We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hop Yen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hop Yen Hotel
Ranked #131 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Hoi An
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Average Hotel!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in an air conditioned double room. It was located at the front of the hotel so had a nice balcony onto the street, with big doors so the room was very bright. The room was pretty small, not much space to put your bags and stuff.
The room was very clean and the shower was really good.
There was a good fridge and the room was cleaned daily.
The staff would turn off the air con during the day and at random times throughout the day and would not give us a remote to change the temperature so one night I woke up absolutely freezing, this was very annoying, but for such a cheap price ($12 a night) it wasn't that much of a problem.

it's located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of the town, so location wise it's great. There is a small supermarket across the road and there are many places to rent bikes on the same street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    51
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
3
37
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Yes, the rooms in Hop Yen Hotel smell very damp, the air conditioner won't work until you instruct the staff downstairs to turn it on each time you come back to your room, and it's not an overly pleasant hotel experience. But for $15 for a 3 person room, $12 for 2 people, and available dorms, it's not too bad considering the prices of other hotels in Hoi An.

However, I will have to say that the front desk staff were relatively helpful for Vietnamese standards, you're able to buy bus tickets and whatever else you need for good prices, and the drinks/snacks available are very cheap, so they offer great take away choices.

Also, the location is less than a 5 minute walk from Hoi An Old Town, and is itself on a rather pleasant street.

Overall, for the price, it's an alright place to crash for a couple of days while in Hoi An.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

just left Hoi An, and we stayed at Hop Yen when we got off the coach at the bus terminal a lady offered the take us to the centre and show us some hotels, dont ask me why as thinking about it now i mush have been stupid in even staying there! the room was not to bad similar to most guest house's but your waken at 8 am sharpish when the place becomes a building site.
the staff didnt seem friendly and they is dust everywhere!
i think i may be better once the building work is completed but at the moment id give it a Big miss.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAFF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A bed in the dorm here was the cheapest option I found, so I just went for it. The dorm was on the 4th flloor - it was hot, stuffy, and extremely humid; walking into the room was like walking into a sauna. There were only two fans in the room and little to no ventilation (the only window didn't actually open to the outside, but to some sort of back room). There was also construction work going on at the time so it was really noisy at times.

However on the plus side, the location of the hotel was pretty good and the staff was helpful enough. Water and other drinks were also sold at the reception at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Ok, the old hop yen in hoi an gets ALOT of young backpackers staying here, the staff are generally friendly but dont expect them to move mountains with the number of people and characters they get staying at this place haha. It is a very basic hostel. I did not stay in the dorms but my friends did for $6 a night. They looked very basic and a bit seedy but what do you expect when you are paying this much? I paid 12 bucks a night for my own room and it came with a shower and tv and a small balcony, it was relatively good, the bed was decent and my room was quiet, yet old and a little seedy. There are alot of people who stay at this place and if you are staying in a dorm you are likely to get woken up by brits and aussies (the usual suspects haha) stumbling into the dorm at 3am. But yeah if the hostel is your environment and you want to meet lots of other young people than this is the joint for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus-AWAFILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The rooms were horrible, and expensive for what they were. The rooms on the 4th floor are boiling with no ac, yet the dorm is freezing. Had appauling service, we were forced to change rooms when one of our friends checked out- they tried to tell us we could only stay in a more expensive room. Were completely unhelpful and unapologising even tho we had already been there 5 nighs. They also lied to us about how much they were charging others, were told they were charging $15 for doubles but when we saw the couple later they'd only been charged $10. All round terrible. Avoid if u can

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voiron
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I spent 1hr asking around for less than 10 dol but that was impossible to find! I spent 5 nights in a 4 dollar tiny room under the roof, so cheap for me was good, it had even a tv! The big con was because it was top floor it was very hot! But still better than the dorm! They even have a 3 dol room that hold just a single bed! Not even room for backpack! Service was good, they changed bedding-towel everyday and it's a busy hotel so showers managed to stay clean, internet easily available, cheap water, friendly staff,good location, safe area. I woUld go back but maybe in a cooler room!

Room Tip: Top floor is cheap but hot! Avoid dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmv38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
0.0 mi away
Vang Anh Guest House
Vang Anh Guest House
#110 of 244 in Hoi An
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lucky House
Lucky House
#201 of 244 in Hoi An
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dai Long Hotel
Dai Long Hotel
#170 of 244 in Hoi An
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Clouds Homestay
Blue Clouds Homestay
#6 of 244 in Hoi An
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tribee Kinh
Tribee Kinh
#83 of 196 in Hoi An
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Yen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Yen Hotel

Property: Hop Yen Hotel
Address: 694 Hai Ba Trung Street | 103 Ba Trieu Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hop Yen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central of Hoi An Old Town. Best value rooms. Travel agency. Competitive prices. Recommended by "Lonely Planet." Friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hop Yen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing