We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, good rooms & swimming pool, poor food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Ranked #100 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location, good rooms & swimming pool, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Got 2 rooms right beside each other: big, Nice tv, good a/c, outdated bathroom (please update it to a higher and cleaner quality. Location is perfect! Poor breakfast: little to choose from. They don't know how to bake a real pizza (please don't put them on the menu ever: not fresh, very small, not the ingredients we ordered and so on...)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    141
    97
    52
    64
See reviews for
100
159
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our 5 nights at Pho Hoi - it was nice to have a pool (even if it was a little warm, the kids still appreciated it). It was just a short stroll over the bridge to the old quarter, and everything was convenient. We had dinner here the first night and it was delicious. The breakfast wasn't as good as other places we have stayed - but no complaints considering we only have cereal at home! (We still had freshly made eggs, toast and fruit). Yes it can get a little noisy in the morning, but please remember you are staying near roads for the village, so there isn't a lot the resort can do about that. The cleaners were there early a few days - but I cannot blame them, it was so hot, I told my kids I would want to get that sort of work out of the way too! The hotel has a gorgeous outlook and I suppose when you are travelling to these places you should remember that sometimes our problems are 1st world problems and would seem silly to them, so just enjoy! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We needed a swimming pool by the time we reached Hoian, from Hue first, and before from Hanoi and north. This resort offers great value for the price you pay. The rooms are big, and so is the bed. Very clean. The only problem was the bathtub, it didn't work properly and the water couldn't flow away . First breakfast buffet in Vietnam, just enough. We would certainly reccomend it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were so excited to be in a place with a pool, we dumped our stuff and headed straight for the pool which was unfortunately lukewarm (it was always like this too).

We ate lunch here and and we tried Cao Lau which need up being one of the best ones we tried. Breakfast didn't allow us much variety so we snacked on noodles & rice until we realised there was another omlette bar so we settled on this & it tasted like home.. Maybe even better. The menu for the rest of the day was extensive and you could eat at any time.

The shower is rubbish which is frustrating but the bed feels like an actual mattress (albeit a firm one) as opposed to a hardwood floor (gotta appreciate the little things).

The longer we stayed here , the less impressed we were. We requested a quiet room but the if this was quiet I would hate to know what the rest of the rooms were like. We could hear beeping the any time of day or night in our room as it was right by the road and bridge. The room also let in so much sunlight that everyone was awake (but still trying to sleep) at about 5:15am. The maids also came and knocked on our doors pretty early asking if they could make up our rooms, some mornings it was evident we were still in bed, why couldn't they wait for us to leave?

Waking up on our last day here, we woke up to a stinking hot room because the power was out & nobody had bothered to tell us anything. The room was disgusting and it made for three very annoyed girls. Upon asking about it, one of the guys came up to our room, flipped he switches , said "9 o'clock" and walked out.

Some of the staff went out of their way for us, but others we seemed to be a bother to. Some staff also spoke very little English which made it difficult to convey our needs.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AshBurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice in a beautiful location, with big and clean room
Breakfast is various if you have it within 8 a.m. After that only few things
Let's talk about staff and services:
- they don't arrange pick up from bus station, so we had to pay 100.000 dong instead of 25.000!!!!
- staff is unkind and unfriendly and it seems you always bother them. It's the first time we have this experience in Vietnam, usually staff is so nice and supportive.
- they applied us inconvenient exchange rate: 20.000 instead of 21.500!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tittaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Initially we booked in for three nights but extended for a further two because of how much we were enjoying both the hotel and the overall feel of the place. The ancient town of Hoi An has some stunning old architecture and vibrant fresh food markets, it is renowned for the diversity of high quality cuisine and the skills of tailoring. We took the opportunity to sample a selection of food types & flavours; as well as having clothes tailor-made both in Hoi An and within Can An.
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is in the best possible location - adjacent to the river as the name suggests and easy strolling distance across the bridge on Can An island, always providing a cooling breeze after the heat and bustle of town. Walking through Cam An ward each day we we're constantly greeted by the friendly locals. It was here we enjoyed our massages, and I utilised barber for shaves, also manicure/pedicure at fantastic prices.
The resort staff, no matter what role they had, were super friendly - we became part of the family.
Lynne & I became aunt and uncle to Vi and Linh (both trainees) as we assisted them in improving their English language skills. Lynne continued with her environmental art, teaching staff to transform aluminium drink cans to everyone's delight.
Our balcony room was kept very clean and was extremely comfortable, as well as spacious.
Daily buffet breakfast was superb - the range of food on offer was extensive, with made to order eggs, omelets, etc always prepared with friendly attention.
The pool is immaculately maintained and was a welcome treat with the hot days we experienced during our stay.
We'll certainly plan a longer stay in Hoi An if we're fortunate to get to Vietnam again.
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort will definitely be our place to stay. Thank you .

Room Tip: Second floor balcony - we had 218, loved it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a lovely location but apart from that I was not impressed with this place. The rooms were clean but overall everything was a bit old and tired. The staff were not particularly friendly and it felt like they couldn't really be bothered. This was the worse hotel we stopped at in Vietnam. Wouldn't recommend it and wouldn't go back there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank whatjackswants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#126 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.5 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Huy Hotel
An Huy Hotel
#107 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#48 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Property: Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#59 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing