 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £18 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing